We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value -Steve & Elaine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Cayo Coco

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayo Coco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Melia Cayo Coco
Save
You added Melia Cayo Coco to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Jardines del Rey | Ciego de Ávila, 22300, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Coleford, United Kingdom
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Value -Steve & Elaine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We travelled to the Melia Jan 4th 2013 for a three week holiday. Well I agree this is not Sandals but we have stayed at various Sandals resorts and remember you don't pay the Sandals prices tag here. We would say a four star not a five. The resort was very clean and the staff work very hard to keep it so. The food was excellent especially the buffet restuarant, the choice was great, fresh fish, T bone steaks, pasta and more all cooked to your style, the choices were endless. We tried the Italian, Caribbean and the International Restuarants which
were good but the menu was usually the same. Our room 8623 was fine but the bathroom needed updating but everything worked fine. Housekeeping kept the room clean and towel art was amusing everyday something different. The beach was lovely although windy, as it was WInter in Cuba. Some people suffered a few insect bites but we were fine. I would advise you to use insect repellent everyday and evening. We found the area around the pool was uneven
and needed some repair work, Ladies if you wear high heel shoes in the evening beware you
could fall, as I did once. The hotel were made aware of this and the repairs have been noted.
The entertainment team worked hard when we left the resort they gave a leaving party. I have never had this treatment at any other resort including Sandals. The usual procedure is checkout and wait for the coach, not here. The staff really seemed to appreciate that we chose Cuba as our holiday destination and we would go back in a heartbeat. We have travelled a lot in the Caribbean and found the Cuban people, do not have the surley attitude of some of the other Islands. People seem to complain about tipping but if we receive good service we would tip at home or abroad. We found that although there is a dress code for restuarants this was not enforced. We believe you should go back to your room after the beach or pool, shower and dress for dinner. This was not the case with a lot of people they seemed to wear the same t shirt, shorts and flip flops they had worn all day. We think this is unexceptable and the management should ensure the dress code is kept in the evening.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Customers,
Thank you very much for your review on your stay in our Hotel. We are very glad to know you had another enjoyable time in Cuba and would return in a heartbeat. Sorry for failing in looking after dress code policy in the evenings. We have revised this with buffet head of service to reinforce this matter. You are right, all our guests should respect dress code in restaurants and we would like to take this opportunity to ask every future customer for their valuable collaboration on this.
Looking forward to seeing you again in Meliá Cayo Coco,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,359
    819
    235
    90
    51
See reviews for
247
2,404
61
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (861)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We spent 10 days over Christmas and New Years and had a fabulous time. The staff were amazing and the resort itself was wonderful. The beach is beautiful and not overly crowded.

We brought our own fishing gear and tried out near the reef and on the beach away from the resort. We caught a few small fish but look forward to finding the flats near the hotel for some fly fishing for bonefish. We spent a guided day fishing at Cayo Paredon on the flats with Alex and he was great.

Room Tip: we stayed in a lagoon room, it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Customers,
Thank you very much for your review. Very glad to know you truly enjoyed your stay in our resort and was lucky with fishing. You are right, these islands are very well know for wonderful flats whcih favored fishermen during the whole year. And we have new ideas we hope to carry out to make the fishermen who stay with us feel more comfortable. Will keep everyone posted! Looking forward to seeing you again,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We traveled here in April 2012 for two weeks and having traveled over a lot a Carribean places, Cuba is deffo one of my favorite.
I have stayed in a few Melia hotels and all have been very good and this one was no different. The staff and Cubans are very helpful and the Thomson guide here was very good.
The beaches are some of the best i have seen, and if you walk to the right when you get on the beach, there is nothing up that side and the beaches are unspoiled and the sea is very shallow and warm.
Food in the restaurant was very good, with a fair choice, you can always find something you like tho its a very casual setting.
They serve warm donut like sticks and bring them around the pool sometimes which are lovely, we were also served cocktails in fresh cut coconut halves with straws, really fantastic.
Also if you ask one of the many gardeners they will make you a safari hat from the palm tree leaves for a small tip which will last forever when dried out.
Would i go back to this hotel, in a heart beat, but there are many beautiful places in Cuba to visit, so you will be spoilt for choice.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool area are much more peaceful, but its a little walk to get to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We hope we are your next choice when coming back to our country. Go ahead and make your booking to come back, we would be delighted in looking after your stay.
With best regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We were at the Melia in late December. The staff are outstanding, ask and you will receive.Food was delicious and hot and the serving staff were very quick and helpful. It was nice that the food inspectors were around to ensure the food temperatures and the cleanliness were up to standard.The entertainment was fun.Our room was clean and the maid staff were very efficient. It was our first visit to the Melia but not our last,. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.The manager was always available to his guests. Best all inclusive we have been to.

