We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Quiet Resort for Families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Memories Caribe Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayo Coco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
Save
You added Memories Caribe Beach Resort to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jardines del Rey, 67210, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nice Quiet Resort for Families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

We stayed at the BlueBay from April 10-17, 2011

Beach
The beach is the best part of the resort! Calm, shallow crystal clear water with soft, white powdery sand. You can walk out quite far before you get to your waist, which is the perfect beach if you have little ones. If you want shade close to the water, you will have to be at the beach very early (6am) to reserve your spot and probably by about 8am to get a beach chair (there is a shortage of chairs). If being close to the water is not important to you, there is lots of shade toward the back of the beach under the trees. The bartender at the beach makes very good drinks - we really like the mojitos.

Rooms
We stayed in villa 24 on the 2nd floor. Our room was clean and comfortable. We were lucky enough to have a view of both the ocean and the lagoon from our balcony. The rooms were quite large with either 2 double beds or a king size bed. There was also a pull out sofa as well. Plenty of room for 2 adults and 2 kids.

One thing I should mention is that our room was often not cleaned until very late in the day (4 pm). We didn't mind, however, because we usually did not come back from the beach/pool until after that time anyway.

Entertainment
The daily entertainment was OK. Every morning there was yoga at the pool, the odd water aerobics, dance lesson & volleyball at the beach, and late in the afternoon some games at the pool. We did find that some days events that were scheduled never took place. Most of the "entertainment" throughout the day was just the music playing over the speakers.

The nightly entertainment was very good. the shows were entertaining and the dancers were very talented.

After the shows were over, there was really not much to do on the resort. The lobby bar, snack bar and disco were open late, but not many people stayed out. Both times we went to the disco, there was no one else in there. Most nights everyone was in bed by 11 pm.

Food
The food was fine and we always found something to eat. We stuck to the fresh grilled chicken, shrimp, etc and the pasta station. My kids loved the ice cream. The a la carte restaurants were good - we tried the Italian and Seafood restaurants. I liked the seafood the best.

All in all we had a great vacation with our kids. Hot weather, a few mojitos and a beautiful beach was what we had hoped for, and that is what we got. We would recommend this resort to families or vacationers looking for a quiet place to relax. If you want to have the night life as well, I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,342
    1,181
    461
    136
    74
See reviews for
1,082
1,104
139
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

So we didn't stay here but I can give you my impression as we spent nearly three hours there and did see it.

It was beautiful. Front desk staff rude. Maybe because they were being hollared at-but even before some of our group got frustrated and angry staff were not helpful and didn't tell us anything-but they made no apologies. They also left us in limbo for tour hours not telling us anything.

They did however let us eat and drink. We only had juice but the lobby bar always had a line up and staff seemed over worked. Friendly hard working.

I guess the point of this mini review is-not only was our entire group sent away but we talked to other travellers and the same had happened to friends at the bluebay. As well a few on the forums had the same experience. Who's fault it is I do not know, but I would think booking in this resort may be a gamble. Maybe you get to stay there...Maybe you don't.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

Stayed here in July we were really excited.
The hotel was a 3 star not a 4.
The food was very good.
The staff were lovely and had to have an hour and a half trip daily to reach the island.
Take a bubba keg for the beach. The beach was really nice but you have to get up early to ge a shaded bed some people tipped the guy and had beds reserved for their whole vacation which wasn,t very cool at all especially if you sat on them .this is not good policy from the hotel.
The pool area was clean and the gardens were reasonably kept. There is nothing to do on the island NOTHING... there are no shops there is no town NOTHING only hotels and trips we did the speed boats which was good fun. people we met did the factory train trip they enjoyed it. there are horses on the beach and various pedlos etc
There is not a lot to do at the hotel 1 swim up bar and 2 other bars. The entertainment was good mostly dancing to a very high standard. I got quite board and im not known for doing loads of stuff.
We got the bus to the very nice beach stayed for about 1 hour no sunbeds or shade available.
We had a room in one of the little bungalows between the beach and the lagoon it was large clean and had an outside shower nothing special we did find a crab in our toilet fairly amusing, the kids where in the block again nothing special.
But I have NEVER NEVER been in such mossi hell it was increadible as soon as we had a wee bit rain it was horrific the wee man with the bug spray was working hard but really it was pointless. It truley spoiled the holiday I always get bitten but my husband does not he was a mess.
The band in the resturant were very loud which became annoying. Im sure they were stalking me. Never managed to book the alacarte too busy.
Would I go back NO.

