We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect little getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Crest Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sea Crest Inn to your Saves list
Sea Crest Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   Great Harbor, Jost Van Dyke   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Hawkinsville, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect little getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Desiree was extremely friendly and accommodating! Sometimes it takes a few days to receive a return email but be patient, they WILL call you back. This is a family run business and they aren't always in the office because they do have jobs outside the Inn. The room we were given was very clean, had a nice view, and was perfectly situated on Great Harbor, walking distance to Foxy's, JVD Scuba, Corsair's, Rudy's Grocery (which has all the basics from bread and sandwich meat to bacon and eggs and even some frozen pizzas along with paper goods and toiletries), and several other restaurants and vendors. The room had a complete kitchen which was nice for those nights that we were just too tired to go out and a great balcony for coffee each morning! It's also just a quick 5 min ride across the hill by taxi to gorgeous White Bay for a great beach experience. For a BVI vacation on a budget....this place can't be beat!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    16
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
25
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

They've added on! Rooms 8 & 9 are new and they're beautiful. We have stayed here for 3 years in a row now during our November trips. They've added the patio where they serve breakfast and have coffee/drinks. Another pleasant surprise was the in room mini-honor-bar! Ivy, Desiree, Noah and Kim are great people who work to ensure you have a wonderful stay. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 8 are further from Foxys so quieter than the others, but none are "bad".
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

My wife and I recently spent 3 days at the Sea Crest Inn and really enjoyed our stay. The room was clean and comfortable. The location in Great Harbor was great. We appreciated the easy walk to dinner on most nights. The staff were friendly and helpful and while not fancy we appreciated having a place to eat breakfast on site. Especially before progressing to rum drinks. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piqua, Kansas
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed here this past summer and had a great experience. The people are great, the service is excellent and location is amazing! It is right next to Foxy's and the beach. Easy access to the island taxis.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

April 2011

This was modestly furnished, clean and had a kitchenette which was quite handy for breakfast. Short walk downhill to the beach, small shops and Foxy's bar and restaurant. Reasonably priced.

It can get noisy from the music at Foxy's bar, but it didn't bother me or my friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I've stayed here twice in less than 1 year. Absolutely love the people who run the place (although sometimes they can be slow to reply to email - be patient, not everyone sits at a computer 50+ hours/week!). The deck overlooking the harbour is great, and the music from Foxy's never bothered us. It was convenient for evenings, after spending a day in the sun. We walked to White Bay every day and enjoyed the hike. We used the wireless at Foxy's, much faster. We didn't want to be online much anyway - this is paradise, after all!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I do not even know where to begin....If you are looking to be accommodated, then do not stay here. I will start with the negative. We lost water twice. Rolling blackouts cause the AC to turn off in the middle of the night. They promise WiFi, but it was never working. Coffee made it to the patio at 11am most mornings and because of the cook/housekeeper personal issues, rooms were not always cleaned regularly or breakfast made available. We had to ask for toilet paper and towels for the room. The house is up a long flight of steep stairs and they do not assist you with your bags.

I gave it two stars because it did have a couple of redeeming qualities. First, it was next to Foxy's, which did have WiFi regularly. Secondly, the bed did not appear to have bedbugs.

I was never so happy to get off this island. Unless your intention is to stay intoxicated the whole vacation, as that is all there is to do, stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay on another island and rent a boat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivy87, Manager at Sea Crest Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
From Desiree (Manager)

We are sorry that this individual did not enjoy his stay and sorry that he chooses, pessimistically, to “start with the negative” and then condemn the whole island as just a place to “stay intoxicated”.

Please see the positive posts from guests who stayed during that same time (June 2013). Certain things in life are beyond our control in the Caribbean...bad weather, sick family members, power outages, and so on. Reasonable, optimistic, and fairly cool people are understanding of these incidences. When the island wide power outage occurred, guests and residents alike converged at Foxy's to await the light! It was a pleasant time and there was a collective sigh of relief when power was restored. Without power, the water pump will not work, there will be no internet and no AC - that's everywhere, not just at SCI or on JVD. The patio at the Sea Crest Inn is open for breakfast at 8:30am or it is closed and a sign is posted. There is no late coffee/breakfast. Our rooms are cleaned every day, and linens changed every other day or as requested. Most guests drive up our driveway or have a taxi driver bring them up the driveway. Our friendly Jost Van Dyke drivers are always happy to help with luggage. Some individuals with light bags choose to use the stairs. We welcome cool people from around the world!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Crest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Crest Inn

Address: Great Harbor, Jost Van Dyke
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Jost Van Dyke
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Jost Van Dyke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Crest Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Crest Inn is located on the beautiful island of Jost Van Dyke in the British Virgin Islands. Your room awaits! It is air conditioned, has cable TV, a fully equipped kitchenette, and a queen sized bed. Spectacular views of Great Harbour can be enjoyed from your balcony. You will relax and rejuvenate at Sea Crest Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Sea Crest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Crest Hotel Jost Van Dyke
Sea Crest Jost Van Dyke
Jost Van Dyke Sea Crest
Sea Crest Inn Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Crest Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.