We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taboo & the Bubbly Pool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Foxy's Taboo Bar & Restaurant

Foxy's Taboo Bar & Restaurant
Diamond Cay, Jost Van Dyke
(284) 495-0218
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations
Freehold, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Taboo & the Bubbly Pool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Tabu is located on Jost Van Dyke at Diamond Cay, close to Sandy Spit & Green Cay. Great snorkeling in the area. The bar and restaurant serves good food and drink at reasonable prices. It is a short walk from Tabu to the Bubbly Pool, a natural pool that turns into a jacuzzi when waves strike the outer edge of the rocks in the area. The water filters through the rocks and bubbles up in the pool. A great place to cool off, and then back to Tabu for cocktails !!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    43
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Lovely open-air restaurant near the bubbly pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I have to say overall my dining experience in the BVI was nothing to write home about. You definitely can't be in a hurry and the prices are just too high. That being said, of the 3-4 meals out we had my best sit down meal was at Foxy's Taboo. We stopped by earlier in the day to make a reservation and get directions to the bubbly pool.

For dinner the three of us ordered two appetizers and two meals to share in order to keep within our overall budget. We ordered the lamb kebabs which were awesome and a curry octopus which was okay. The open air atmosphere was wonderful with a beautiful view of the mooring field...we actually were anchored in the next bay over....it was a quick dinghy ride. The breeze did get a little chilly but we had all brought light coats or fleeces with us so we were fine. I would go here again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Top place for food on JVD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Not the same atmosphere as Foxy's proper in Great Harbour but excellent food served in this little spot at Diamond Cay.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortola
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Better than the rest!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

For the most part, you don't go to any of the beach bars in the BVI for the cuisine...but this might be the exception. We decided to have lunch at Foxy's because of its proximity to the Bubbly Pool which we were headed over to...but what a delightful surprise. The food was good and a bit more inspired than the usual burgers (I had a delicious lamb kebab)...tasty, well cooked, pleasant staff...a great place to have a drink and something to eat. I will go back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best meal of the trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Spent a week sailing around the BVI and St. John and Foxy's Taboo was the best meal of trip. It's the only place to eat in Diamond Cay and well worth the visit by itself, but adding the additional visit to the bubbly pool, plus pretty decent snorkeling in the area makes this a not-to-miss stop in the BVI. Note, get there by early afternoon to ensure that you can get a mooring.

Anyway, the restaurant looks like you typical Caribbean beach place, large bar area and open air, but covered seating for probably 30-40. We made reservations and the restaurant if full on a Wednesday night, but later (by 8 or 8:30) many tables opened up.

Food was excellent. Several of us had fish and other tried the ribs. The fish, grouper, was perfectly cooked and served with well-prepared veggies. Other had the ribs which seemed to have been cooked in a molasses based sauce and cooked over real wood. Every loved them, and I tried one and thought they were quite tasty, but had a very different smoke flavor than what you'd expect from say US bbq. I imagine that's owing to the differences in the wood used as it's probably ridiculously expensive to get hardwood down there. Of course finished the meal with key lime pie which was excellent and nicely tart.

Service was fine, not spectacular, but didn't wait very long and everything came as ordered.

Regarding the few negative reviews, they all seem to be people complaining about the service. Seriously people, this is the Caribbean for god's sake. Things, thankfully, don't move as quickly as elsewhere. Just be patient for a second, order yourself a bushwacker and chill out. Eventually you'll get what you need.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foxy's Taboo Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
 
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Foxy's Taboo Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foxy's Taboo Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.