We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tides Inn

The Tides Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Norris Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tides Inn
Save
You added The Tides Inn to your Saves list
P O Box 10, Norris Point, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 3V0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Norris Point B&B and Inns
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beyond Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed here for 3 nights and every thing was A-OK. Large, clean rooms with great beds. Fantastic view. Karen provided all the info we needed to have a great stay. Flat screen TV and free WI-FI. Great coffee and muffins. Location can't be beat. Just stay there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We had the good fortune to stay at the Tides Inn at Norris Point twice, on the way up to and back from L’Anse aux Meadows. Above and beyond the “fabulousity” of our large, beautiful room with its astounding view of water, boats and distant peaks of Gros Morne National Park, was the kindness, graciousness, and personalized attention of our innkeeper, Karen. Following a long, tiring car ride to get to the Tides Inn, and after taking one look at the room, the terrace, and view, we decided to dine in that evening. Karen purchased for us in town perfectly cooked lobsters and wine. She also took care of our laundry accumulated from a week’s travels in Canada. On our return visit, Karen gave us great suggestions for dining in Norris Point as well as other parts of the Park the day we left. We deeply appreciated everything she did to make our stay memorable. We also enjoyed meeting (and running into twice more), a lovely family from California also staying at the inn on our return visit. We certainly would love to re-visit the area on another vacation and highly recommend the Tides Inn to other visitors.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms are huge and have fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed only one night on our return from the Northern Peninsula but we will definitely plan to go back again when we can stay longer. Immaculate, well appointed accommodation. Super comfy bed with nice linens. Very nice deck with great view of marina and harbour. Would be great base location for touring the beautiful Gros Morne area.

Room Tip: all rooms have view and deck. This is a relatively new building so it is very modern and I think any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed here for one night and wished it was longer. The owners, Karen and Randy just opened this year and are wonderful and accommodating hosts. The rooms are lovely - we had a king suite upstairs with a lovely balcony - huge room with lots of sitting room, jacuzzi in tub, fridge with treats for us - juice boxes, muffins and yogurt. Coffee maker with supplies and wine glasses. Lovely areas for walking. You can walk into town and take the water taxi over to Woody Harbour. Thanks Karen and Randy for a lovely stay - Ken and Sandy from Kitchener

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tides Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Inn

Address: P O Box 10, Norris Point, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 3V0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Norris Point
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Norris Point
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Tides Inn Norris Point, Newfoundland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tides Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.