We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Garden Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Norris Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Garden Cottages
Save
You added Big Garden Cottages to your Saves list
Park House Road | P.O Box 173, Norris Point, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Gravenhurst
1 review
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed in cottage #4 for 9 nights and felt right at home. The cottage was very clean and the mattresses were new and provided a good nights sleep after hiking the nearby trails. Dora provided the friendly down east hospitality that made our stay more enjoyable. We especially appreciated that our Wheaton puppy Mya was more than welcome here. Lastly the location is perfect for exporing Gros Morne National Park and we really enjoyed returning to the cottage at the end of the day, sitting on the two Muskoka chairs with refreshments in hand to enjoy the view.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Honestly, I don’t understand why Big Garden Cottages was given such a high rating on this site. The cottages are clean, but they have just the basics and nothing else, no character at all. Only one small pack of coffee is provided along with 4 coffee filters and sugar (just enough for the length of our stay). There are no basics (butter, oil, etc.) for cooking and the utensils are quite limited. Don’t even think of cooking lobster there since you won’t find any lobster crackers. The cottages are supposed to accommodate 4 people, but if you are traveling with another couple, you’ll find that the double beds are not suitable for two people unless you are very short and tiny. The only positive aspect of our stay there was the moose that visited the property at night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

This was the first place we stayed out of three places while on holidays, and by far our favorite. The place was great and the views spectacular! Nice evening walks along the water. Very quiet town. The cabin was very clean, very roomy, and we all slept very well. There was a bbq and a firepit. The owners were difficult to reach, and we never did get a hair dryer, but we made do. Had a great time at Western Brook Pond boat tour, and did some hiking on many of the close by trails. Fairly close to amentities, such as stores, but need to drive. Overall good location within Gros Morne park and very clean. We would return!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

we stayed one week in cabin # 5 in late September of this year, 2011, and we loved it, quiet clean and with great views, a good location to day trip to Western Brook Pond, the Tablelands, and many features within a couple of hours of this location.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

This place is fantastic. Located across from Neddie's Harbour with the Tablelands as a backdrop. Both sunrise and sunset views were spectacular. The cabin was very clean, very roomy and well equipped. It was quiet at night and we slept well. There was even a BBQ for grilling fresh fish that you can buy from the local fish market in Rocky Harbour. We stayed for 5 nights and it was a great home base for exploring all of Gros Morne. You can stroll along the rocky beach at low tide. Norris Point was a lovely little town that was hard to leave. If you are there on a Saturday - stop by the Cat Stop Pub to listen to a local muscian play outside in the sunshine. Will most certainly return to Big Garden Cottages when we visit Gros Morne again.

Room Tip: Cabin 3 had a great view out the living room window and the deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Big Garden Cottages are simply wonderful. We always stay in Cottage #5. The view is excellent. The cottage is immaculate. This cottage has one room with a brand new queen size bed and another with a double. The bathroom has a super soaker tub with shower. The cottage is equipped with all you need for a great stay. The cottage is quiet and very private. We would highly recommend staying here and highly recommend Cottage #5. Big Garden Cottages are central to everything. Dora is a wonderful, gracious host who will help you with all your needs for sight seeing and dining. Just finished our 3rd time back to Newfoundlandand. We stayed at Big Garden Cottages each time. Looking forward to our next visit. In our opinion, Big Garden Cottages is the BEST place to stay in Gros Morne.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011 via mobile

Beautiful location, great view from our cabin (#5), clean. Very noisy bed (squeaky). Dora was very welcoming, brought us a pot to cook lobster and pan to fry up Cod, partridge berries to try. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sdecker123, Owner at Big Garden Cottages, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Hello
I would like to inform you, as well as everyone else, the "squeaky bed" situation has been rectified. New beds have been put into the Cottage.
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Garden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Garden Cottages

Address: Park House Road | P.O Box 173, Norris Point, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Norris Point
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Norris Point
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Big Garden Cottages Norris Point, Newfoundland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Garden Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.