We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memories Caribe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Memories Caribe Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayo Coco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
Save
You added Memories Caribe Beach Resort to your Saves list
Jardines del Rey, 67210, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Memories Caribe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We just got back from the Cayo Coco resort. It was our first time there, but we are planing to go there again. Our experience was very positive. Beaches are absolutely beautiful and staff very frendly. Food was good and coctles excelent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eynel v, Director of Sales at Memories Caribe Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Ksenija C;

Thanks a lot for posting your opinion about your holidays in our hotel.
Your opinion is very important for us since it is the way we have to know what are clients are thinking about.
It is nice to know that you enjoyed your vacations with us and that you liked the resort and its workers.
We hope to welcome you and your family back pretty soon.

Sincerely,
Valerio Lanzarotti
General Manager Hotel Memories Caribe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,162
    1,032
    422
    122
    80
See reviews for
965
973
125
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Had an amazing time at Memories Caribe! The beach was perfect, staff was great and the food was way better than expected although somewhat repetitive. All of the bartenders were friendly and the entertainment staff was always getting people involved. It was great relaxing by the pool and the beach as both were beautiful. Very secluded; been to Tryp and Sol as well and they were much more active and closer to other resorts.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eynel v, Director of Sales at Memories Caribe Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear veronica e;

Thank you for posting your comments regarding your recent experience at our resort.
We value very much your comments and you can be sure we will consider them. We are doing many things right for guest's satisfaction, and reviews back up such effort.
We hope to see you soon over this paradise; at Memories Caribe we are trying to improve every day and keep customer happy and willing to come back.
Let us know in advance when you are planning to return and advice us in order to fulfill your needs.

Sincerely,
Valerio Lanzarotti
General Manager Hotel Memories Caribe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We spent a week at Memories Caribe and it was a wonderful time . The staff was very helpful and friendly and the quality of service we received was outstanding . Our maid service was top notch and went above and beyond . The beach was beautiful , not one bit rocky. I have heard the food in Cuba was not that great but I never had a meal that I could not find something to eat . Lots of vegetables , fresh bread each and every meal and great coffee . The nightly entertainment was great and we went each and every night . The pool was amazing , spotless and even poolside was perfect . I will be definitely return to Memories Caribe .

Room Tip: Try to get as close to the beach as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eynel v, Director of Sales at Memories Caribe Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Regina M,

It was a pleasure reading your review, but most of all the great experience you had at our Resort.
Your review has been sent to all departments to be read during their daily or weekly meetings.
We hope to see you soon over this paradise; at Memories Caribe we are trying to improve every day and keep customer happy and willing to come back.
Let us know in advance when you are planning to return and advice us in order to fulfill your needs.

Best regards,
Valerio Lanzarotti
General Manager Hotel Memories Caribe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Just got back from this resort this morning and all I can say is wow! The resort is beautiful! The food isn't bad, lots to eat. The rooms are clean, the beds were comfortable. The beach is absolutely beautiful!!! Lots of activities during the day there and lots of food and drinks. You don't have to get up at 6am to get a spot in the shade either, there were lots. The pool was refreshing and tons of chairs around. The staff at this resort will make your stay the best you have ever had! From the piano bar staff (Mariland, Marlivbys, Ricardo, and a few others), the chefs in the Buffett (Arneal and many more), the 2 waitresses we had everyday. The international buffet was good, especially our waiter, Robert! The entertainment staff was amazing! Yudy, Juan Carlo, daya, mya, oyarsa, yamlka, dayani, Felix, Ariel, Oscar, and many more! The dancers were great, too bad the stage was being refinished while we were there. Still had a great time with Yasmani,Rangel and all the others! Seriously I can't say enough good things about this place! Was very hard to leave because we made such good friends. We will definitely be returning with our group of 5 women. Love all of you at memories caribe!!!

Room Tip: Everything is pretty close so I wouldn't worry much we were in block 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eynel v, Director of Sales at Memories Caribe Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Allison S,

It’s a pleasure to receive your opinion about your stay in our hotel. It is nice to know that you enjoyed it. We are pleased to receive your polite comments. Thanks a lot for having chosen our resort.
We will congratulate those workers you have recognized for the great service they've brought you.
We hope to see you soon over this paradise; at Memories Caribe we are trying to improve every day and keep customer happy and willing to come back.
All comments are always taken into account and we are pleased to receive them all.

