We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Cayo Coco

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayo Coco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Melia Cayo Coco
Save
You added Melia Cayo Coco to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Jardines del Rey | Ciego de Ávila, 22300, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

First time at this resort. It was an awesome one week stay, October 6th to October 13th,2011. We had a few hiccups, but when we did report it at the front desk they made sure it was taken care of in no time. Amazing customer service. The food was good at the buffet and we tried one a la carte . We went to the International Restaurant Arena Real, and the service was excellent, the food and the wine that the somellier recommended were delicious. The beaches were beautiful and the pool area was nice as well. We will go back here again. Really had a good time here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guests,
We are quite glad to know your first experience in Cuba was so positive than you have already decided to come back. We do hope you let us know when you have made your next booking for us to look after another enjoyable stay in Meliá Cayo Coco.
With best regards,
Freddy Andersen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,356
    815
    235
    90
    51
See reviews for
247
2,397
61
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (860)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester- England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Short reveiw as everyone seems to have said everything. This was our first visit to CUBA and so 1st to Melia, but we will be back next year and booking now for October 2013.
We met some lovely people and made great friends. Wee Tracey and Colin get in touch ! you know who you are ! xxx
PARADISE
Had my camera stolen 1st day, but this was rare, don't let it put you off, so no photos to share with you :(

Room Tip: Lagoon rooms are lovely, but the Hotel is so good you hardly spend any time there, so don't both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience in our hotel by posting this review. We would also like to thank you in advance for already choosing Meliá Cayo Coco for your holiday in October 2013 and do look forward to seeing you again.
With warmest regards,
Freddy Andersen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Spent 2 weeks at the Melia Cayo Coco. 4th-18th Oct. Our first time in Cuba and what an experience. Excellent beaches, great variety of food for all tastes and wonderful staff. The rooms are basic but spacious and all amenities in working order. Had one problem with toilet not flushing which was fixed within minutes of calling reception, not a service response we have experienced in western european hotels.
Take the trip to Havana and include the Tropicana, it is a must. Amazing experience, vibrant and colourful and a taste of the real Cuba. We loved it and met some great people to finish off the rum into the early morning!
The catamaran trip is good fun and the reef good for snorkling. We loved Pillar beach with crystal waters and laid back ambiance, all included in the trip
Remember tipping is not obligatory and we saw no difference in the service which was excellent whether you tipped or not, but we did tip across the staff group. Remember the staff have a tough life. They travel from Moran daily 60 k too and from work. Long hot shifts But everyone greeted us with a friendly "Hola" from the gardeners to the beach bar staff and the animation staff who brought us the wonderful coconuts with rum and pineapple as an appetizer before lunch. The staff appreciate small gifts. We brought tooth brushes, razors and toiletries. Leave any clothes you may not want as they are greatly appreciated.
An excellent all round experience and exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: 8421 was an excellent location for us. Higher floor which we requested and in a block close to beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for posting your recent holiday experience on this site. We are very glad to know we highly contributed to make the most from your first vacation in Cuba, and do hope you choose our hotel once again for your next break.
With best regards,
Freddy Andersen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport Cheshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My brother, Thomas and I have just returned on the 20 October, from a wonderful holiday at the Melia, Cayo Coco, Cuba.We were there from 5-19th October. This was our second visit to this fantastic hotel, I have also stayed at the hotel next door the Sol.

We stayed in the BUNGALOWS on the Lagoon because we wanted to do plenty of fishing. We caught about 70 Cubera, a fierce and excellent sporting/game type of fish. The bait was shrimp.

The food this time was much better than the previous year, always hot and plenty of variety. The service in the hotel was first class, I will deliberately not mention individuals, because everyone wanted to assist and help in every possible way!

First class shows every night and the animation team worked hard every day doing many different things, archery, air gun shooting, salsa classes, etc.

The Manager, Freddie, was around the hotel all the time to talk to guests and staff.

I can strongly recommend this hotel and resort for a wonderful tranquil and peaceful holiday, away from all the pressures and hustle and and bad manners one finds in the UK!

The Sol Hotel, next door, is more suited to families and lacks some of the trimmings of the Melia, but is still a very good hotel and slightly cheaper.


Vincent and Thomas Tracey, Stockport Cheshire

Room Tip: It is worth paying the extra for the lagoon bungalows, the views are superb and it lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Loyal Customers,
We truly thank you for your nice comments on your most recent stay in Meliá Cayo Coco. I fully agree with you when state it is the staff who make all our visitors' stay, and we are proud of the work they all perform. Just would like to remind you to send us a note with any request you may have for your next vacation with us, we will be more than glad in looking after it.
Best regards,
Freddy Andersen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Reviews are accurate, our room was dated and definetly needed upgrading especially the bathrooms . The towels were at the end of there life the air conditioning was fairly noisy but it worked all week.
Now the good stuff !!!! Our room was kept very clean and any issues were responded to immediately. Customer service verified issues had been fixed (they care)
Food on the Buffet could not be faulted Fresh meats , Fish, Roasts, Pastas , Stir Frys
Salads, Fruits, Cheeses, Breads, and pastrys all prepared with extreme care and cleanliness.
No cross contamination of utensils (they care)
We felt the Staff and management were trying very hard to keep the food quality, cleanliness and environment very high.
Staff very poite and friendly and would try hard to please you.
Good beach and Great weather
Would definetly return again. hopefuly to renovated rooms
Stayed before at Playa Pesquero Holguin, Blau Varadero , Blau Santa Maria, Melia Guillermo

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your review. When you have booked your next stay, do send us an email for us to look after a renovated room for you. Thank you very much for already decide to return.
With warmest regards,
Freddy Andersen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Last Year we went to Holgiun and had a great time. This year we thought we would try the Melia Cayo Coco. It is an Adult only hotel and we had another great holiday. We travelled from the 4th Oct to 18th Oct and it was very hot.

