We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastle Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jost Van Dyke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandcastle Hotel
White Bay, Jost Van Dyke   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Jost Van Dyke
Ford City, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ultimate relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Sandcastle is a perfect combination of a relaxed atmosphere along side one of the most popular bars in the BVI, the Soggy Dollar. Lots of entertainment from 11 AM to 4 PM. Otherwise a quiet paradise with an exceptionally friendly staff and great food. A fifteen second walk to the beach at 7 AM with fresh coffee. What better way to start the day.

Room Tip: Need to book a year in advance. Only six rooms an lots of repeat customers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    12
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
53
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Super friendly staff, world class harbor and beach, good food, comfortable accommodations, best bar in the Virgin Islands, and perfect weather. Take sunscreen and use it...beware of Pain Killers...hike to Great Harbor...figure out what restaurant cooks what each night...the appetizers are as good as the meals at the hotel...super casual...boat people leave at night...enjoy quiet evenings.

Room Tip: we liked the two garden cottages, but the two beach cottages are best locations (sound of the surf t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I don't think the Sandcastle is for everyone. But I loved it. It's casual, and noisy during the day, and crazy. You are right next to the Soggy Dollar which is a wild place and not to be missed. The boats drop off their people about 11 am and then they stay till 4pm or so, drinking, sunning and having a great time. If you are staying at the Sandcastle, you are there in the early morning and could very well be the only person on the beach, ditto sunset. We would go running or hiking the hill behind the hotel in the morning. We had time to take an outdoor shower before breakfast. Then the serious sunbathing began. Watching the Superbowl down the beach as the waves rolled in was not to be missed. The staff is quite attentive, you gotta love Claire, and Blossom, and Mic and Sana. They are the best. The cottages are not fancy, but quite comfy. The other guests are friendly so if you are very shy it might not be the place for you. If you like to get to know people it's a wonderland.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We have been to Jost several times before, but this was our first stay at the Sandcastle. We had one of the Garden cottages-spacious, clean, comfortable, good ceiling fans (no AC in these, but didn't need it), and a 15 second walk to the beach. There is nothing like your waterfront first coffee of the day. Staff are friendly and helpful. They arranged for the taxi from the airport on Tortola to the West End ferry to Jost, which was really helpful.

Only caveat, which we knew about from our prior visits, is that the Soggy Dollar Bar is a HUGE draw for day trippers from Tortola and St. Thomas. They provide some entertainment for a bit, but if you want quiet beach time you will want to walk down the beach to park near Ivan's No Stress Bar. It is a short walk, you just need something on your feet for a short portion of the trek. We look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We have travelled to JVD and the Sandcastle every year for the past seven years and we'll do it again next year. We find it to be totally relaxing and refreshing. Yes, the beach gets crowded on some days, but so what? It's more free entertainment. The best part of the day starts at about 4 pm when the boats leave and the beach starts to get quiet. Then you really appreciate what a beautiful place this is and how cleansing the experience is.

The hotel is great. It's not luxurious, but all your needs are met. And how often do you get to live a half dozen steps from the beach? The staff is friendly and works to assure you are enjoying your vacation. Tina, the manager, is top notch. Every year when we go back we find there are new upgrades that have been made. No TV, no phone - that's what we like.

If you're looking for night life or a lot of action, you might think about someplace else, or at least plan to work hard to find it. But if you want a relaxing, comfortable vacation and you are happy to spend your time on a beautiful beach with great amenities all around you, this is your place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruz Bay, St. John
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Staff did everything to make our trip wonderful. Can't say enough on how great Lisa, Claire and all the staff are. This is a little slice of heaven on earth and the food was excellant. Total relaxation is what to expect when you stay. Very romantic feel also.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the beachfront cottage it was fantastic and what a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beverly, ma
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

It's tough to describe how beautiful this spot is. The hotel is absolutely breathtaking! Our cottage was so beautiful, way nicer than I had expected! Very spacious cottage, large bed, sofa, big bathroom with a beautiful outdoor shower!

Everyone who worked here were fantastic and very accommodating. The breakfasts, lunches and dinners were delicious! Loved the Veggie Burger :) If there is one downfall is that in the mornings and evening, the place is so peaceful and quiet , but around mid morning until late afternoon...the beach is packed with people from boat excursions, making it very very busy. But...we would just take a stroll down the beach and climb over the hill and park ourselves near Ivan's Campground and swim, snorkel and relax until people started to leave :)

They offer snorkel equipment, paddle boards, kayaks....it's great! We took the kayak one day and paddled over to Foxy's for some adult beverages..very fun!

This place offers one of the most relaxing vacations I think I've ever experienced! We will be back...for sure!! Thanks for the memories Sandcastle Hotel and Soggy Dollar Bar!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandcastle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Hotel

Address: White Bay, Jost Van Dyke
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Jost Van Dyke
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Jost Van Dyke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandcastle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sandcastle Hotel to your Saves list