We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bonne Bay Marine Station” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bonne Bay Marine Station

Bonne Bay Marine Station
1 Clarkes Lane, Norris Point, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 3V0, Canada
7094582550
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A world-class research and teaching facility, the Bonne Bay Marine Station on Newfoundland's breath-taking west coast is dedicated to expanding knowledge of marine ecology. Take an interactive tour of our aquarium and observe some of the marine plants and animals living in Bonne Bay. We will introduce you to fragile marine plankton, the "saltwater soup" of our oceans. Get your hands wet among the sea stars, coralline algae, hermit crabs, and other curious creatures living in our ever popular touch tank. Storyboards, underwater footage, and interactive displays inform visitors about our latest research endeavors. Tours are provided by knowledgeable, friendly, student interpreters, and are approximately 45 minutes in duration.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bonne Bay Marine Station”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My visit here was very informative. I thought I had a reasonably good understanding of the ocean environment, but the guide here was very knowledgeable and personable. Very solid knowledge of the local area.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    15
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“So glad we had a rainy day and took in this wonderful aquarium”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We did the guided tour and learned a lot about the marine life in Bonne Bay and Newfoundland. This small lab/aquarium is a beautiful facility manned by interns from the local university. Do take the time to visit this site which would be appropriate for all ages.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“How to learn things the fun way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The two of us and one very knowledgeable student as our guide, spent a very enjoyable first stop of the day here. An ideal way to painlessly learn about the marine life in this part of the world.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“This was an exceptional facility - do not miss this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This is an amazing attraction. Our visit was highlighted by a guided tour by a young Memorial University student who was extremely knowledgeable. She was also very articulate and able to provide some rather complex information in a very accessible manner to a group of all ages. The highlight was the opportunity for hands on activities. We got to hold starfish, sea urchins and crabs. Definitely allow at least two hours to see the entire venue.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Don't Miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Great insight into the marine ecology of the area. Exceptional student guides share their knowledge and passion. Well worth an hour or so of your time in Gros Morne

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonne Bay Marine Station also viewed

Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland
 
Trout River, Gros Morne National Park
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
 

Been to Bonne Bay Marine Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonne Bay Marine Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.