We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite beach bar!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Soggy Dollar Bar

Soggy Dollar Bar
Sandcastle Hotel, White Bay | White Bay, Jost Van Dyke
284 495 9888
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Alpharetta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My favorite beach bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I LOVE the soggy dollar bar. White Bay is amazing. The beach & the water are beautiful. Soggy Dollar has a great atmosphere. The pain killers are the best around. It's a perfect place to chill & enjoy the view (& a drink of course).

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    450
    145
    41
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clemmons
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We jumped off our boat and swam to shore for a drink at this unique bar. Anchored of the beach were dinghys and million dollar yachts---everybody swims ashore and everybody pays with "soggy dollars".

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, OK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A perfect beach, Painkillers and Mic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Soggy Dollar Bar is a MUST if you are anywhere near Jost Van Dyke! White Bay is one of the most beautiful beaches in the Caribbean and the best bartender in the region, Mic serves up the best drinks of the region, Painkillers. We have eaten just about everything on the menu but our favorite is the fish and chips. Sit at the bar and watch Mic work his magic. He is very entertaining and a great guy. The SDB is the perfect place to relax and enjoy yourself.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The place to be (during the day) on Jost Van Dyke”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Foxy's may own the night on the island, but there is no question that the Soggy Dollar Bar owns the day. Just follow the stream of boats heading there and listed for the Vegas-style bikini party and you will find yourself agreeing. We rented a villa on the beach and it dies off in the night (when everyone heads to Foxy's)...

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Love the dollar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We've been visiting SDB since our honeymoon in 2005. We finally stayed on island and got to go to SDB every day that we were on vacation. It was great! Love Mic the bartender. Always a smile, and he was hustling, despite it being low season. I got to meet Jerry and Tish, the owners, and learned how they got the bar. Great people. You need to get the painkiller, of course, but they have a "Nilla Killa" which is made with vanilla liquor and a nice change up from slugging the original painkillers all day.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soggy Dollar Bar also viewed

Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
 
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Soggy Dollar Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soggy Dollar Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.