We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bakery

Save Saved
You added The Bakery to your Saves list
The Bakery
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bakery
Westmore Green | Tatsfield, Westerham TN16 2AG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Westerham B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Boutique excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stumbled upon this accidentally and very glad i did, amazing place. Rooms = AMAZING, food = AMAZING, service = AMAZING, a real little hideaway gem in a sleepy village. The breakfast is one of the best I've ever had.
If your after a romantic stopover or a getaway then the comfort, location and the building are all perfect. Cant wait to go back

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
23
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This restaurant with rooms provides 5 fabulously furnished & spotless ensuite rooms with everything you would require for a very comfortable stay. Newly furbished to an extremely high standard with a massive flat screen tv. (The largest we have ever seen in a bed & breakfast).
The staff are very friendly & helpful, providing jugs of fresh milk for our tea supplies in the room.
One night we ate in the restaurant which proved to be fabulous. For a Wednesday evening it was very busy and the menu varied. Smoked haddock with a welsh rarebit top was wonderful and the further 2 courses did not disappoint. Another evening we ate in the bar & had home made bacon & cheese burgers which were the best I have ever had!
Re an earlier review & problems with the small glass panels in the bathroom door, I would suggest this could easily be remedied by placing a towel on the door hook.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

What a gem this place is. It is an unusual building on the peaceful village green and opposite the Old Ship pub. When we arrived mid afternoon the owner interupted his lunch to show us to our room (number 5) and gave us a key card for it which also opened the back door to the property so that we could come and go when the restaurant was closed. Our room was beautifully decorated and furnished apart from just a hanging rail for your clothes. In fairness though this is a temporary measure as the wardrobes are in the process of being built. Everything was spotlessly clean with comfortable beds, expensive looking linen and towels. Having been out in the evening we arrived back to find both the bar and restaurant busy and there was a lovely comfortable buzz about the place so we stopped for a couple of drinks rather than going straight to bed.
In the morning when we went down to breakfast we were again greeted by the owner (I don't think he goes to bed!!) and a nice hot cup of strong coffee. We were told that there was no breakfast menu as such - just tell him what we'd like and we'd get it, which we did. And it was georgeous - beautifully cooked and presented quality ingredients. Even our fruit juice came with ice and a slice! Having also booked in for Sunday lunch we then had to go for a walk to try to get an appetite up by 1300.
The lunch was just a good as breakfast. It was a 3 course menu (with around 6 options for each course) for £24.95 but we couldn't find room for desert and gratefully our bill was adjusted accordingly.
All in all, I can't find fault with this place. The owner and his staff were all really nice and friendly and we immediately felt at home. All we need now is an excuse to go back...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We really loved The Bakery! Situated in lovely Tatsfield, on typical village green, an ideal starting point for our tour in the South of England. The building is remarkable and the room was beautifully decorated and comfortable. We were welcomed by the owner who showed us around. We also booked a table for dinner in the restaurant. The food was delicious and well prepared. There were a lot of people in the restaurant so the service was somewhat lacking behind with long waiting times. Breakfast in the morning was good but again the service was a little bit moody. We were not asked how we would like our eggs, or if we wished some toast. Once we finished our plate, the waiter took it away without asking if we would wish anything else. All by all, I would recommend this B&B for the quality of the room and the location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Charming, quirky and staff were very friendly and helpful. We had room no 1 which was very nicely decorated and extremely clean. Bed was really comfy too and shower was just great.

We had dinner there as well... Had the best fillet steak I've had in a very long time.. the duck starter was gorgeous too. Very generous portions and I think very good value. Breakfast was a very good full english served at the time we required.

Had a lovely stay and will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

It was nice to see the staff and proprietor (Andrew) treating local patrons and bed and breakfast clients with the same friendly and happy service when arriving.

It was really busy, and the staff remain in control with Andrew keeping an eye on things whilst working really hard. We were shown to our room and it was spotless, with everything you would need possible,

The meal we had was lovely, and the breakfast in the morning - again nothing was too much trouble and it was to a really high standard, Such a lovely place to stay in a really pretty area,

Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed in one of the recently refurbished rooms above the restaurant when visiting friends in the area. We were really impressed with the standard of work until one of us needed to use the bathroom.

Now some couples may be close and be happy to be seen on the toilet by there partners but I am not one of them and its one activity I like to keep to myself. The door of the ensuite has four panels of smoked glass with a border about an inch wide which is clear. As the ensuite is located at the foot of the bed there was no hope of privacy. We could quite clearly see what was happening in the bathroom.......

Later in the evening on returning from our friends we frequented the bar in the restaurant. When asked by the owner about the room, I responded by saying its lovely, although the only thing I would say is am not very comfortable about the door and being able to be seen.

The owner completely spat his dummy out, said no-one had complained about it before and didn't understand what the problem was. My partner, who up to this point had been chatting to a local, interrupted the conversation, asking the manager to not speak to me in his arrogant, nonchalant manner.

The owner then decided that we couldn't stay in the establishment! Yes we had had a few drinks, but we were not the ones being rude and were just being honest and polite with our feedback. When we asked for a refund he decided we could stay.

I cannot comment on the other rooms but if you wish to have privacy in the bathroom don't book room 4.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bakery

Address: Westmore Green | Tatsfield, Westerham TN16 2AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sevenoaks District > Westerham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Westerham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bakery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bakery Westerham, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.