We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Churchills home chartwell” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chartwell

Chartwell
Mapleton Road, Westerham TN16 1PS, England
01732 868381
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Attractions in Westerham
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The great British statesman, Sir Winston Churchill, lived in this home for over 40 years. Visitors can tour the rose gardens and see the artwork, books and desk of this remarkable leader.
Long Beach, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Churchills home chartwell”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

For all who love Churchill and want an intimate glimpse into his life, go to Chartwell. This wonderful home is surrounded with exquisite grounds, making a great one day trip with picnic, restaurant or just touring the Churchills home, gardens and art studio. Get the guidebook, actually get both the chartwell one and the national trust. They are invaluable as you walk about the house. You will really feel like you've made a personal visit during their lifetime. It's a quick 1/2 hour or so ride on the train from London and then a cab ride from station to chartwell. Take a picnic lunch too. I believe taxi is 17£ and entry close to the same. Very very nice gift shop as well.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    133
    23
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach CA
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“A lovely spot to visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We really enjoyed our time at chartwell. The car park is convenient. The restaurant has good fresh food and a nice view. Our time in the home was perfect. A nice touch was fresh flowers throughout,
There were many rooms available to see. They handed us a guide at the beginning with highlights for each room was really nice. The room guides were knowledgeable.
The only negative was that Churchills studio wasn't open till 12:30 and we had to leave before that. It would. Be nice if Everything opened at once!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Chart well on the map”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We visited for a day out during the Easter period. It was very quiet which was quite surprising, but good news as far as the parking availability goes. It was a lovely day and just as we'll as the house was closed so we only managed a stroll around the grounds. If we had been more prepared we would have taken a picnic ... maybe next Spring with some friends or family.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Calming Chartwell”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We love visiting Chartwell. We sometimes visit just for a walk and picnic or to attend an event.
We find it a calm and relaxing place even on busy days.
The house itself is beautifully kept and the volunteers that give up their time as room guides are always very knowledgeable and approachable.
Definitely worth a visit or two......

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“National Trust”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Its was just OK ---- nothing very exciting, the house was nice the gardens quite pretty, but there are far more interesting places that I can think of visiting

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chartwell also viewed

Hever, Sevenoaks District
 
Lamberhurst, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 

Been to Chartwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chartwell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.