We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Old Pump Room - Terrible location fo a room..” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Grasshopper Inn

The Grasshopper Inn
A25 Westerham Road | Moorhouse, Westerham TN16 2EU, England
01959 563136
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 31 Restaurants in Westerham
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Post code TN16 2EUTelephone : 01959 563136Fax : 01959 564823E Maile : info@grasshopperinn.co.uk
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Old Pump Room - Terrible location fo a room..”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Wouldn’t o there again that’s for sure, Stayed in the Old Pump Room which sounded great at the time but boy was I wrong. Room is very nicely done inside I would give it a 7/10 but its location which is in the car park was really a turn off.

At night you can hear people pulling up and chatting outside with the front door looking out at the cars and the windows face the cars as well so you have to keep the blinds down

No WIFI access in the room so you have to go inside the pub to use it (so you have to walk through the cars) When we brought up the idea that the room outside wasn’t what we expected the person helping us didn’t really seem bothered and it was more like “That’s what we have there are no other rooms so…) didn’t seem they were bothered and made us feel like we were stuck up for mentioning it..

Will never go back and not recommend it as I see a lot of bad reviews with comments from them saying they will look into things yet there are still ongoing complaints coming in. There is a BBQ in the afternoons which makes you thing of some proper food but its only a burger patty and a bun and sausages at the cost of £8-£10

Sorry not for me..

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faucet I, General Manager at The Grasshopper Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Robbie L,

We are so sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We ensure that we specify that both the Pump House & the Cottage are in an annex in our car park in all of our advertising. We do understand that this is not ideal for some of our guests and we do, if we can, always move our guests to another available room if they are unhappy with their room choice. Unfortunately we had no other rooms available on the night you stayed so were unable to do this for you. I have brought your feedback up with all of my team members but am unable to take any further action or give specified training to any individual without further information, please contact me directly so that I can address this matter to ensure it never happens again.

We were trialling a BBQ offer on the day of your stay and have subsequently decided to have a BBQ on sunny weekends throughout the summer. Our menu is currently - A Sea bass fillet with cherry tomato, lemongrass & ginger, steamed in a foil parcel - BBQ Rack of Ribs in our home made sticky BBQ sauce - Lemon & Thyme Chicken Burger - Halloumi and Pepper Kebabs with a pesto dressing. All served with a choice of salads.

Once again please accept our sincerest apologies for letting you down on this occasion.

Paul Howes - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    38
    18
    36
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“over priced, under fed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

having driven from bexhill to have lunch we were looking forward to a relaxing sunday lunch. after waiting for our drinks for nearly 10 minutes, unfortunately new staff member but was not being given any back up by other staff, i needed to use the ladies. there were 4 lightbulbs needed replacing s was dark, dingy and not smelling too good. still, the carvery ,we had been informed, was very good so here goes.as my partners mother has poor eyesight we asked if we could sit in the conservatory area as the lighting is better but were informed it was booked. having got there early the carvery was hot and looked great. unfortunately advertised as gammon, turkey and beef there was actually no gammon but pork, and apart from the roast potatoes needing a little more cooking all was well.so after waiting for nearly 20 minutes to have our table cleared so that we could order deserts we decided on " a selection of cheeses" priced at £7 and a selection of ice cream.priced at £6. you can only imagine how shocked we were when the selection turned out to be 1 slice of stilton and a slice of cheddar, served with 3 stale crackers, limp celery and a hearty pot of chutney.the selection of icecream was 3 scoops!! but the best was yet to come!! on receiving our bill we had been charged £8.50 for the cheese!! when we questioned it we were told that was the price, clearly this was not the price on the menu. and though the member of staff refunded the £1.50 it was slammed on the table with the words" heres the refund on your cheese". a the whole experience is not one i would like to repeat, the staff are unattentive and clearly either the pricing or the portion sizes need reviewing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faucet I, Guest Relations Manager at The Grasshopper Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment and for providing us with your feedback. We apologise for the issues raised and have taken appropriate action. We have a particularly strict that any complaints are dealt with on the day and we again apologise if this was not the case for you. We never want anyone to leave unhappy.

