We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Justin Thyme bean and bistro

Justin Thyme bean and bistro
216 Main Street, Norris Point, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador a0k3v0, Canada
+1 709-458-2326
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: The Justin Thyme Bean and Bistro offers a great coffee and tea selection , a full lunch menu and it features a black board supper menu that changes every day we can and do accommodate all diaetry requests
Gros Morne National Park, Canada
Top Contributor
275 reviews 275 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
526 helpful votes 526 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We drove down from Cow Head with friends to have dinner.It is worth the 40 minute scinic drive.The main menu had only four items and the steak had run out.We had three orders of Mussels which are great.
Two people had the turbot au gratin which was a twist on the standard Newfoundland Au gratin recipe and both enjoyed the fish offering.
I had the Caribbean jerk chicken it was a small breast of chicken and when Jason says hot take the warning, I enjoy hot and spicy food and this was smoking hot!!! and so very good.
My wife had the pasta chicken which she thoroughly enjoyed.
The offering are slightly to the smaller side but everything is excellent, service from lynn was excellent.
Two beers,3 orders muscles, plus a pilaf appetizer, 4 entrees and two take home to die for brownies $140.00 so a good deal for great food with great service. We hope to visit again this summer if we can sneak away for a dinner.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    30
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gros Morne National Park, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“MMMMMMM MUSSELS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stopped in for supper on Thursday evening and had the best mussels I have ever had in my life! We're still trying to figure out Justins' 'secret ingredient'. The atmosphere is wonderful, the food is spectacular and we will definitely be back... Moving from Ontario to Rocky Harbour in a few weeks and look forward to this being our 'night out' destination.
Keep up the great work,,, I'm so happy that we'll be in your neighbourhood.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“JimMc1942”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Great spot to eat when visiting Rocky Harbour NL on the occasion of the Trails, Tales and Tunes Festival. Much appreciated the table visit by the owner/operator /chef. Great presentation of Caesar Salad!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, B.C.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Delicious food, attractive place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Eat here. Try the mussels, they are to die for. Everything is delicious. The hosts/owners/chef Lynn and Justin are friendly and welcoming. Things flow smoothly along. Our meals were well prepared and piping hot. Save room for dessert ... when you see them being delivered to other tables, you will just have to have some too.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Excellent meal in Norris Point”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

My husband and I had a great meal on our last night here. We had duck and the tenderloin - so good! It was very busy on a Friday night so make reservations!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Justin Thyme bean and bistro also viewed

Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
 
Norris Point, Gros Morne National Park
Norris Point, Gros Morne National Park
 

Been to Justin Thyme bean and bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Justin Thyme bean and bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.