We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BlueWater Lodge & Retreat

BlueWater Lodge & Retreat
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewisporte
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
BlueWater Lodge & Retreat
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Lewisporte, Newfoundland and Labrador A0G 3A0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

We decided to stay at this property for one night at the last minute as we were driving through Newfoundland. It's a nice, quiet place, as the name implies, just off the Trans Canada highway near a large lake. There are canoes available for use and hiking trails nearby (although the mosquitos were so awful we abandoned hiking before long). Our room was cozy and small, with beautiful wood furnishings. No bath tub, shower only.

We did not get to eat dinner there as apparently you need to make a reservation 24 hrs in advance -- instead we went to a restaurant called The Bistro about 30 min away which I would highly recommend. The breakfast was yummy and our hosts were welcoming. We enjoyed a nice evening playing board games in the sitting area.

I thought it was a bit expensive for what we got but overall, a very pleasant place.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

Bluewater Lodge is peacefully located at the end of a long gravel drive on the shores of a lake. We heard loons calling at night, and enjoyed song birds feeding outside our window in the morning. We had a flat tire on our rental car during our stay, and our hosts at the lodge made sure we had every thing we needed to get it repaired. We did not eat dinner during our stay at the lodge, but the breakfasts were fabulous. The location is convenient to Twillingate and Gander. We stayed at 6 different locations while in Newfoundland, and this was by the far the best.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
426 helpful votes 426 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

The lodge is located not far from Gander and is a great place to overnight if you're faced with the 10-hour drive from L'Anse aux Meadows to St John's. The lodge is located about 1.5 km from the TransCanada highway but if you get a room facing away from the road you won't hear any traffic. The rooms are light and well-aired (there are no TVs). We bought the dinner, bed and breakfast package and ate some of the best food on our vacation in Newfoundland. We started with a garden salad and then moved on to a perfectly cooked salmon steak. Dessert was a delicious sponge cake covered with local berries. Afterwards we retired to the large sitting room upstairs and enjoyed a game of Scrabble as the sun set. There are a number of board games on offer and an extensive library. The only drawback was the slight lack of insulation between the rooms, which meant we were jolted out of our deep sleep at 6:30 am when our neighbour's alarm clock went off. In general, though, we had a great time.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

Our hosts were warm and helpful. I loved the comfort and peacefulness of the location and how we immediately settled into the gentleness of this special place. Meals were a treat, we had dinner as well as breakfast, be sure to schedule at least one dinner the lodge. The rooms were spotless and had averything we needed. Comfortable beds and toiletries. I would love to return again and stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowichan Bay
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2008

This is a wonderful place with accommodating hosts and excellent food. They make one feel very welcome to share their lodge. Can't say enough about it. We spent 3 nights there and would do it again.

  • Liked — The ambience and the food.
  • Disliked — No Queen beds.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for two nights during a 10 day tour of newfoundland. It can only be described as paradise! You literally drive about a mile down a gravel track directly off the Trans Canadian Highway and this wooden lodge appears at the end of it. Superb accomodation on the edge of a large lake with peace and tranquility guaranteed. Superb hospitality and homemade cooking. Only ten minutes from Lewisporte and ideal for touring the Twillingate area. If you are extremly lucky you could be the only ones there as we found we were on our first night, according to the owners it is not very busy during summer months.

  • Liked — paradise setting
  • Disliked — mosquitos outside
  • Tips/Secrets — get there before everybody knows about it
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BlueWater Lodge & Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlueWater Lodge & Retreat

Address: Lewisporte, Newfoundland and Labrador A0G 3A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Lewisporte
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty lodging in Lewisporte
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BlueWater Lodge & Retreat 3.5*
Also Known As:
BlueWater Lodge & Retreat Lewisporte, Newfoundland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BlueWater Lodge & Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added BlueWater Lodge & Retreat to your Saves list