We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Corsairs Beach Bar & Restaurant

Corsairs Beach Bar & Restaurant
Great Harbour | Jost Van Dyke, VG1160, Jost Van Dyke
+1 284-495-9294
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $68
Cuisines: Steakhouse, American, Seafood, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Okay, Vinnie (the owner) fancies himself quite the pirate. In keeping with this, he has done away with an actual menu and has only a chalkboard of selections, with no prices. Many, many people have been taken advantage of by this tactic. I mean assume you got one steak dinner and one pasta dinner and a few drinks. Would you expect a tab of over $330? Probably not, but that's what you'll get. Just ask the server for prices before you order, and maybe eliminate some sticker shock at the end.

With that disclaimer out of the way, I must say, the food here is excellent. Steamed mussels were divine. Pizza is their "specialty" and it is very good. I do recommend eating here, just "buyer beware".

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    70
    17
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
West Chester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant on JVD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

One of the things we look forward to on JVD is eating and experiencing Corsair's. We discovered it on our last trip and it was just as good this time around. We ate there 5 out of 8 nights, including New Years Eve and it was outstanding. This time we brought friends who were a bit tentative based on first views but became raving converts after the first meal. As usual, Vinny was the best host and accommodated anything we needed (including adding 3 people to the reservation on NYE at the last minute - and they were sold out). JR, the new chef does a great job with the food, whether it is pizza (awesome) or lobster and filets. He also will take any requests to make the dinner even better. If you have one meal on JVD, you have to go to Corsair's. If you have several meals on JVD, Corsairs should be your "go to" spot.

Also, the bar is a great place to hang out before or after dinner.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Don't miss dining here. Yes, dining. Food was impressive. From the calamari ceviche and amazing crab cakes as appetizers to the entrees of grouper, mahi, shrimp scampi, even one in our party wanted everyone to try his chicken Alfredo. Thank you Vinny for taking such good care of us!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food even better than last year!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Last year we ate at Corsairs every evening of our trip to Jost Van Dyke and twice for lunch- it was that good. We were committed to trying the other restaurants on Jost this year, yet we still came to Corsairs for 3 of our meals. We just couldn't stay away from the fabulous seafood platter, mussels, grouper and steaks. ALl of the entrees were better than we had remembered. Special thanks to Sharim for the amazing food and to Vinny for bringing him to your establishment this past year-WELL DONE!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Made a random stop here and were blown away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We were looking for a simple breakfast, and since I liked the tunes and our captain liked the Harley stickers, our party of 5 decided to stop here. Vinny was astounded we hadn't heard of the place, asked if we use the internet : - )
The conch fritters were superior to any that we'd had for a week, and my mahi sandwich was both bigger and better than the 4 I had tried at other places. My wife scarfed down her whole burger and said it was one of the best, ever.
Anyway, it's a place like this that inspires me to a) take a chance on a place, and b) write a favorable review.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corsairs Beach Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
 
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Corsairs Beach Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corsairs Beach Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.