We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what the doctor ordered” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Cayo Coco

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayo Coco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Melia Cayo Coco
Save
You added Melia Cayo Coco to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Jardines del Rey | Ciego de Ávila, 22300, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Trinidad
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Just what the doctor ordered”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My experience at Melia Cayo Coco was fabulous! upon checking in, we were treated to welcome champagne! The service, gastronomy, rooms, drinks, facilities, beach all exceeded my expectations. This hotel is geared to adults who want to have a great vacation in tasteful surroundings with superb cuisine and service.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,359
    819
    235
    90
    51
See reviews for
247
2,404
61
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (861)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband I stayed at the Melia Cayo Coco from September 21 to 28th in Room 8224. First of all we want to say it was a pleasure meeting you both Mr. Eidel Ramos Torres and Ms. Violeta Diaz. Thank you so much for looking after us plus the wonderful lunch we all had. Ms. Diaz once again thank you for taking care of our requests prior to us arriving.

As well, I would like to take this opportunity to thank all of your staff for making our stay at the Melia Cayo Coco an enjoyable one. The staff were outstanding especially our waitresses at Breakfast, Vivian and the other lady which I am sorry I can't remember her name, always very attentive, happy and with a smile on there face. Our wonderful waiter who served us outside in the evening at the buffet; Our maid who took care of us and the most pleasant amazing personality gentleman who wore the funny hats, I believe he was part of the animation group. Keep up the good work everyone!

The resort is well kept and clean, the furniture is a little out dated but the rooms very comfortable. The food was good with wide variety, the pool nice and clean, one suggestion more lively music around the pool area. We will definitely be back and highly recommend this resort to our family and friends.

Your Greek Friends from Canada.

Room Tip: Always upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

We had a fantastic time last Xmas so we are returning to this fantastic hotel next February so get our room ready Freddie . Pitty work commitments stop us from comming this Xmas but can't get enough of the Melia so Feb will have to do.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Loyal Guests,
Thank you so much for your lovely note on this site. Will have your room ready in February with great pleasure, and are already looking forward to meeting you,
Freddy Andersen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the media cayococo from the 7th to the 21st September we were quickly shown to our room .a ground floor 7213 .we were disappointed as we would have liked a upstairs room .we thought it had no view was dark and smelt strange thankfully before we had chance to complain .customer services rang .we were changed rooms the day after to 8821 what a difference a lovely big bright room and so clean and a nice view . When we booked we didn't realize September would be so so hot and the night's so humid .when we go again it will have to be a cooler month .maybe if the terrace and lobby bars had some paddle fans it would have made it more comfortable for the guests . We went on three trips the jeeps and the speedboat ones were by far the best the speadboat one was value for money (smile for the camera) you even get your own boat to drive. Such fun .you even get to see lots of fish on the snorkling part and keep the snorkel also we saw some beaver like things which we threw some bread for so we could take some pictures . On the jeeps Alex our guide was excellent .he made the whole trip interesting and fun taking us to the highest point .crocodile farm (I held a crocodile ) horse and bull riding and a spread boat ride .also a very good lunch and free time to walk round Moron a Cuban town which we found a bit uneasy whilst there but were told it was ok . All in all our holiday was great .the food was excellent in the buffet we had a six course sampler meal in the international which was so good in a romantic setting .very relaxing . The staff at the hotel are fantastic from the maids doing amazing towel art to the waiters and waitresses .the bar staff and the entertainment team . ten out of ten all round just make sure if your mini bar is not filled daily .ask and it will be . Rob n Tina Yorkshire