Best regards,
Valerio Lanzarotti
General Manager Hotel Memories Caribe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, ON Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed at the Memories Caribe for two weeks end of April beginning of May and along with the great weather we had a very memorable vacation. We have been to Cayo Coco many times and the beaches are fantastic! Long lazy walks in the white sand are exceptional, when the tide is out it is the best time to be there! Our stay at the Memories Caribe was our first and excellent! The treatment we received from the staff was superb, no complaints. Check in was effortless and any concerns, problems or questions were dealt with promptly, efficiently and professionally. The service from staff we received was 5 stars. We would like to thank Zuzel, John, Elaine, Wilbur and Jenny for making our stay enjoyable. The bartenders in the snack bar put on a the most memorable and enjoyable antics that were very entertaining for the guests, the Spanish coffee served at night along with the best show preparing them and were of course delectable to drink. The piano bar entertainment and bar tending crew was also most memorable.
The rooms were clean, the food good (I can be picky) but never went hungry ever! The drinks were good and lots to choose from. The best ice cream in the buffet...the activities staff did their jobs in keeping the guests entertained and the shows at night were good, the best was the water ballet that we were able to see twice over our two week stay. Our two week stay flew by much too quickly; we look forward to going back next year!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eynel v, Director of Sales at Memories Caribe Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Hello SueBobS,

Thank you for posting your comments regarding your recent experience at our resort.
Your opinion is very important for us since it is the way we have to know what are clients are thinking about. the workers you have mentioned are going to be congratulated for the good job they are doing.
We hope to welcome you again in the near future. Please, contact us before coming back in case we can be of any assistance or for any special need.

Best regards,
Valerio Lanzarotti
General Manager Hotel Memories Caribe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

just got back on Saturday. We arrived on April 27 with a party of 19 for our 25th wedding anniversary. Jenny from the hotel was wonderful in arranging our vow renewal on the beach. Mar in the patio bar always greeted us with a smile and kept the drinks and coffee flowing. Can't say enough about Ilyn in the buffet, we always sit in her section and she is such a sweet person as well as Hawka who was always accommodating for our large group. Meet a new staff member, Judi in the entainment staff and she was a lot of fun. We love this resort and will definately return. Weather was beautiful both weeks. Went snockeling with Alex in the water centre this time and would recommend that to everyone but wear beach shoes. The staff at this resort are great and they definately remember returning guests and make you feel so welcome. You cannot compare this beach to any other! Some of our family were nervious about the food after reading some reviews and they were pleasantly surprised. This was our best vacation, hands down, and cannot wait to return to Memories Caribe. Last note, meet Wilbur in the lobby when you go, he is such a nice guy and will help with your bags, get a taxi or anything else you need.

Room Tip: Deluxe balcony lakeview
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eynel v, Director of Sales at Memories Caribe Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Jodi B,

Thanks a lot for posting your opinion about your holidays in our hotel. We will congratulate the workers you mention because of their good job. At Memories Caribe Cayo Coco we are committed to enhance and improve staff attitude and quality service. Your review shows us that we are in the right track and still we have a lot to work to do. Please, do not hesitate to let us know when you are coming back and if we can be of any assistance.

Sincerely,
Valerio Lanzarotti
General Manager Hotel Memories Caribe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

My wife and I made our first trip with our 2 year old this May and decided on Memories Caribe in Cayo Coco. Firstly, our luggage didn't arrive with us and took 10 hours to reach the hotel. Our rep from Sunwing couldn't have appear less interested in assuring us that all measures were being taken. With our little one teething and 4 molars popping out, here pain relief was in the checked bags (over 100ml). That being said......the resort and staff.....

Upon our arrival, with this issue hanging over us, we were assisted to our room in the 23 block by Wilbur. He was a tremendously kind and thoughtful person whose consideration helped greatly. His offer to assist in obtaining anything vital missing until our bags arrived was very much a genuine offer with nothing more than our comfort as his concern. He is a great asset to Memories.

With our luggage received (missing items from our point of departure - being investigated) we were able to begin our vacation. So let's get to the areas of most intrigue:

THE BEACH
The beach did not require a lot of walking to get to, it was very clean and relaxing. The sandbars allow you to walk 50-100 yards and be only hip deep. The beach staff was friendly, and the entertainment team really tries to engage everyone. Overall and very nice experience.