Kind Regards,
The Grasshopper Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“A unexpectedly entertaining evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

The Grasshopper Westerham:
4 Stars alround. Very good food at good prices. We had a superb steak and fish and both were well priced. Lovely friendly caring Scottish chef! Very helpful.

Service was a little slow as we went late on Sunday (they finish at 7 on a Sunday) . But - if you time it right - a good find with quite a pretty venue with lots of parking.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faucet I, Guest Relations Manager at The Grasshopper Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our steak and fish which is freshly cooked and prepared on site. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
The Grasshopper Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An almost wedding sized mistake!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I was seriously considering holding my wedding here & as a "test" we went for a Mothering sunday meal. To start with they couldn't grasp the occasion (Erm...guys? Mothers day is American. In England we have "Mothering Sunday". Its a religious festival & the date is dictated by the church of England, not hallmark!). That aside, we arrived & despite having a 4pm reservation, waitied until 4.50pm to be seated and then only after we complained & they set up a restareunt table in the bar for us. Loads of people just walked out. Our order was taken very quickly only for a different waitress to return & tell us the starter & main my son had chosen were off the menu. There were only 3 options to start with! After re-ordering, the starters arrived after 20 mins but 2 plates were cleared away before the remaining 2 guests had finished eating. We tried to collect our mains from the carvery (being seated in the bar the carvery was too far away for my disabled dad to walk too so we had to chose his for him). Unfortuantely the "Chef" was literally having a nervous breakdown, rudely telling people he needed to clear down & reset & needed a break and too come back in 10 mins. In 10 mins time there was a queue of 12 people ahead of us & no sign of the chef or any food. In another 10 mins time we went back to find the chef telling anyone who would listen that he hadn't had a break all day & was too busy to get food items from the kitchen. He eventually returned with 2 servings of what he called fish pie & what I called a heap of leftovers. He slopped out the carvery options and walked away still grumbling. The food was cold & salty and had taken1 hour & 40 mins from arrival to main course. My son had finished his waiter-delivered kids meal before we even got our mains. Pudding was ok but not special. However due to the contuning 2 waiters scenario it arrived twice. We decided we'd had enough by then & skipped coffee & felt lucky to escape with only a £100 bill.
It was made worse by the wedding co-ordinator spotting us & when learning of our problems (we still hadn't had our mains by that point & i offered to buy the chef a stiff drink if it would speed things up) said she would "sort things out" for us. If this was her definiton of improving to an acceptable standard then a lot of things were left wanting.....

And no, I won't be holding my wedding there.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faucet I, Guest Relations Manager at The Grasshopper Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry you did not enjoy your visit. We have looked in detail at the issues you have raised and actioned them as appropriate.

Kind Regards,
The Grasshopper Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“We did not stay in the Hotel, we stopped for a meal only.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We felt that the food was overpriced for the quality and the portion sizes were small!

I, personally, had the carvery option. The meat was fairly good, but the vegetables, a good variety, had been left out too long. They had gone hard on top and I had to stir them up to get to the juicier ones underneath. My Husband had the sea bass, tasty, but there just wasn't enough of it. Small portion size was probably a ploy to get customers to order a pudding! Overall, the meal was disappointing and over priced.

Also, the toilet facilities were not up to scratch. There were no handtowels in the Ladies or Gents. Also, there were loose toilet seats in the Gents. Everything needs smartening up!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faucet I, Guest Relations Manager at The Grasshopper Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for the comments. We apologise you felt the meals were disappointing. We have a strict policy that all complaints are to be dealt with on the day as we do not like our customers to leave unhappy. We always appreciate the opportunity to resolve any issues there and then. If a customer is not happy with their food we would make sure they are given something in replacement to their liking. We have recently put in place a new menu which we feel is both delicious and provides value for money.

Kind Regards,
The Grasshopper Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grasshopper Inn also viewed

Westerham, Sevenoaks District
London, England
 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to The Grasshopper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grasshopper Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.