We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Neddies Harbour Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Neddies Harbour Inn to your Saves list
Neddies Harbour Inn
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   7 Beach Road, Neddies Harbour | Box 232, Norris Point, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 3V0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Norris Point B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pasadena, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very special place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2008

We just returned from our stay at Neddie's Harbour Inn and can't say enough about it! The location is absolutely stunning, the rooms beautifully appointed and comfortable and the food delicious. It was an amazing place to return to after a long day of hiking or outdoor activities. The combination of the spectacular surroundings of Gros Morne National Park and the refined beauty of Neddie's Harbour Inn seemed almost too good to be true. Best of all, it seemed to be achieved in harmony with the community and the environment. We highly recommend Neddie's Harbour Inn!

  • Liked — Comfort and beauty
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    33
    9
    6
    0
See reviews for
16
96
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
warwick, England
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

We have just returned from touring in Atlantic and Maritime Canada and had the privilege of staying at Neddies Harbour Inn. It is just wonderful. The location is superb - on the waterfront of Bonne Bay with wonderful views. The atmosphere is very friendly and the service is excellent, always with a smile! The restaurant has stunning views and serves excellent freshly prepared food, bursting with flavour. There is a communal lounge with a selection of books and games which leads onto an outdoor verandah with views over the bay. Even binoculars are provided. Gros Morne is an area of outstanding beauty and we would recommend anyone to stay here when visiting this area.

  • Liked — tranquil location
  • Disliked — limited view of water from lower floor bedrooms
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

We have just returned from a lovely stay at the new Neddies Harbour Inn. It is a levely spot and fairly priced at Cdn 170 for peak season. The restaurant was splendid as well. It is a great way to enjoy the splendour of Gros Morne.

  • Liked — Friendly European boutique atmosphere
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2007

My wife and I briefly visited Gros Morne National Park (a Unesco world heritage location) in western Newfoundland a number of years ago, and found it to be one of the most spectacular places on earth, especially for those that like the outdoors. We hiked the mountain (6-8 hrs), and took the Western Brook Pond boat tour, but it seemed that the only type of accomodations available at that time were clean but very modest housekeeping cottages.

Last weekend (May 18-21), I was fortunate enough to be able to return to Gros Morne with my 13 year old son for 3 days of hiking and sea kayaking. The mountain path itself wasn't open (until July 1), the big boat tours weren't in the water yet, and the weather was wet and still cool, but we had a fantastic time anyway, through a combination of doing whatever we wanted to despite the weather (rain gear and layers are the key, even in summer), and the Neddie's Harbour Inn, a beautiful new inn that just opened on May 12th.

We had found it by chance over the internet, and it turned out to be one of the highlights of our trip. The owners, Bettina and Herbert, originally from Switzerland, have spent the last few years (and lots of $) creating a tiny perfect boutique hotel/inn right on Bonne Bay (an ocean inlet) in Norris Point, one of the towns that is completely surrounded by the national park, and it had just opened the week before we were going to arrive.

The rooms are beautiful and spacious, with hardwood floors and furniture, flat screen cable TV (appreciated by my son), a touch of Newfoundland quilting on the beds, and views over the bay. There is also a lounge on the second floor that anyone can use, for an even more spectacular view, as the inn is right on the water's edge. When my son (or maybe it was me) did finally get worn out from all the hiking and kayaking, it was a great place to relax and while away an afternoon, reading and watching the rain (which is that much more enjoyable if one is in beautiful surroundings).

There is also a first class restaurant (? the first in the park?), with sparkling new china and linens (modern with a European flare), and great food, with a local chef.

Prices were a little higher than what one would pay for a local housekeeping cottage e.g. our room was $155 Cdn (~$140 US these days) plus tax in the 'shoulder-season' (vs $100-120 for a cottage), but a gourmet breakfast was included, which was probably worth $50 itself.

Dinner was $80-100 for 2, without wine, but for a couple or a small family that appreciates a bit of luxury, beautiful surroundings, attentive service, etc., this place makes the trip even more special, although Gros Morne is worth visiting no matter where you stay.

For a family that has more children, and wants to make their own meals to save money, there is no question that a 2 BR housekeeping cottage would make more financial sense, but if you fit the profile, don't miss Neddie's Harbour Inn.

GS, Toronto, Ontario, Canada,

PS Although I know that this review sounds too perfect, I had never even heard of the hotel or the owners before our trip. However, as we loved our stay so much, and the place is virtually unknown because it is brand new, I wanted to post this review to let everyone know about this very special spot. If my suspicion is correct, within a year, it will be very difficult to ever get a room here in high season.

Re local hikes, tours, restaurants, etc., that info is all available on the internet or at the park visitor centres, but in the off-season, but I would especially recommend the Green Gardens hike (rain or shine), the Tablelands hike, Gros Morne Adventures in Norris Point for sea kayaking (rain or shine) or major hikes (1-5 days), the Java Jacks restaurant in Rocky Harbour for dinner (the hotel restaurant was full one night for a festival dinner), and the Treasure Box in Rocky Harbour for a cheap and cheerful home-made lunch (including mooseburgers if you're adventurous!), plus getting to meet some of the local residents.

Fly in to Deer Lake and rent a car, or there are ferries from Maine and Nova Scotia, although that involves a lot more driving (but it's worth it). Try not to drive late at night, or go very slowly, or you will have a high risk of hitting a moose.

Well, that's about all, but bravo again to Herbert and Bettina for creating such a beautiful inn within Gros Morne, and I hope everyone goes to visit.

  • Liked — Clean, new, tasteful, luxury in the midst of spectacular natural scenery/geography
  • Disliked — Rooms generally have one large bed or two singles. Therefore not as good a value with more than 1 or 2 kids i.e. if multiple rooms are needed.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Neddies Harbour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neddies Harbour Inn

Address: 7 Beach Road, Neddies Harbour | Box 232, Norris Point, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 3V0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Norris Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Norris Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Neddies Harbour Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Neddies Harbour Inn is a small boutique hotel, located on the waterfront of Bonne Bay in Norris Point, Newfoundland, Canada, right in the heart of Gros Morne National Park. Our tranquil location right on the water frond of Bonne Bay fjord will reward you with breathtaking vistas to the Bay and the mountains. At Neddies Harbour Inn you will discover first class service and accommodations. Enjoy our fine dining and careful attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Neddies Harbour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neddies Harbour Hotel Norris Point
Neddies Harbour Inn Norris Point, Newfoundland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neddies Harbour Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.