We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Escape” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Perfect Pineapple Guest Houses

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jost Van Dyke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Perfect Pineapple Guest Houses
Save
You added Perfect Pineapple Guest Houses to your Saves list
White Bay, Jost Van Dyke   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
njusa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful Escape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We could not be more grateful to Gregory and the whole Perfect Pineapple family for their easy, smiling, warm hospitality. That extends to Erica, Beverly, Gertrude, Olga, Lisa and everyone in their White Bay world whom we encountered in Feb. 2012. A very short lane down from beautiful beach. The cottages are comfortably furnished (we stayed in #5 and the one above the shop), with great beds. #7(?) the newest,top floor 2-bedroom with spectacular views is far more luxurious--granite counters, huge bedrooms, wrap-around deck and a challenging uphill approach. Altogether, if you are open to it you will feel like family. If you prefer more distance, no problem. Perhaps weekly maid service.This was our first visit to Jost Van Dyke, so we learned a lot which I'll share in a forum or trip review. Suffice it to say that White Bay and JVD in general are lovely, charming, and remote except when they are overrun by partying daytrippers who turn the amazing beach into a loud boat parking lot and cruise ship excursion spot. If a quiet island experience is your choice, recommend going off season or just Mon.-Fri., spendng the weekend elsewhere. If you are staying at Perfect Pineapple and prefer a little sanity you can hang out at Gertrude's welcoming bar and restaurant on the beach rather than Soggy Dollar. After the daytrippers leave, usually by 5, Soggy Dollar is very civilized. Best dinner on White Bay at (Seddy's)One Love. Sandcastle also a nice dinner. Be aware that despite its casual nature, the island pretty uniformly demands dinner reservations made no later than 4 pm. Otherwise, on busy nights there's no room for you, and on quiet nights restaurants may just close, even in high season. You can easily stay at PP with no car. With a little notice Greg, the PP host and taxi company, can be your most gracious personal guide and driver. Altogether, a great stay. Oh--as for provisions there are three small groceries and a bakery in Great Harbor. With the right ferry connections you can stock up in Red Hook or West End. But we heard later you could call in your big grocery order from Tortola (Harbour Market or Bobby's) and have it delivered for $3 per bag to the dock in Great Harbour, JVD. A great idea!

Room Tip: The rooms are arranged as follows: Over the shop, 2 BR, smaller balcony, no view. #5, cottage with p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    10
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
34
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

The guesthouses are very colorful and beautiful. Although the decor and amenities inside are very simple, the rooms are very clean. Spotless. The guesthouses provide an excellent value.

Down the hill and a few steps to the right is White Bay. I knew the location was close, but didnt realize how close! It is literally a few steps behind Sandcastle, but at a fraction of the cost and with a great deal of privacy which I prefer. It was Easter weekend so at times the crowds on the beach were overwhelming- it was nice to be able to walk to our house to get away from the fray, refresh, rest, grab a bite etc.

The views from the guesthouse deck are also stunning!

Hilda and Greg were wonderful hosts. As soon as we pulled up before even opening the jeep door, Hilda came out to make sure we were comfortable with the drive up the hill to the guesthouse and also to offer us a choice of the 2 remaining rooms. Greg made a delicious turkey and egg sandwich every morning and although we never made it back in time, both he and Hilda cooked up what smelled like *delicious* lunches.

We had a very positive experience and look forward to returning as soon as we can!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

Greg was a wonderful host. We stayed for 8 nights. Cooked a good deal in the room. Make sure to hit the market in St Thomas before heading to Jost for a better selection of foods. Place is clean. Walk up the hill to the cabins is great exercise ( make sure you are in good shape). Also no trip to Jost is complete without a visit to Gertrudes bar. Great company.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, VT
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

We got off the boat at Great Harbor in typical BVI fashion: knowing no one and not knowing where to go. One thing was certain, there were boxes of supplies on deck labeled 'perfect pineapple' so we knew Gregory would be there to pick them (and us) up.

A smiling man introduced himself as Gregory and we loaded up in his Explorer. A 3 minute ride later and we were at Perfect Pineapple and Gregory pointe up the stairs to our room - just above the main office/store. The room was tiled, clean, bright and had a new kitchen refridgerator and air conditioner in the bedroom!

The bathroom has a nice tile shower and after a quick unpacking (you don't need to bring much), we were amazed at the 100yard or so walk to the ocean. In front of us was White Bay with Gertrudes and others on the right and Soggy Dollar Bar on the left.

Gregory drove us all over and even hung out at his father's bar, Foxy's, waiting to drive us home after a night of rum and dancing. He and Hilda have a great operation and couldn't be nicer. This place is a literal diamond in the rough!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

If Sandcastle was not out of rooms, we would never have known about this great little place up the hill. Sandcastle is great, dont get me wrong, but Gregory and his wife have a great thing going with the Perfect Pineapple. Number one, you cant beat the price. Number two, you cant beat the view from your patio. Literally a one minute walk from White Bay. Sure there is a bit of a steep incline to get to your room, but most things in life that are worth it, you have to work for. THIS PLACE IS WORTH THE HIKE.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

Wonderful stay! We came here after staying at White Bay VIllas for 4 nights and got the best night sleep. Cool, comfortable rooms, sealed off without bugs. Gregory was right...You come to Jost Van Dyke to find out about The Perfect Pineapple. We won't come to JVD unless we can stay here! The Soggy Dollar Bar is only a few minutes walk, very convenient. Gregory also has a taxi service, so no need to call one. Overall, excellent stay: we were very comfortable with the luxuries of home, but only a few minutes walk to the most beautiful and quiet beach...just perfect.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

My wife and I sent 3 nights at the perfect pineapple on jost van dyke. It was a great place that represented the Isand well. A kick back place with no worries! need not be in a hurry, just relax and enjoy one of the best beaches in the Caribbean, white bay just a 2 minute walk to the beach and several beach bars. I suggest you try some of the great food prepaired by Greg (the owners) girlfriend, she is a great cook of real Caribbean food. Most of the locals eat there but make sure you tell her you want a meal, otherwise they will run out. Suggest the curry goat......it is fantastic. The island is beautiful and if you have time hire Greg (ownes a taxi company) to take you for a tour of the small and unspoiled island. We will stay with Greg whenever we return......Rob desertymcaceo@aol.com

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Perfect Pineapple Guest Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perfect Pineapple Guest Houses

Address: White Bay, Jost Van Dyke
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Jost Van Dyke
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Jost Van Dyke
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Perfect Pineapple Guest Houses Hotel Jost Van Dyke
Perfect Pineapple Guest Houses Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Perfect Pineapple Guest Houses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.