We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute, Comfy, Cozy, Clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gros Morne Cabins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gros Morne Cabins to your Saves list
Gros Morne Cabins
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   66 Main Street | P. O. Box 151, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4N0 , Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Fort McMurray, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Cute, Comfy, Cozy, Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We travelled from St. Lawrence, NFLD to Gros Morne. We had reservations and made the drive across the island. We arrived late and needed to rest. Our cabin was ready for us and check in was a breeze. We called and the lady directed us to the nearest grocery store where we stocked up on food & booze. The rooms were small but cute! 4 of us stayed comfortably in our cabin. We utilized the BBQ, fire pit, on site store and hiking trails. We had a wonderful time and would return to these cabins again without question. Great value for your dollar.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    34
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
25
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trenton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Although not an ocean front cabin (as not available at time of booking), the 2 bedroom cabin was roomy, clean & like new inside and out! The beds were comfortable & both had homemade quilts, with new bedspreads. I would definitely recommend these cabins to others who are travelling to Rocky Harbour but ocean front would be my preference!

Room Tip: Request cabins on the ocean front as the view would be exceptional!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Spent one night in a duplex cabin. Like it is mentioned in a previous comment, the duplex cabins can be pretty noisy. Our neighbours were not too noisy but you can hear people walking or talking easily. Other than that, we liked the location. Cabin was very clean. wi-fi was working perfectly. We hate at Earl's across the street and it was pretty good. I would go there again but would rather have a single cabin than a duplex cabin.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Three of us stayed for 5 nights in a 2 bedroom cabin. It was the perfect place to stay for exploring Gros Morne. Looking out over the ocean in the back and toward the mountains in the front. The cabin was clean, comfortable and well appointed. We cooked 2 nights on the gas grill and ate at our own picnic table watching a fabulous sunset! One grilled dinner was beautiful fresh fish from the market down the street. The staff at the office/store were friendly and helpful with good tips about things to do and more. The store had lots of groceries, great clothes, and much more.

We hope to go back to Gros Morne someday and will absolutely stay at Gros Morne Cabins.

Room Tip: Make sure you are on the water and you will love it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

These cabins are very cute and cozy they are right on the ocean. You can see the light house in the distance. Take a hike there and sit in the red chairs. The cabins are next to a great convenience store that has everything from groceries to clothing. There are many fantastic restaurants in the area as well. It was so great to see the staff hanging their sheets to dry and blowing in the wind. The cabins have everything you need from pots and pans, dishes and coffee maker. We went just a couple minutes away and bought lobster for an amazing price and boiled it in water from the ocean. The flavour was like no other I've ever tasted.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Quaint nice little cabins, not a five star hotel but certainly met our expectations. We had an ocean view and could park next to our cabin. bbq available next to each cabin to use.Very clean, kudos to whomever does the housekeeping. Brand new tub surround in the bathroom. Cabins had everything you could possibly need, if not, lots of supplies available at the store. Very close to the fish market down the end of the road. Would be nice if they put in a playground or some equipment for the kids, only grass on back of the cabins and two old wooden swings, not much fun. Wifi was hit or miss. Earle's across the street had a great ice cream bar and homemade sweets. great place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We would not return to Gros Morne Cabins nor would we recommend it for anyone else.

We booked our spot back in January - surely one of the first to do so - and were shocked to find that we were assigned to one of the duplex cabins. There is nothing on the website to indicate that some cabins are inferior to others (at the same cost) and clearly they are not given out on a first come first serve basis (you must need insider information). The duplexes are terrible - the noise carries as clearly as if the people are in the room with you. We were fortunate that for two of our nights the other guests were quiet but on our third night the residents returned late a night and proceeded to talk - loudly - until the wee hours of the morning.

We had asked for an ocean view and were assured that "all cabins have an ocean view." That is really stretching it, as our cabin looked out at fir trees with small bits of blue visible between them. The Internet connection was terrible. When we checked in the woman said she hoped the Internet would work as she thought they should probably replace the routers. The man quipped up that he had just checked the routers and they worked perfectly. Of course, this is the same man that claimed all cabins have an ocean view.

The cabin was seriously dated - circa 1960 (except for the tub surround which has been replaced). While it was very clean (full points to whoever is in charge of this) you can only make decades-old flooring and laminate so attractive. The bed was very soft and uncomfortable. At the prices charged, there is no excuse not to upgrade the place.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gros Morne Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gros Morne Cabins

Address: 66 Main Street | P. O. Box 151, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4N0 , Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Gros Morne National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gros Morne Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gros Morne Cabins are located amidst the scenic beauty of Western Newfoundland, Canada, in the heart of Gros Morne National Park. We're a cozy and picturesque property nestled along the waterfront offering spectacular view of the ocean. Open year round to provide you with first class accommodation, truly a home away from home. "My favorite thing about the Gros Morne Cabins? Pulling up and seeing the long lines of freshly laundered sheets billowing in the sea breeze, like a Christo installation." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Gros Morne Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gros Morne Cabins Hotel Gros Morne National Park
Gros Morne Hotel
Gros Morne Resort
Gros Morne Cabins Newfoundland
Gros Morne Cabins Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gros Morne Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.