We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely short break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gigha Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isle of Gigha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gigha Hotel
Save
You added Gigha Hotel to your Saves list
Argyll, PA41 7AA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isle of Gigha
East Kilbride, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“lovely short break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

3rd trip to the lovely Isle of Gigha and the Gigha Hotel. Such a friendly place people make you feel so welcome. The hotel serves excellent freshly cooked food and the room was clean and comfortable. Staff go out of their way to be helpful. As they are all local they are a mine of useful information and advice. The location is stunning. There is nothing nicer and more relaxing than sitting outside with a cool drink watching the boats in the bay and the wonderful scenery. We really chill out and relax there. The island is stunning and we can highly recommend the hotel, the Achamore gardens and the gallery where there is usually an exhibition on.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gighahotel, Front Office Manager at Gigha Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments which are much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    41
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
40
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

What a great place to eat ! The staff were nice and helpful . The bar area was dated but clean and tidy. The lunch menu was a selection of sandwiches and there was a soup of the day (Tomato and Basil) .The sandwiches were scrumptious and were homemade. The soup was lovely and the homemade bread which came with it was delectable .I would recommend this to my friends and I would vist again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whiting Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a lovely long weekend at the Gigha Hotel. Staff could not have been more helpful. Valerie at the desk was friendly efficient and helpful. Fiona certainly believed in service with a smile. Christine always willing to talk between running a busy bar. The chef prepared tasty meals and snacks for day visitors and guests alike.
A great wee hotel.
The island is very beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

After visiting the Island many times over the past six years and loving every visit we decided that this would be the ideal setting for our wedding. Even though we did not have our ceremony at the hotel the staff did a fantastic job of organising the wedding and with the catering at the venue, along with the wedding breakfast and evening reception that was held at the hotel. Rachel, Colin and the team could not be more helpful with seeing to our every need. All our guests were more than happy with the accommodation on offer and were extremely pleased with the food and the service. The staff went that extra mile to help us out even arranging a dog sitter for us, arranging for the local Ceilidh band to play at our evening reception and one staff member went to her house at the last minute to get a sewing kit for an emergency repair. Our guests were so pleased that they have all said they would like to return to the island and the hotel again in their own time. We will certainly be back in the not too distant future to stay, eat and maybe even partake in a drink or two in the hotel bar in the presence of the friendly and helpful team. Although the other reviews are other people’s opinions I cannot say that I agree with the comments they have made and believe them to be untrue as at no point in any of our stays over the years have we been able to smell the deep fat fryer in any part of the hotel, the staff have always been polite and friendly and the hotel has always been a clean and comfortable place to be, if we experienced the things other people have written we would not have returned year after year!

Room Tip: suite over looking the bay is defo worth the exstra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gighahotel, General Manager at Gigha Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
HI Graye and Emma, Thank yo so much for your review and may we say it was a pleasure to look after you both on your special day and also to accommodate the dogs for you.
We hope that we will see you both again soon and of course the dogs as well
Colin and Rachael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

First visit to Gigha and left with a good feeling. A friendly place where on a few occasions people put themselves out to help you out. This included the hotel. We quickly realised if they could be of any help they would.Lady on reception was very welcoming and efficient. Room was vey comfortable with a lovely view over the water. Menu for dinner was a bit limited but the quality was good. Great breakfast in a lovely room. Will be back to Gigha-an interesting and relaxing place to be

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gighahotel, Manager at Gigha Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Hi
Thank you for your review and we were pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us ans also your time on Gigha.
We would also like to think that as a small community owned and run hotel we can go that extra mile to make our guests stay a more pleasurable one.
we do have a limited menu at the moment as our kitchen team are currently working on new menus and dishes.
Colin and Rachael Johnston
Hotel Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for three nights while on a little trip thought the Inner Hebrides. Our first problem was due to the weather the ferries were inconsistant to say the least. With concern I phoned the Hotel to tell them this and they couldn't be nicer. Island people are very flexible.

As it turned out we did get there on the day we meant to and were met by a very friendly member of staff who booked us in. The room was warm, comfortable and clean.with everything you would expect.

We had visited and stayed at the hotel 6 years ago and had no hesitation in booking a longer stay.

This was a dinner, bed a breakfast deal and the meals were very good but staying over three nights, although the menu changed, there was a feeling of "seen it, tried it". The first night specials were mushroom soup and Beef curry, second night, mushroom soup and beef curry, third night - mushroom soup (must have run out of beef curry). If you weren't a lover of halibut that was one item off the menu every night straight away. Saying that, we had absolutely no complaints about the quality fo the food or the quantity.

The hotel sits facing the sea and is beautifully maintained. Although comminuty run, it doesn't feel like that (apart from the friendliness). The gardens round the hotel were well maintained and it really looked a picture postcard sort of place.

We really enjoyed our stay and if we were going to run away for a few days R&R this hotel would be high on our list.

A spacial commendation to Fiona who attended to us at breakfast - efficient, friendly and with a lovely soft accent that didn't scare us to death first thing int he morning. (AND the breakfast times allowed quite a long lie-in if you wanted - no "BREAKFAST IS AT 07:30, take it or leave it" which I had encountered in other hotels previously).

All in all a great break and very restful. I would certainly recommend this to friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gighahotel, Manager at Gigha Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
We were very pleased to receive your review. We are always looking at ways of making our guests stay a memorable one and we are very sorry about the specials on offer at the time of your stay, the kitchen are currently looking at new menus. we will pass on your comments to them and also to Fiona. We are very pleased that you like our breakfast times as many of our visitors are here for leisure and not business so a 7.30 breakfast does not suit everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in the Stable, one of three self catering units in the The Steadings, less than a mile from the hotel. We thought the Stable was fantastic and very well equiped. We have stayed in other one bedroomed self catering accommodation and the Stable was far superior - there was a proper cooker with 4 rings, microwave, dishwasher and washer/dryer. The Stable also has the best views of the three units. Only slight criticism, which in no way detracted from the overall experience, was the choice of furnishings, which I thought were more suited to a city centre flat than a Scottish Island accommodation. Obviously this is a personal thing, but I would have thought that more muted, natural colours would have suited the ambience of the place better. However, the quality of the all the furnishings and fittings was great and we really enjoyed our stay there. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to any of my friends and, in fact, have already done so.

Room Tip: If you only need one bedroom, try to get the Stable, as you get a good view from both the living are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gighahotel, Manager at Gigha Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
HI

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay in The Stable and that you have recommend it to friends.

Sorry but we really did have a struggle trying to get furniture that went with the cottage and of course we do realise that it is not everyone's taste but we also had to look for something hard wearing as well.

we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Colin and Rachael Johnston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gigha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gigha Hotel

Address: Argyll, PA41 7AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Gigha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isle of Gigha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small friendly hotel on small, quiet Scottish island 3 miles off the west coast on the Kintyre peninsula. 20 minute crossing from mainland on regular Calmac ferry. Locally sourced produce used in our kitchen, also local products sold within the hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gigha Hotel Isle Of Gigha, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gigha Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.