We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor Inn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Anchor Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Anchor Inn Hotel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3 Path End, Twillingate, Newfoundland and Labrador A0G 4M0, Canada (Formerly Anchor Inn Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Twillingate
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newfoundland,
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We drove to Twillingate and took a chance on finding somewhere to stay. The Anchor Inn Hotel certainly surprised us. It was clean and comfortable and very quiet. We really enjoyed our stay there.
The dining room wasn't open for breakfast but they brought us a boxed breakfast the night before so we had something to eat before taking in a fantastic hike.
We had our evening meal at their restaurant "Georgie's" and we were very suprised to discover a lovely fine dining experience. The food and atmosphere was very pleasant.
We would stay at the Anchor Inn and would love to dine in their restaurant again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilma H, Owner at Anchor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay at the Anchor Inn Hotel! Of course we'll make sure you have the fuel to enjoy Twillingate's many hikes - so glad you did!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    29
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
44
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I've spent the last couple of years doing a lot of travelling, both for work and for pleasure. I stayed at The Anchor several times during 2013 for business but the staff of The Anchor and the town itself made my business trips there a real personal pleasure. Many thanks to Deborah, Wilma and the rest of the gang at The Anchor for showing us a such a good time. The rooms were comfortable and clean, the food was good and we really couldn't have asked for better customer service. Hope to be back in 2014!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilma H, Owner at Anchor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thanks so much for your great review! We are keeping fingers crossed that your team will be back this year too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I have lived in Newfoundland all my life, but visited Twillingate for the first time this September. My friend and I were having a girlfriends getaway which included both Twillingate and Fogo Island.

From the minute we walked through the doors of the inn we were given warm and friendly customer service. Wilma, one of the owners of the inn took the time to answer all my questions about hiking trails and even printed off a map with the trail for my use. She also made a lot of other great suggestions of museums, wineries, ice cream shops and so on that I would be passing to get to each trail. She obviously did not want me to miss anything. Her passion about the area made me even more excited to be there.

We were then given keys to our room which had obviously just seen some nice updates. The beds were really comfortable with clean white bedspreads, the floors were wooden and the walls were freshly painted with a calming blue. We even had a view of the water. It really felt like being in a boutique hotel. After taking a nap that went on for way too long (did I mention how comfortable the beds were? Also the room darkening blinds really work) we set off for a hike around French Head. It was a fairly easy hike with beautiful views of cliffs and coastline. We also drove up to the lighthouse where we were told another great hike was, but we figured we did not have time so after a few photos of the lighthouse itself we returned to the inn to eat at the restaurant Georgie's.

The meal was fantastic and the service was fast, warm and professional. I would certainly recommend eating there even if you are not staying at the Anchor Inn.

While eating dinner, the other owner, Deborah, told us all about Twillingate's amazing sunrises and even gave us to-go cups and creamers just in case we wanted to make coffee in our room really early and take it out to watch the sunrise, they also recommended the perfect spot to watch it from.

To finish off the night we went to their downstairs bar. It was a really pleasant space to be in and the bartender was more than happy to talk to us. They also have Quidi Vidi Beer on tap!

We missed the sunrise the next morning (once again I will blame it on the comfortable beds) and enjoyed a well assorted continental breakfast that consisted of bagels, pastries, muffins, cereals fresh fruit and yogurt. Hot breakfast was an option but I found the general spread to be more than enough and a steal at roughly $7 for all of it.

I travel a fair bit and have stayed in every kind of accommodation imaginable. I have to say that these ladies and their staff understand the needs of the guest. I did not feel like I had just booked a room at the inn, but instead an overall experience. I spoke with Deborah and Wilma quite a bit about their experience of buying the hotel a few years ago in a fairly rundown state and transforming it into the accommodation they envisioned. What they have pulled off so far in such a short time is quite inspiring and they are very aware of the areas that still require attention and have some great ideas in the works. I can't wait to see where they will take it.

My only disappointment was that we had only given ourselves one day in Twillingate, it was a bit of a tease with so many options of things to do and see.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get a room with a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilma H, Owner at Anchor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
We have to say a big thank you for this detailed review of the Anchor Inn Hotel. You'll have to visit again so that we can make sure you do see the spectacular sunrise over the harbour!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The hosts were terrific about booking my mom and I into a walker-accessible room, and helping us to book a tour tags next day. Our room was really spacious and clean. Breakfast the next day included some of the best scones I've ever had and a massive pot of coffee which I thoroughly appreciated.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilma H, Manager at Anchor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Anchor Inn Hotel with other viewers who may be planning to spend a vacation with us in Twillingate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

it is an Inn and it does have a view of the harbour. It is a bit run down at the heels but in process of being fixed up. The windows didn't open, no fridge in the room but it was clean. We sat out on the grassy area but there really isn't a space for people to enjoy the view. The bar has a set-up but there were no chairs out and inside the only people in the bar were those playing the gambling machines. The restaurant was good and had a lovely view of the water and we enjoyed our meal. Probably wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilma H, Owner at Anchor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you feedback that allows us to continuously improve our guest experience. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your meal, a clean room and lovely view. We understand that you were keen to enjoy the view from a deck or patio chair. Our 56-foot deck with its bright deck chairs at our suites is available to all our guests. However, we have placed more chairs on the lower level and seating outside our pub and restaurant on the brand new decks will be available as soon as all required licenses have been issued.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Spent two nights at Anchor Inn in a 2 bdr apt. Aug.'13..Rooms were comfortable and clean.
We noticed that lots of effort were put in to improve the facility...Big wooded patio facing the harbour, including picnic tables, chairs, BBQ, everything needed to make your stay pleasant.
Had dinner at their restaurant Georgie's...food was excellent and had a great time with our waiter Tim.
Very good quality/price ratio.
Make sure to visit the shores of French Cove in Durrell...Its like you were on another planet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilma H, Owner at Anchor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Anchor Inn Hotel & Suites and your time in Twillingate. Yes, French Beach is certainly a spot where you want your camera with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

It was a nice room with a view with an excellent dinner served by friendly staff.
The cleanliness of the newly renovated Inn was very impressive.
The evening meal was of top quality and the breakfast waffles very good.
The cost for our two day stay was quite reasonable.
Twillingate is wonderful an unique destination.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilma H, Owner at Anchor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time in Twillingate and we have to agree: Twillingate is a "wonderful and unique" destination!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anchor Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn Hotel

Address: 3 Path End, Twillingate, Newfoundland and Labrador A0G 4M0, Canada (Formerly Anchor Inn Motel)
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Twillingate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Twillingate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anchor Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay right on the ocean at the award-winning Anchor Inn Hotel and its Hilltop Suites. Enjoy fresh seafood and Newfoundland dishes with a modern twist at Georgie's Restaurant (May - Dec) and relax in Captain's Pub - enjoy an Iceberg draught beer or take in a Kitchen Party or show during the summer. Friendly staff are ready to welcome you and and make your stay memorable! Make this is your base for iceberg and whale watching, kayaking, coastal hiking and exploring outport culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Anchor Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Inn Hotel Twillingate, Newfoundland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.