We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not much to buy...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Christine's Bakery

Christine's Bakery
Great Harbour, Jost Van Dyke
(284) 495-9281
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 22 Restaurants in Jost Van Dyke
Restaurant details
Huntersville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“not much to buy...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Granted we got there late in the day, but I didn't really see much to buy - no one there so I think maybe we just were too late...

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    11
    4
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Globe trotter
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I would swim to shore for the coconut muffins and banana bread.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Any time I am anchored off JVD, I always go ashore early morning to grab some baked goods at Christine's. Over the past she has always had different things available because let's face it, this is the islands! Some standouts in my mind: wholewheat bread, coconut muffins and banana bread. When she sells out, she sells out and that is it so go early for best selection!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Forget it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Paltry choices. $10 loaf of bread. Not a smile within a mile. Not sure what this place is about. Don't count on it.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great bread make sure to ask for what you would like”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011 via mobile

Not the most friendliest of places but the warm wheat bread quickly made up for the lack of service. Worth a stop.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

I was surprised that JVD even had a bakery! I must say their croissants and muffins are delish and affordable comparing to other places on the island. It was a nice addition to our breakfast for the whole week we stayed on Jost.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christine's Bakery also viewed

Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
 
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Christine's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christine's Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.