We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Corsairs!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corsairs Beach Bar & Restaurant

Corsairs Beach Bar & Restaurant
Great Harbour | Jost Van Dyke, VG1160, Jost Van Dyke
+1 284-495-9294
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Florham Park, NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Loved Corsairs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We just returned from a 5 day trip to JVD. Absolutely loved the island. One of the best trips ever. The majority of restaurants served the same food (basically chicken, shrimp, ribs and some type of fried fish). You ordered your dinner when you made your reservation at 4Pm each day, which I did not love. The food was fine though and the locals were all nice. Then, we found Corsairs and loved it! The owner Vinny is great, the menu selection is large and you actually order your food after scanning the menu. Our waitress was great and a really sweet girl. Food was delicious and believe it or not, the pizza was fabulous! The bar gets a great crowd and the place is lively and just a lot of fun! Thanks Vinny and staff for the great time! We will be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    58
    15
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Texas
1 review
“Corsairs is the place....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Just returned from JVD after spending a week on the island. Went to the most "popular" beach restaurants/bars...Soggy Dollar...Foxy's, etc. But, it wasn't until we found Corsairs that we knew we had found "our" place. We ate there several times and everything was good. They even had oven cooked pizza that was as good as anything we've had in the islands. The lobster was good (get the 1 pounder), but my favorite lunch was the jerk chicken sandwich. Dare I say, better than in Jamaica? The owner Vinny is a jack of all trades...hard working and self reliant. Still, he has time for his customers...interesting with a sarcastic wit...we enjoyed his company. By the way, they don't tack on an automatic 17% gratuity that a certain "popular" place does. When my wife and I go back to JVD, Corsairs will be our 1st and last stop for meals.

Thanks for everything Vinny & staff!

Steve & Lee (from Texas)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
“BVI atmosphere with American (if not above) quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our trip to Jost wouldn't have been the same without finding the great atmosphere at Corsairs. During our trip we tried breakfast, lunch, and dinner all at Cosairs. The best dishes we had were the Thai lobster and the grouper, the food was far better than we expected to get in the BVI. A little secret is you can even get huge sushi boats if you order ahead. Since we've been back when ask what want for dinner I have repeatedly responded Corsairs.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberts Creek, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Good food, good service. But not as great as reviews would suggest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Based on trip advisor reviews we chose this restaurant over the other choices in great Harbour. We were a large group. Most of our meals were good; some were just average. The drinks at the bar were almost all alcohol, very little mixer, so if you like that you will be happy. Given that most of the meals served at beach bars in the BVIs are only average, this was a pleasant step up. Would not rave about it. Ambience much more laid back compared to Foxys.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Islip, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Resturant on Jost Van Dyke”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My wife, son and I were on Jost over New Years 2013. We had dinner several times at Corsairs and each time the experience was excellent. Vinny the owner is a great host and welcomes everyone. G the waitress and Roger in the kitchen make a great crew and you will not be disappointed with the food and service. We had Sushi one night and Roger did a tremdious job, it was a high end Sushi experience with creative rolls and awsome presentation. Corsairs also has the best pizza in the caribbean. Everyone has heard of a cheeseburger in paradise Corsars has pizzas in paradise.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corsairs Beach Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
 
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Corsairs Beach Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corsairs Beach Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.