We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming 1820`s Restored Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hillside B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Twillingate
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillside B&B
Save
You added Hillside B&B to your Saves list
14 Blanford's Lane, Twillingate, Newfoundland and Labrador A0G 4M0 , Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CAD $90 a night!
Ranked #4 of 14 Twillingate B&B and Inns
Athens, Ontario
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming 1820`s Restored Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We chose to stay at this Bed & Bedfreast as it was the oldest home in Twillingate that remained in excellent shape, boasting a waterfront view and a supberb breakfast. My husband and I felt priveledged to spend the evening in a home that was surrounded with treasures, much like our stone home built in 1830. The room was very pleasant and clean with an ensuite, the bed was oh..so comfy.Wince was very informative on the town sights and made an appetizing breakfast. Wavy appeared in the morning full of energy and amazed us all with her passion for life! Much to our amazement she is now the proud owner of a Curves! We will definitely go back! This was our best value for the dollar of any overnight stay on the island!

Room Tip: All 3 bedrooms have beautiful views, but on the 2nd floor, you can see the sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    16
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
58
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I, and another couple we were travelling with, spend 2 nights at this delightful inn. Wavey and Winston were terrific hosts, providing great conversation and a really nice breakfast. Great Partridgeberry muffins! Twillingate is a beautiful town, and the location of this inn was perfect. Would go back in a minute!

Room Tip: There were 3 rooms in the inn. All were nice, though the first floor room is right by the front doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We couldn't have made a better choice for our stay in Twillingate than Wavy and Wince and the Hillside B&B. It's a beautiful property and the town is lovely. We did a great hike around French Cove, enjoyed dinner at the Cove Bistro and coffee at the Crows Nest Cafe. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Great challenging hiking in the area! (make sure to visit crow's nest cafe after hiking around the lighthouse!)

We stayed in the cabin which has a little gas bbq, and a great porch for enjoying a cool beer while basking in the setting sun and gazing over the town.

Great blueberry picking in the backyard!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

all the previous excellent reviews are true. the one not so excellent review is silly.
just outside of town, yet close to everything. wonderful town with lots of day trips.
the owners serve a great breakfast and conversation. dry your clothing on the clothline in back and watch the wind blow your socks off!

Room Tip: upstairs room is large with in-room attached bathroom. pay the higher price for this room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

There is a good reason this B&B is rated number one on Tripadvisor in Twilligate. Not only is the property well maintained, clean and provided with beautiful, handmade 19th century wooden furniture, but the Cutlers are two of the nicest people you are ever going to meet. They really take an interest in making sure you have an experience you will never forget in Twillingate. We stayed in the cottage, between the B&B and the Cutler's home. Winston and Wavey treated us like cherished next door neighbours and went out of their way to make sure we knew where to buy fresh fish, where to eat, to point out all the amazing hiking trails, proudly gave us a tour of the B&B, patiently explained local history and folk lore, and even talked about their past life in Labrador, where Winston was a heavy machine operator for an iron ore mine. Wavey even spent time with us, walking up the trail behind the property, (which leads to an amazing view of the harbour) to point out all the different types of local berries. She also gave us a tutorial on the proper cooking and handling of the hard tack used by the locals use to make fish and brewis. As we talked, she told us that she loved meeting people and loved her job. You can tell.

Our only regret, is that we could have spent a few more days in the Twillingate at the Hillside B&B with Winston and Wavey as our hosts. Don't get me wrong, we loved every part of Newfoundland that we visited, but this was special.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at Hillside B & B. This is a well maintained house which overlooks the harbour. Our room had a queen size bed which was very comfortable. The room was very clean.
The owners, Winston and Wavey, were excellent hosts and provided a great breakfast each morning. We definitely would recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hillside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside B&B

Address: 14 Blanford's Lane, Twillingate, Newfoundland and Labrador A0G 4M0 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Twillingate
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Twillingate
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillside B&B located in the heart of Twillingate is the oldest and most established B&B and has been welcoming visitors from around the globe for 23 years. The original charm and character of this beautiful home has been carefully maintained while offering modern conveniences including spacious, private en-suites. Each room is fully equipped with a new bed, cable TV, digital alarm clock and Wi-Fi access.Nestled in the hills of picturesque Twillingate, Hillside B&B offers guests unmatched views of the Atlantic Ocean and Twillingate Harbour. Often referred to as Iceberg Alley, breath-taking icebergs dot our coastline throughout the spring of the year leaving our guests in awe. Our gourmet continental breakfast includes: selection of fresh fruit, choice of cereals, house made muffins and breads, local berry jams and a variety of hot foods.Within walking distance you will find the Canvas Cove Bistro serving fresh local food specializing in seafood and vegetarian dishes, The Newfoundland Chocolate Company making fresh truffles on site daily, iceberg & whale tours, Cameron Hall Theatre, craft shop, Twillingate Art Gallery and numerous walking trials.You are never far from home at Hillside B&B! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hillside B&B Twillingate, Newfoundland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillside B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.