April and Max

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Customers,
Thank you very much for sharing your first experience in Meliá Cayo Coco with every reader on this site. Thank you so much for announcing your return, go ahead and make your booking, send us your details and requests and we will be looking after everything.
With best regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Had a great holiday. Many thanks to the hard working staff at the Melia for making our stay special. The food was excellent, plenty of choice and the chefs cooking the fresh food were excellent. The waiters kept our glasses well topped up both in the bars and restaurants. The barbeque at the beach bar at lunch was well worth a visit with chicken, ribs and fish as well as a menu to order off and a group playing Cuban music while you ate. There were various activities during ther day and the entertainment team made everything good fun but no hassle if you just wanted to laze round the pool. We had a standard room and that was fine. The room was large
with a comfortable bed (a little on the hard side for me), the towels and sheets were changed every day. The bathroom was adequate with plenty of hot water but could do with an update as the fittings looked old. The only downside for us was that a few people went in for diner in the shorts and flipflops they had on round the pool all day and in a five star hotel you expect everyone to dress for diner. This said we has a fantastic time and wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Customers,
Thank you so much for your review. We are very glad to know our staff highly contributed to your holiday enjoyment and have conveyed your praises to them all, including the cheffs. It is their positive attitude what makes us strong, and we are proud of it. When have your next stay with us booked, please, send us an email with your requests for us to look after them with pleasure.
With best regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario,
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We have been long time patrons of the Melia Cayo Coco. Each time we return, we notice improvements and changes which only enhance the experience for those who choose a vacation at this property. Our most recent trip, in January, 2013, was no exception.

It is obvious to any reader of the Trip Advisor reviews pertaining to the Melia Cayo Coco, that it is a property which offers a number of different things which guests find appealing. In our opinion, it is the service, personal warmth and friendliness from all members of the Melia staff which have encouraged us to return so many times. (Last year, for example, we spent eight weeks at the Melia)

Examples of what we mean by service? I would offer simple yet critical features such as the following for consideration:

Repeat clients, regardless of how frequent or infrequent their visits, are remembered by staff. Their welcome is not patronizing: rather, they are sincerely pleased that you have returned to their hotel.

All staff make an effort to get to know the likes/dislikes of guests. Cooks in the buffet, remember how you like, as an example, your morning tortilla cooked. Bartenders will remember your drink of choice. Maids will remember how you like your room cleaned ... and use fresh flowers to enhance your rooms attractiveness. Wait staff will have “your” table awaiting you in the buffet. One could go on, but I'm certain one can ascertain already, the superior service we refer to.

Have we ever had “issues” at the Melia with the facilities. Of course: whether you are in Cuba or in your home country travelling, properties will at times, have issues which concern you. I have a saying: I share with my employees: “Don't judge me by the mistakes I make, judge me by how I fix them!”

Any issue I have had at the Melia, (and it has been rare that I have had such) has been dealt with efficiently and to my satisfaction. Management is excellent at listening, valuing the client's concerns, and doing their utmost to remedy the situation as soon as possible.

Violetta in sales, Eidel in quality control, and front desk staff are outstanding representatives of the culture of service of to which I refer. Food and Beverage Management (Ismael and Angel), Exec. Chefs (Oscar and Ivan) too, are more than accommodating should one have any questions or concerns.

Speaking of management, I must say that the commitment to service displayed by the Melia's employees has to be fostered by someone. My life experience suggests that the latter begins with management. Over the years, I have seen at least nine different general managers who are appointed by the Sol Group. They have done an excellent job in what at times can be trying circumstances (thanks, in part to the U.S. Economic embargo ... sorry about the politics): they can be justly proud of the front line people they work with and the service they supply visitors.

I note a recent posting regarding the “noisy” twins of a prior manager, Teresa. (She left over a year ago) In all my times visiting the Melia while these children were living there, I never saw them at 7 a.m. ... and I'm up by that time, heading for my daily work out. The reason I point this out is to give some semblance of context to the negative comment re: the Melia, written by someone who had stayed there more than a year ago. Usually, if one has something negative to say, one doesn't wait a year or more to come forth with their concerns.

