We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boathouse Cafe Bar

The Boathouse Cafe Bar
Ardminish Bay, PA41 7AA, Scotland
01583505123
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $38
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Small waterfront café and restaurant situated a five minute walk from the ferry terminal on the Island of Gigha.Wines, beers, ales and a varied menu with an emphasis on local seafood.Showers and laundry facilities also available on site from adjacent campsite.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“First class!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Four of us enjoyed two evening meals at the Boathouse during our recent stay on Gigha. Absolutely fantastic!
Excellent food, efficient service, great atmosphere and nothing was a problem for the friendly staff.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    26
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kirkmichael, Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent local seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We've eaten here loads of times and love it. It was a bit rushed this time but that was because of the music festival and because the place is in the process of changing hands. I only hope the new people keep up the high standards set by Lindsay and Joe

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“2 day stay on gigha”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

although the boys who run this were a weebit worse for wear due to a party the night before great coffee excellant service. food all freshly made.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“First Port of Call”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Always first call when driving off the Ferry, a lovely cool drink served by the friendly staff before making our way to the cottages. For the last seven years we have had our large, extended family dinner at the Boathouse the night we arrive and are never disappointed. The food is excellent and our every whim catered for. This children all love having their snacks and hot chocolate during the day and the staff are so patient with them all. Cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fresh local produce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

If you like fresh locally sourced well cooked seafood eat at the Boathouse. Our group of four dinned here on two successive days and all had great meals - particularly the lobster which was the best I have tasted. Though the Gigha crab salad was also pretty special...

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boathouse Cafe Bar also viewed

Isle of Gigha, The Hebrides

Been to The Boathouse Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boathouse Cafe Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.