We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Georgie's Restaurant

Georgie's Restaurant
3 Path End, Twillingate, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada (Formerly Georgie's at the Anchor Inn)
+1 709-884-2777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 17 restaurants in Twillingate
Price range: $9 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Enjoy casual dining with a view of Twillingate Harbour at Georgie's Restaurant. Choose from a large selection of fresh seafood including cod, salmon, scallops, mussels and lobster. Have dinner before a show, or relax and connect with friends & family. Local food with a modern twist on traditional recipes and ingredients. Breakfast: 7:30am-10:00am Dinner: 5:30pm-8:30pm Reservations accepted for groups of 7 or more. We look forward to seeing you this summer!
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Better than expected.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

For a small town with limited access to supplies and experienced staff they did great. Food was excellent applies and main. Wine was a nice South African Sav Blanc. Small wine list that needs to be expanded. Great view. Very friendly staff. $120 with cocktails, bottle of wine, 2 applies and 2 mains.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    44
    23
    6
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Actually 3.5 stars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

food was ok ... service was ok for a diner. There just wasn't a lot of pride. A good attempt on traditional Newfoundland grub but for $140 for 2 it just wasn't great or worth it ... we should have tried R & J's.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Georgie's Restaurant, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Georgie's Restaurant. You do not mention how many guests dined in your group or how many courses or beverages it included so it is a bit hard for me to judge what you base your price comment on. Our menu is online and has Newfoundland ingredients but would not be classified as traditional Newfoundland food. Twillingate has a number of lovely places to dine during summer and I hope you visit again and try more of them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Botwood NL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Highlight of our visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

What a delightful surprise. We've visited Twillingate frequently over the past 6 years with mixed (mostly average) restaurant experiences. The new ownership deserves full marks for taking the dining experience in Twillingate to the top. We're pleased and proud to treat our guests with good food, good service and especially the Newfoundland wines. Well done. See you again often.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Georgie's Restaurant, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you for such a heartwarming endorsement! We are fortunate too, to have unique local wines, fresh seafood and local chocolate truffles to inspire our menus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great food, good price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The new owners really know what they are doing!! The menu selection is great for all taste buds... from red curry mussels to your classic fish and chips, there is something for everybody. The prices are definitely reasonable and are on par with other similar restaurants. The service is wonderful, our favourite server is Kim... she is so personable and so efficient! It is so nice to have the option to dine out in rural newfoundland and get excellent food made from fresh ingredients versus going to the regular grease box where it is hard to get something that is NOT deep fried! Keep up the good work!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilma H, Owner at Georgie's Restaurant, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you! We appreciate that you took the time to write a review. The mussels are a personal favourite too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twillingate, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

This place has changed drastically since under new ownership.
Don't let stories of past sway you. The new owners are constantly improving and new chef, koodles to Deborah & Wilma

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilma H, Owner at Georgie's Restaurant, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you for your lovely feedback. Our two new chefs and their team are certainly creating a lot of culinary happiness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Georgie's Restaurant also viewed

 
Twillingate, Newfoundland
 

Been to Georgie's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georgie's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.