We stopped in a Lagoon room 5112 which I think is ready for a re-fit. But was clean and spacious. The only complaint I have about the room is that a new hotel is being built right next door and it tended to get a bit noisy first thing in the morning as you could hear the lorries reversing etc. But as you do not spend alot of time in your room it was not that bad.

Never tried the A'La Cart resturants not our cup of tea and we tended to get a lot of mixed feedback from people around the pool. Stuck to the buffet resturant which had plenty to choose from but if you are wanting anything cooked from the grill go early as it gets very busy and there were long queues at times. I also found the drink service at every meal very slow on a couple of occasions we never got a drink until we had finished our main course. For a five star hotel I thought this was poor. But when Oswaldo was working he was very attentive and we never waited very long.

Never saw the shows and from what I heard they were not that good alot of them spoke in spannish and when you have Canadians and English there it kind of gets lost on you. They have a disco which is air conditioned but only open it once the shows have finished this is a shame because with some european tunes and opening it a bit earlier they would cater for the younger generation.

We tended to spend most of our evenings in the Billiards Bar, made many drinking friends with Orlando and Joseph serving it was never a dull moment. If you are doing badly at pool be prepared to hear the whistle and be shown the yellow card. Also ask for a special cocktail they will give you something that is not on the menu but it will be a proper cocktail. These guys are wasted in this bar as they are so funny and made every evening enjoyable,

During the day we tended to spend most of our time round the pool. At approx 11.30am every day you would hear someone shouting coconuts come and get your coconuts. They were giving out fresh coconuts topped up with rum and juice and very tasty. Apparently it is Cuban Viagra LOL The Pool volley ball was very entertaining and was run by Alex who would let you all know he is Alexanda the Great from Cuba. But be warned once he gets to know you if he is running any activities he will come and find you.

We also went on the Ecological trip with Alex from the Hotel that was very interesting and yet again he kept us all entertained this is normally done on a Thursday.

It is a shame that the hotel does not detail their activities better, as we found it difficult to try and find out what was going on. The hotel we stopped in last year had a big board in the lobby with a time table. I think the hotel is missing a trick as they would definately get more people involved.

We went on two Trips with Thomas Cook. The Catamorang which was not good they do not take you to any coral reefs and are very strict on the drinks if you ask for a beer they will not give you a can. We also went on the speed boats this is a must probably one of the best trips I have ever been on. If you want to go to Havana or Trinidad they are over night stays we declined these as we had already paid for 14 nights all inclusive and then having to pay out again for bed and breakfast did not make sense to me.

On the whole we had a good holiday despite the mosqiutos so make sure you take some repellant as I had arms and legs like popeye at one point.

Would I go again? Yes I probably would

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your review. We will forward your comments to all our staff who, as you have stated, make a wonderful job in providing you with the best our services. And you can rest assure we will be working on improving the issues you make reference. We do hope you visit us again; please, send us an email with your booking details, especially with any request you may have.
With best regards,
Freddy Andersen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just back from this fantastic resort.Everyone who works there was fun friendly and always trying to make your vacation as good as it could be. Buffet was large and varied at each meal with 3stations also to make dishes to order the specialty restaurants were excellent .Entertainment team fun and friendly shows in evening used imagination. Bars made good drinks without going crazy with the rum . The diving operation was well run with care never to take diver back to same site unless requested equipment included with dive fee. No sand fleas or mosquitos .About 15 minutes from airport.

Room Tip: Would not select rooms on lagoon a bit further from center of hotel also a bit more prone to Mosquit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for posting your positive review on this site. We do hope you decide to visit again, please, send us a note with any request you may have and we will be very glad to accommodate it.
With warmest regards,
Freddy Andersen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Cayo Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cayo Coco

Address: Jardines del Rey | Ciego de Ávila, 22300, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Coco
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Cayo Coco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront in Cayo Coco, habitat of a large colony of pink flamingos. Five-Star All Inclusive Resort with 250 rooms. Conceived only for adults aged 18 years or more. Its superior suites and rooms are built on stilts over a natural seawater lagoon. Recommended for couples, weddings, and honeymoons.Guest Rooms250 rooms: 168 Standard, 62 Standard Superior Lagoon, 6 Junior Suite, 2 Junior Suite Deluxe Lagoon, 12 Suite Deluxe LagoonDining4 Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet, Barbeque), 5 Bars ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Melia Cayo Coco Hotel Cayo Coco
Cayo Coco Melia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Cayo Coco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.