The Melia continues to be a property we have come to cherish as a refuge of tranquility and service from our daily lives. No resort can please everyone all the time. In our opinion, the Melia can readily meet the demands of most discriminating and knowledgeable visitors. Gracias amigos. Nos encanta su servicio
y su compromiso con la excelencia!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Loyal Guests,
What a lovely review! Thank you ever so much for every review you have posted on this site, which we always read with absolute delight. You are right, it is the staff what makes the difference doing a wonderful job. We are very grateful for their performance and are very glad to read such an encuraging feedback from you and so many reviewers on this site. As usual, we will be looking after your next stay in April, and I am personally looking forward to meeting you.
With best regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in the early afternoon and were greeted by very friendly staff and a glass of bubbly. Our rooms were not ready upon arrival which was no big deal as this gave us time to explore a little. The hotel complex is quite large and all the activity centres around the pool area.
There are 3 speciality restaurants in addition to the buffet restaurant. I could not fault the buffet at all during my entire stay. There was plenty of choice of various foods. Fernando at the fish and meat bar cooks everything to perfection. I ate at each of the speciality restaurants and they too were nice but had limited choices on the menus.
Each evening the lobby bar hosts entertainment in the form of bands and singers. That stops at 9:30 and further entertainment in the form of shows are held in the open air theatre. Some shows are better than others but the dancers who take part are well trained, professional and entertaining. At 11:00pm the disco begins and this is held in the bar above reception.
Each day around the pool area and the beach, the entertainment team hold various activities. They encourage participation without being pushy. Mr Happy, Alex and Henry along with the remainder of the team are happy, friendly, genuine and their enthusiasm rubs off on you a little. The pool volleyball is held every afternoon and for those of you who have never played take my advice and give it a go. It doesn't matter if you're any good or not, it's fun and by playing you get to meet other people.
Pepe is quite a character, you will recognise him as he always wears a crazy hat and he offers delicious fruit juices, cocktails and milk shakes. His personality is infectious, you cannot help but smile at him.
Every single staff member that I came into contact with were genuinely nice people and they are so grateful that you choose to holiday in their country. The gardeners are constantly tending to the gardens and they off you small gifts that they don't expect you to pay for however I always gave 1 or 2 pesos as this goes a long way to help support them.
Tipping in general is not expected but when you bear in mind that the average wage is about 15 pesos per month then I feel it's only right to tip. Each day cans of soft drink were left in our fridge which I then gave to the gardeners en route to breakfast in the morning. Small luxuries like a can of lemonade go a long way!!. Lots of websites recommend travellers take certain items into the country such as pens, reading glasses, deodorants as these are very expensive for the locals. In ear headphones are way too expensive for them to buy so if you have any spares then take them out.
One of the activities that I did a lot of was scuba diving. My other half has never done any diving at all and was a little apprehensive but the diving team who are Pablo, Alejandro and Nino put him at ease. An introductory dive consists of a session in the pool whereby the student goes through various exercises with Nino. He teaches the student to clear the mask, get comfortable with breathing underwater and calms any nerves. Later the instructors take the students out to a beautiful reef which is no more that 5 metres deep. Fortunately my other half fell in love with scuba living and he was keen to go again so the following day Nino took us both to a wreck at 12 metres deep. The look on my boyfriends face when he saw the wreck was priceless!. The more you dive, the cheaper it gets. An introductory dive costs 70 pesos then the next dive is 40 pesos then 35 etc. I strongly urge anyone who's never tried it to give it a go.
We went to Pilar Beach which is a 90 minute bus ride but well worth it. Take a mask and snorkel because its crystal clear there. We also did the VIP cruise which was good but the weather was really poor on the day we went so snorkelling was out of the question and that was the reason we went on it. The speedboat excursion is fantastic too. You get to drive a speedboat to a secluded area then snorkell in the clearest water. My advice is fill a large water bottle with bread and bananas from the buffet in the morning, put the todo on the bottle but ask the hotel staff to cut a large hole in the lid. Once you get in the water squeeze the bottle and this will generate a frenzy as you will be surrounded by all sorts of fish who want to eat what's coming out of the bottle.
When it was time to leave the entire entertainment team came out to the coach to wish each and every one of us a safe trip home. They gave us a cheery wave and didn't stop til we were out of sight.
I have to mention a few of the staff who went above and beyond their job description to ensure our holiday was good and those are, Yamil, Omar and Ketty who work in the buffet restaurant, Yanelis who works in the lobby bar and Edith the housekeeper.
I only have one complaint about this trip which has nothing to do with the hotel and that is that you have to fly Thomas Cook to get there. Maria who is the Thomas Cook rep at the hotel is wonderful, knowledgeable and is an excellent rep, she is a credit to the company which is more than what could be said about the flight crew on TCX558 namely Joanne who is rude. She embodied those negative character traits given to flight attendants which is a shame because most flight attendants do a sterling job of looking after passengers and put up with all sorts of behaviour. Joanne continually snapped at passengers especially a little old lady sat next to me whose only offence was to ask for more coffee!!. That is not the only reason why I will never fly Thomas Cook again, the entertainment on the flight is rubbish, many of the TVs don't work, the headphones are flimsy and the sound quality awful. The food wasn't bad though!! And the crew on the return flight were mostly ok although one was a little snappy with a passenger who dared mention that his TV didn't work.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you so much for such an informative review on your recent stay in Meliá Cayo Coco. We truly appreciate you have taken your time to mention specific names and every service we provide. We have passed your praises onto everyone, they are our main assett and we congratulate them for this evey single day. Sorry to know you did not have a good experience flying with Thomas Cook, and although they are the only British airline that flight direclty to these Cayos, we hope you choose us again for a holiday vacation. We will be very glad to look after you in your next visit.
With best regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Cayo Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cayo Coco

Address: Jardines del Rey | Ciego de Ávila, 22300, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Cayo Coco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront in Cayo Coco, habitat of a large colony of pink flamingos. Five-Star All Inclusive Resort with 250 rooms. Conceived only for adults aged 18 years or more. Its superior suites and rooms are built on stilts over a natural seawater lagoon. Recommended for couples, weddings, and honeymoons.Guest Rooms250 rooms: 168 Standard, 62 Standard Superior Lagoon, 6 Junior Suite, 2 Junior Suite Deluxe Lagoon, 12 Suite Deluxe LagoonDining4 Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet, Barbeque), 5 Bars ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Melia Cayo Coco Hotel Cayo Coco
Cayo Coco Melia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Cayo Coco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.