We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good views,” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Spruce Restaurant

The Black Spruce Restaurant
Box 232, Norris Point, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 3V0, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $18 - $35
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
St Johns,
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“good views,”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were staying here and the restaurant was the easiest pallce to eat after a day walking and sight seeing. It may have be my palate but I found that most items were over seasoned with either salt for if a potatoe dish, white pepper. Presentation was good as was the portion size. The wine selection is quite good and well priced. I did think that it was a little overpriced, however you are also paying for some wonderful views. Although when we went they are starting to wind down as it is towards the end of the season, the staff were very helpfull and friendly. Every day there was a "catch of the day" special

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atcanad, Manager at The Black Spruce Restaurant, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry that our seasoning wasn't to your taste and we would have been happy to prepare you another. I'm glad you enjoyed our setting, thank you for dining with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    11
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Tasty dinner in beautiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The restaurant has a small menu. The dishes were very tasty and well presented. Rather pricey; however, if you compare to some other restaurants in the area, which are terribly over-priced, even by big city standards, then the Black Spruce doesn't seem unreasonable. The setting is stunning.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atcanad, Manager at The Black Spruce Restaurant, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your review and for dining with us. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your dinner and our setting, it is a beautiful space.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

It's a lovely place. But pricey... and small portions. Service is great.
Family of four (2 adults 2 children $200.00) FYI
There is better food and at a more reasonable cost in the area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atcanad, Manager at The Black Spruce Restaurant, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to read that you felt our prices to be a little high, however an average of $50 per person is reasonable for fine dining. We are very comparable to similar restaurants in the area. I am happy to know that you were pleased with our service, thank you for dining with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Neddies Harbour had by far the most beautiful view I have ever seen in a hotel. You can sit out on their patio or their sun room forever just looking out into the bay. The rooms are clean and has everything you need. It is not the fancies place I've ever stayed at, but it is certainly very well appointed. We didn't try the restaurant, which I heard was very good, but I do recommend staying there for a few nights and just forget about all your worries.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atcanad, Manager at The Black Spruce Restaurant, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. You are certainly right about that view, it does have a way of helping you forget any worries you might have. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklin, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Dinner with a View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stopped here for dinner, service was friendly and helpful. Food was exceptional. We all had beef tenderloin which was very good. They had very good appetizers and desserts. The one drawback was that they were out of scallops, which we had seen earlier in the day as a special. Would recommend for the ambiance and the view.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atcanad, Manager at The Black Spruce Restaurant, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I'm so happy that you had the opportunity to dine with us and that you enjoyed your experience. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't get to try the scallops, I'm sure they would have been delicious! Thank you for dining with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Spruce Restaurant also viewed

Norris Point, Gros Morne National Park
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
 
Norris Point, Gros Morne National Park
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
 

Been to The Black Spruce Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Spruce Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.