We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very beautiful day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moron Plus Day Tour by Cubatur

Moron Plus Day Tour by Cubatur
Villa Azul, Edif. 15, Cuba
(53 33) 301029
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 7 things to do in Cayo Coco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A very beautiful day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We always visit during our trips down south and this trip was not exception.

We booked through our travel rep, WestJet Vacations, and we chose the Day trip to Moron.

We were transported in a beautiful, air-condition bus. Our tour guide, Elizabeth, was awesome. She is from Moron, speaks multiple languages and very educated as a guide.

We were able to appreciate the Town of Moron and see the locals. It is a poor town but the people are so warm. We began with a horse-drawn carriage and it was a great way to see the town without having to walk. We than had an hour to shop. There isn't much to shop. Be careful of those who say they work in the same resort that your are staying. Just trying to make a few $$.

After our walk, we took the bus to our boat ride on a "lagoon". Again, the part of the trip was well received. Had a great guide and the boat drive was calming and under the control of a great driver.

We had a meal at the same site of our boat ride and the meal was a typical "Cuban" meal. It was delicious.

Overall the day trip was memorable one and I would highly recommend it!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    67
    18
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Long day, but great history”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

If your looking for something to do in Cayo Coco this is a so so trip. Its very long and fills your whole day.
I enjoyed the culture and taking treats and crayons to the children at the schools but other then that could have done without the luncheon and carriage ride through the city. Its like your paraded around infront of all these cubans who are begging for food or money. I felt horrible to be honest.

The band at the resturant was awesome. Great playing guys!!

Overall go to Cayo Coco to relax. If you want a real treat, head up to Cayo Guillermo and enjoy their beaches.. A bit nicer..

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London ontario
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Moron in a day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

This is without a doubt the best inland tour offered out of Cayo Coco. It involves you in a good amount of the history pre and post revolution. It imerses you in the local culture and allows you to see some of the new local small businesses that the government under Raoul Castro is now allowing in the country. The horse drawn carriage ride really gives you and insight into the city. The dropoff point at the train station gives you a chance to see some old Canadian railway rolling stock namely old Canadian Pacific Dayliners and narrow guage diesel locomotives built by the former General Motors Diesel in London Ontario. The local craftsman in the city square are more than willing to barter you can get some great bargins. The trip is pure 5 star.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Beautiful City, Fun Experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We took a family trip to Moron, on 2 separate vacations to Cayo Coco Cuba.
The first time we took the trip with Cubatur bus, which first took us to a lagoon. We had the opportunity to go on a speedboat around the water, which was a lottt of fun! Afterwards, we were treated to a buffet lunch and had a live band playing music around us. It was a nice relaxing, beautiful, fun experience, and a great place for photos/videos etc. After this, we drove to the city of Moron which was not too far away from the lagoon.
We had the opportunity to walk "downtown" and visit the shops, buy souvenirs etc, and met back at our original meeting point. The streets are very safe and the locals are extremely friendly!!
I recommend bringing candy, souvenirs, hats etc for the locals. They really appreciate it, and some are even willing to help you navigate through the town, which was great!!
After this visit, we went to a local "bar" where we had the opportunity to have some drinks (alcoholic and non alcoholic) and listen to another band sing and dance, and even got the chance to participate. once again, a great experience and a lot of fun. these people are incredibly talented!!
The bus took us back to the hotel afterwards. The ride to and from the city was approx 45mins, but did not seem long at all because the scenery on the way was beautiful!

I defintiely recomment taking this trip at least once. Even the second time around was just as fun and beautiful!!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Gaviota's Moron Plus 1/2 day Excursion - 80% Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

My sister and I recently stayed at the new Memories Flamenco Beach Resort. Through the SunWing rep at the hotel, we booked a 1/2-day excursion to Moron.
About 80% of the excursion was well planned, interesting and fun with a great guide named Marbelese. I'm referring to the crocodile farm, the calèche ride, the complimentary beer and delicious French fries at a bar with live music, La Laguna lunch, and speedboat ride. Those were all excellent. However, the stop at a so-called market to buy trinkets in a place so crowded, I was getting claustrophobic, and, later on, dropping us off to walk around and shop on our own for one hour were 'thumbs down' experiences. The drop-off was in a somewhat poor and unattractive area of the city. The shops all had the same or similar trinkets, and a lot of people on the street asked you for money, relentlessly.

That spoiled it for many of us. A large number of people returned to the bus ahead of time; we'd had enough. When you go on vacation, you don't want to see those areas of a city. I'm sure Moron has many more attractive streets and buildings then where we were dropped off. It was sad to see so many people with their hand out for a peso and others telling us fake stories to gain our favour, like one man claiming his wife just had a baby and needing money to bring her flowers in hospital. Nearly every encounter with a Cuban person ended up with them asking for a peso.

Gaviota may want to revise this tour stop by finding a more attractive part of Moron. Mind you, for all I know, this MAY be the nicest part of the city. In which case, I apologize to the residents of Moron.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moron Plus Day Tour by Cubatur also viewed

Cayo Coco, Jardines del Rey Archipelago
Cayo Coco, Jardines del Rey Archipelago
 
Cayo Coco, Jardines del Rey Archipelago
Cayo Coco, Jardines del Rey Archipelago
 

Been to Moron Plus Day Tour by Cubatur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moron Plus Day Tour by Cubatur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.