We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service, average food, great decor/location” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Eastern & Oriental Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Eastern & Oriental Restaurant
53, Westfield Road, Woking GU22 9NQ, England
01483729278
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 162 Restaurants in Woking
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Chinese, Thai & Malaysian Cuisine
Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Poor service, average food, great decor/location”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Our dining experience at the Woking location of Eastern & Oriental (not to be confused with the Chobham location) is as follows.

DECOR & LOCATION: The decor is quite impressive--the setting offering a visually appealing, Asian dining environment. The restaurant offers free, on-site parking and is situated away from competitors offering similar cuisine--both factors surely helping the restaurant to remain busy despite some signiificant downfalls.

FOOD: The reviews confirm that the quality of food is average--fluctuating between some decent dishes to some more mediocre dishes. It's important to highlight that although our dine-in experiences have been 'acceptable', our take away dining experience has been dreadful--the food tasting so bad that we threw about half away (something we don't take lightly as our custom is to at least finish what's served on our plates).

SERVICE: This is the most significant gap for this restaurant as others have pointed out. Whether it's the staff presenting restrictions to limit ordering main dishes while others at the table are still having starter dishes (when eating from the buffet), deciding dishes to our bill without notice (which happened to us as well as the previous reviewer), or simply taking forever to bring main dishes out from the kitchen, the consistency is a strong lack of service. It's a busy restaurant so I guess there's more demand than supply in the area to justify the poor service offering.

In summary it's all about location, location, location.... The location of the restaurant conveniently located away from other restaurants offering similar cuisines and on-site free parking will surely keep E&O as an attractive option for many. After a couple of failed dining experiences (and despite the convenience of living only a 3 minute walk away), we'll be satisfyin our cravings for Chinese food elsewhere going forward.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    18
    7
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice food, bad service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

It was clear from the start that although 'all you can eat' is shown on the menu, the staff like to use various tactics in order to try and get you to eat/order less food. We were in a large group of 10 and it was suggested to us by the manager that we have a mixed selection of starters, then duck followed by mains. We all agreed to this to speed things up with the order process and thought we would be able to order additional items as we pleased anyway. By the time our group had finished the duck course, half of us wanted another serving of the duck, half of us wanted to order some main dishes. The extra duck was served, but the manager actually refused to serve those who wished to order main dishes and seemed to think it was funny to make us wait and watch whilst our other diners enjoyed their food. Not only this, but after everyone had finished eating the duck, we had to ask the waitresses 3 times that we would like to order mains, each time they would nod and then walk off ignoring our request. Only after the 4th attempt would they take our order, of course they were very quick to suggest that we order more drinks. Because of this service, I ordered free water only.

On the plus side, the food was good and tasted fresh, but I wouldn't go again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Horrible service in a beautiful setting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We frequently visit family in Woking and on this occasion a group of about twelve of us ate at this restaurant.

As many have stated, the decor and ambiance is very nice in general--with much woodwork and ornamentation to appreciate during a meal. Unfortunately, this is about all we had to appreciate with the food taste and quality being average and the service--in particular--being very poor.

Although there were multiple examples of lacking service the last straw was the handling of our complaint for dishes that were added to our bill that our group had not ordered. The response from the restaurant was that although they 'knew' that we wanted the specific number of plates of a specific dish (which coincidentally happened to be one of the more expensive dish...hmmm) they believed that they were justified in ordering more for the size of our group. Therefore, they took it upon themselves to add more WITHOUT first obtaining our approval!! No apology was given and there really didn't seem to understand adding more to a customer's bill without consulting with them was wrong in some way.

After some debate over the inappropriateness/unprofessionalism of randomly adding dishes to their customer bills they agreed to remove the charges. Unfortunately, an average meal out left us with a very poor taste in our dining experience.

If you're interested in seeing a beautifully decorated Asian restaurant then go and enjoy a beverage by their bar area. However, if you're interested in enjoying some exceptional Asian cuisine with great service then you will need to explore other alternatives in the area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“A great place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Love this restaurant in Old Woking. Atmosphere is really warm and welcoming, the food is excellent and its amazing value for money. Great for groups, or just dinner for two. Menus very hard to read in the subdued lighting.....take your glasses!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Lovely food, fun atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a really fun restaurant. The food is great and the service is brilliant. I'd recommend it for a fun night out. It is not too pricey either

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eastern & Oriental Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Eastern & Oriental Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastern & Oriental Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.