Room Tip: dont go
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

My husband and i just returned from a two week stay at Bluebay. I could not believe that the resort was less than three years old. There are some holes in the decks that could cause nasty injuries and despite my bringing this to the attention of a few workers, nothing was fixed during the time i was there. The coverings on the lobby and room chairs were dirty and torn and when i looked at the spa with the intent of getting a massage the stains turned me way off.

The food was okay. Breakfast at the buffet had the usual offerings. Lunch consisted of the same every day,Chicken, pork, rice, pasta. no problem and if you dont like that they make a good hamburger/cheeseburger/toasted ham and cheese sandwich, fries by the pool. Supper was the same as lunch. Some evenings they had a turkey, ham etc but if you did not get there early there was none left.
The pasta tasted good however the pasta bar was so messy, pasta strewn everywhere, sloppy dishes etc. not a good appetizing sight.
The Italian alacarte was wonderful, the international was okay and we did not enjoy the seafood at all.

If you want a beach chair you have to get up with the sun and go to the beach and have a local find you some chairs, then they stand around waiting for money. The pool chairs fill up later but it is a chore to find a chair that is not broken.

The staff are excellent, friendly and helpful. That is the most positive thing i can say.

Pillar Beach was lovely. The weather for the whole 2 weeks was fantastic. Drinks are good.
The mosquitoes were bad. I tried to avoid going out at sunrise and sunset and douced myself in deet every evening but still they bit and bit alot.
This was our 8th all inclusive holiday in different parts of the Carribean and BlueBay unfortunatly falls last on the list.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

To start off, this resort is well maintained, clean and I really liked the overall look of it with the Villa Style lodging. The beach is gorgeous and so is the large pool. The food is of fairly good quality for Cuba. Unfortunately during my stay I got very unlucky with the weather and couldn't enjoy the ocean. If the pool was heated it would be nice... the front desk staff tried to short change me on currency exchanges.. resort is also understaffed, the piano bar gets very busy in the evening and wait times for drink are often longer then 10minutes. The resort staff are very transparent when asking for tips.. they might as well stick their hand out towards you.. this resort is a decent getaway for couples, however if your single or looking for a party you will be very bored here... oh almost forgot, the trip to Moron is definitely something I wouldn't do again!

Room Tip: complain, complain, complain..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

Although the area is beautiful, the resort has it's up and downs. The rooms were adequate but the water pressure was terrible, a trickle at best.
I'm also very sorry to say that the majority of guests (French Canadian) that were there; were absolutely terrible. Never have I been so disgusted with the attitude and arrogance of the people (F/C)that were there. Apparently, a favorite vacation location for the F/C. If you're F/C ,great place for you, if not your in for a terrible experience.
We also did not like the fact that the entire sub-island, so to speak, only housed resorts. If you wanted to experience a taste of Cuba, you had to travel to the mainland, a one hour 40 minute bus ride and of course at an extra cost. There are no "Cuban" families living in Cayo Coco. Even the staff get bussed in,

Room Tip: Room close to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

Would be a so great place if they had anough shade and chair at the beach and pool.

People get their chair and towels stolen constantly.

Don't ask the staff for help, the management is useless about it, and they are probably the ones doing it to make money with the tourist that pay them to get a chair and the hotel make money selling replacement towel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Memories Caribe Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memories Caribe Beach Resort

Address: Jardines del Rey, 67210, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Coco
Hotel Class:4 star — Memories Caribe Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Memories Caribe Beach Resort offers 328 rooms in different categories, including 280 rooms in deluxe category, 48 junior suites and 56 connecting rooms (deluxe category, 4 of them handicapped accessible). For your convenience, our facilities also have rooms for smokers and non-smokers. RESTAURANTS: International buffet "Las Arcadas" (air conditioned), Breakfast, lunch and dinner service; Italian restaurant "Arenas Blancas" (fan aired), Dinner service; Seafood restaurant "El Coral"Dinner service; International restaurant "El Coral" Dinner service. BARS: Lobby bar "Oceano Atlantico" (9:00 to 23:00 hrs)Selection of national and international drinks included Premium beverages offered at an additional cost; Snack bar "La Estrella" (24-hour service) Selection of national and international drinks included; Aqua bar "Los Delfines" (9:00 to 17:00 hrs) Selection of national and international drinks included; Beach bar "Uva Caleta" (9:00 to 17:00 hrs) Specialized in Cuban cocktails. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Memories Caribe Beach Resort 4* Hotel Cayo Coco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memories Caribe Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.