We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cultural experience,lots of history on fishing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prime Berth Fishing Museum

Prime Berth Fishing Museum
Main Tickle Causeway, Twillingate, Newfoundland and Labrador A0G 4M0, Canada
709-884-2485
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Twillingate
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Prime Berth Twillingate Fishery & Heritage Centre is a private interpretive fishing center and craft studio created by David Boyd as a tribute to his fisher forefathers.In honour of this tradition, and as a tribute to proud people so dear to his heart, David decided to call his heritage centre - "Prime Berth"- meaning literally -"the best spot!"
Twillingate, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great cultural experience,lots of history on fishing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is excellent learning experience for the whole family, don' t forget to see the underwater camera.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    16
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Great for old artifacts and history of history, nice selection of items. Small gift shop, nice option on a rainy day.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molena, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“PPerfect morning. Captain Boyd was a gracious and fun host. We saw beautiful scenery, and we caught lobster in cages.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Perfect morning! Captain Boyd was a gracious, knowledgeable, and fun host. We saw beautiful scenery and caught lobsters in cages. It was interesting, and the time passed much too quickly. Captain Boyd cares deeply about what he does, his heritage, and Newfoundland.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A must do experience of Newfoundland . More than just a fishing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Without a doubt this was one of my most memorable experiences of Newfoundland. My girlfriend and I are 28 years old and live in Toronto. We travelled from gross morne to St. John's driving past prime berths display of whale bones, fisherman scarecrows and interesting fishing houses hoping to come back the next day. I called last minute and Dave happily fit us in and even waited for us to arrive before heading out with another group. Arriving at the bay you will be blown away by the historical display of fishing, family and Newfoundland culture. Years and years of work are spent by captain dave himself building the displays. You are immediately engulfed in the newfoundland culture with accents, newfoundland jokes and welcomed by his family who also join us on the boat and truly add to the whole experience. Being on a small boat, taking us, another couple, Dave and his two grandchildren we could talk and joke with dave and he catered to whatever we wanted to do. We went whale watching, puffin sighting and caught a ton of cod fish. My girlfriend was even screeched in on the water kissing the cod she pulled out of the water! Dave even called a friend of his who would prepare us a lunch of the fresh fish we just caught.A true Newfoundland experience.. Spending time joking with a local and his family.. Learning the fishing history in Newfoundland .. Whale watching... Puffin sighting..cod fishing.. Kissing the cod...eating the fish we just caught, made an afternoon I will never forget. Don't pass by twillingate without stopping by.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very deceiving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I had read the reviews for this museum and liked what I read. It was the first attraction as you enter Twillingate. We paid our $5 for the self guided tour and entered the museum. We were finished in that room in about five minutes and thought it wasn't much for the money. But my daughter pointed out that we had to go to another building. All in all there were about five different buildings and displays. Lots of photos with explanations. In the last building we met the owner who had just finished cleaning the cod that had been caught on a fishing tour that morning. He was very interesting to listen to.
My 22 and 24 year old daughters really enjoyed the visit along with my wife and myself.
One final note, one of the employees demonstrated how to play a Newfoundland instrument called an ugly stick. It is a wooden pole with bottle caps nailed to it and a boot at the bottom. It is played with another ribbed stick with bottle caps. It bounces over the first pole making noises while you bounce the boot up an down on the floor. Very entertaining.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prime Berth Fishing Museum also viewed

Port Rexton, Newfoundland
Twillingate, Newfoundland
 
Twillingate, Newfoundland
 

Been to Prime Berth Fishing Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prime Berth Fishing Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.