THE POOL
The pool was vast and not too deep. The area was kept very clean and pretty much what you'd expect it to be. The entertainment staff (clap, clap, clap) also works very hard to keep everyone engaged, smiling and involved. They even held my daughter during a salsa lesson and danced with her. It was a very nice and genuine act. In particular, my wife and I thought that Daya and Maya were awesome and very sweet girls, who are students learning the business. Great job ladies.

THE BUFFET
Here is where a lot of people differ in their experiences. From opinion, the food was good. We are spoiled though processed foods and chemically induced veggies and fruits and so when Canadian visit Cuba they complain about "blandness". I suggest that "bland" taste is the real flavour and not the altered versions we are used to. The stir fry, the omelets, the fresh bacon (no fat whatsoever), fresh juice and the fish are all served and cooked right before you - pasta too. The bread has no fillers and is light. The cooks and the staff at the buffet made it very easy to chose over the restaurants. we were fortunate enough to have the same wait staff almost everyday. Jennifer, Nestor and Damaris were just great and are truly wonderful representative of the resort, always a smile and attentive.

THE ROOMS
This area needs work. The rooms while kept clean and had the best and most modern bathroom set up I've seen in Cuba, still need a lot of work. Holes in the walls behind the bedframes, pillows were very unclean, the bed itself was falling apart. The A/C is great and so is the fact that the wall out lets are designed for our power need. Some decent patch work and a better paint job along with more attention to bedding would make this a great room.

KIDS POOL AND DAYCARE
Very nice. So perfect for our little one and she had a lot of fun in the pool and playground. We did not utilize the daycare but did let her play there with us and the staff around and it was really nice to see how the kids can play and interact. The staff really do like being with the kids. Watch for sand mites here. We received large bites based on the sandmites around this resort, primarily by the playground.

NIGHTLIFE
We cannot comment - we have a two year but sounded nice!

OVERALL
This is a perfect resort for a family. For the price and the resort as a whole, you truly get value. One side note - please consider this......you are at an all inclusive resort and on vacation, the staff are not. You are not obligated in anyway but tipping these tremendously hard working a nice people is the least we can do. Hear that Quebecers? I witnessed first hand, daily groups of French Canadians and different tables, not together, all leaving their empty plates and glasses behind and nothing else. I have nothing against French Canadians for those ready to say so as my wife is from Forestville and my parents are both from there as well. This is a fact. Leave a few pesos and show some gratitude to those traveling 2 plus hours a day to make your stay enjoyable.

We would return here for sure

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eynel v, Director of Sales at Memories Caribe Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Randy M,

Thank you for posting your comments regarding your recent experience at our resort. We hope to see you soon over this paradise; at Memories Caribe we are trying to improve every day and keep customer happy and willing to come back.
Let us know in advance when you are planning to return and advise us in order for us to fulfill your needs.

Best Wishes,
Valerio Lanzarotti
General Manager Hotel Memories Caribe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Memories Caribe Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memories Caribe Beach Resort

Address: Jardines del Rey, 67210, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Coco
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Memories Caribe Beach Resort offers 328 rooms in different categories, including 280 rooms in deluxe category, 48 junior suites and 56 connecting rooms (deluxe category, 4 of them handicapped accessible). For your convenience, our facilities also have rooms for smokers and non-smokers. RESTAURANTS: International buffet "Las Arcadas" (air conditioned), Breakfast, lunch and dinner service; Italian restaurant "Arenas Blancas" (fan aired), Dinner service; Seafood restaurant "El Coral"Dinner service; International restaurant "El Coral" Dinner service. BARS: Lobby bar "Oceano Atlantico" (9:00 to 23:00 hrs)Selection of national and international drinks included Premium beverages offered at an additional cost; Snack bar "La Estrella" (24-hour service) Selection of national and international drinks included; Aqua bar "Los Delfines" (9:00 to 17:00 hrs) Selection of national and international drinks included; Beach bar "Uva Caleta" (9:00 to 17:00 hrs) Specialized in Cuban cocktails. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Memories Caribe Beach Resort 4* Hotel Cayo Coco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memories Caribe Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.