We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Justin Thyme bean and bistro

Justin Thyme bean and bistro
216 Main Street, Norris Point, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador a0k3v0, Canada
+1 709-458-2326
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Justin Thyme Bean and Bistro offers a great coffee and tea selection , a full lunch menu and it features a black board supper menu that changes every day we can and do accommodate all diaetry requests
Whitby, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Delicious Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We were staying in the Gros Morne/Rocky Harbour area and one day headed over to Norris Point and saw a restaurant named Justin Thyme Bean & Bistro. We went in for lunch and the waitress was friendly and our services was very prompt. The food was so delicious our only regret was seeing the dinner being written on the blackboard we could not be there to enjoy dinner. The soup, salad, and sandwich were made with fresh ingredients and were some of the best we have tasted. I would recommend this place to anyone visiting the Gros Morne area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    30
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We really loved our experience at this restaurant! Appetizers - mussels in a pesto cream sauce, baked Brie, Thai shrimp, scallops. Mains - cod with a blueberry balsamic sauce, beef tenderloin with lobster craquelins. All excellent! Desserts were good but not our fav. However at $6 (including tea of coffee) well worth the indulgence.

Half the price of the Fogo Island Inn but twice the taste!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Rather Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Despite being highly recommended by our B&B host we found this restauramt fell below expectations. The food was not great - Halibut was overcooked and dry, and pricey as well. The Pad Thai was also disappointing and even used the incorrect noodles for this dish.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We had ate here after receiving various recommendations by locals around. Upon arival the place seemed very busy and crowed but we were very quickly seen to and seated. The waitress did a great job and was very friendly. We ordered mussels as an app and they were AMAZING!!! Best I have ever had. We followed the lovely meal with a halibut dinner and some sort of pasta, both which were out of this world. I had definitely enjoyed the time there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Walk out Chef”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My boyfriend and I brought his parents (from Ontario here on vacation) to the bistro last night after spending the day in Gros Morne. My boyfriend has been raving about this place for months so we were all very excited. We started out the night at a great pace. The server, a young student, was very sweet and welcoming, quick to take our order. After we placed our appetizer order she came over, very upset, explaining the chef had left due to personal issues and that the boy working in the kitchen could only cook the mussels and shrimp, which by the way were phenomenal. She started to cry telling us that everything was on the house. We understood her situation but were very disappointed. She brought over extra apps and was very helpful and sweet. She hands down held that place together with the kitchen boy. To them, we tip our hats. To the owner, we understand everyone has things to deal with but to leave your staff in a situation like that is really disappointing. We were very excited to try the main meals. Unfortunately we will not be returning as we don't want to be dissappointed again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinLynn, Owner at Justin Thyme bean and bistro, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Im glad you got to enjoy your appetizers , however as the owner i made a split second decision to either deal with my own medical condition or to serve you sub par food , I'm sorry you won't be returning to try the full experience. and yes the staff did more then was asked of them that night , they were told to close the bistro down and to not serve anyone else , and to give what was already served on the house for the misfortune that i was experincing , I'm glad that the staff did everything they could to try and accommodate you in a situation that was far from ideal. the fact that you suggest i would walk out on my staff, for a personal issue is insulting to me, when you don't know the whole story and only see the dust jacket its easy to make assumptions .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Justin Thyme bean and bistro also viewed

Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
Norris Point, Gros Morne National Park
 
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
Norris Point, Gros Morne National Park
 

Been to Justin Thyme bean and bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Justin Thyme bean and bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.