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is my 7th stay at the Melia Cayo Coco since 2009. It is my second home. The staff at the Melia is great, always smiling, so friendly, and always there when you need them. They are like members of my family. The food is good, the service is excellent, the entertainment is good, Ismael the pianist is very good and others. Ubaldo used to sing twice a week, now he's singing once per two weeks, it's a shame, he has a great voice and he's a great entertainer, we miss not hearing him sing. For the first time, since I've been going to the Melia, I noticed a lot of stress among the staff and mostly when the Hotel Director was around and the same with the Entertainment Manager. I even could feel the stress, I was uncomfortable and sad for them. The Hotel Lobbey should have ventilators hanging from the ceiling even if the ceiling is very high for the comfort of the guests and staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Loyal Customer,
Thank you very much for your review. We are very glad to know you feel like home when staying with us and truly appreciate your comments and suggestions. We are in agreement with you regarding Ubaldo's way of entertaining our guests at the Lobby but we have to find several choices to fit all our guests who are, mostly, two weekers.
Looking forward to seeing you again,
Freddy Andersen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Melia Cayo Coco Sept 7 to the 14th. This had to be the best holiday we have ever been on. The resort is extremely well kept, the gardeners working long hours only stopping to hand you a flower, a hand made hat, a hand made bird among others. Everyone there always had a smile and a hola for everyone and it didn't take long for the staff to remember your name. You feel very special when you are there. We loved Yamil in the buffet who would bring us cappuccino's every morning with a smile and kiss on the cheek. Vivienne at the buffet - although never served us - always came over to say hi with a big smile and ask how our stay is. Anelbys always had a high five, a hug, and a kiss for us each day, always making us smile. These are just a few of the amazing people we met.

We were fortunate to get upgraded to a lagoon suite which was simply amazing. A beautiful room - extremely clean. If we ever had a problem the hotel staff would look after it immediately. Thank you so much to Violate for looking after us with the suite :)) We stayed the first 3 nights in a regular room which we also loved. Always smelled fresh and clean with fun towel art!

The food was amazing. There is something for everyone from pasta, stir fry's, grilled meat (any kind), veggies, banana crepes for dessert (and for breakfast). We enjoyed all the a la carte restaurants, as well as the pool restaurant/bar and the bbq at the beach. Anyone complaining about food here must have there own food problems. Also, the drinks were lovely. I loved the banana mama's.

The entertainment staff were lots of fun but it was very subtle. You didn't feel obligated to join anything unless you wanted to. This is a nice, quiet resort but for anyone able to stay up past 11 there is a disco which was lots of fun!!!!

We are already trying to figure out when we can make it back there. I am recommending this resort to anyone I know.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guests,
Our special thanks for this wonderful review in which you are recommending our hotel and state you are already planning to be back. We will make sure all the staff, especially the ones you mention are acknowledged for the way they serve. Do send us an email with the details of your next visit for us to look after another nice room and all your needs during your stay.
With very best regards,
Freddy Andersen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Just back from our holiday at the Melia Cayo Coco in Cuba. What a great holiday, the staff were very friendly. We had room 8823 which was not far from the beach and pool. We met some lovely people. The beach party was great - you know who. The staff worked very hard all day to make our holiday fantastic, the food in the restaurant is excellent. As like most people who go to the Melia, we would both go back next week if we could. Thank you for a great holiday everyone!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience by posting your review on this site. Do email us when you have made your next booking to stay with us, we will be very happy to look after any request and another enjoyable holiday in Meliá Cayo Coco.
Looking forward to seeing you again,
Freddy Andersen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Cayo Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cayo Coco

Address: Jardines del Rey | Ciego de Ávila, 22300, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Coco
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Cayo Coco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront in Cayo Coco, habitat of a large colony of pink flamingos. Five-Star All Inclusive Resort with 250 rooms. Conceived only for adults aged 18 years or more. Its superior suites and rooms are built on stilts over a natural seawater lagoon. Recommended for couples, weddings, and honeymoons.Guest Rooms250 rooms: 168 Standard, 62 Standard Superior Lagoon, 6 Junior Suite, 2 Junior Suite Deluxe Lagoon, 12 Suite Deluxe LagoonDining4 Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet, Barbeque), 5 Bars ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Melia Cayo Coco Hotel Cayo Coco
Cayo Coco Melia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Cayo Coco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.