We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location but over priced food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fox & Hounds

Fox & Hounds
Toys Hill Road | Toys Hill, Westerham TN16 1QG, England
01732 750328
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 31 Restaurants in Westerham
Cuisines: Gastropub
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
surrey, uk
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely location but over priced food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

A large group of us visited the pub and I agree with one of the previous reviews as the food was surprisingly expensive for what you got!
The pub is lovely and in a great location as you can do a lovely walk nearby but the food was not up to the standard you would expect for £14 for a roast!
Even the kids menu was £7!
The portion sizes were not v.big and didnt seem to have much Veg.
Puddings were lovely and were quite generous which made up for it!
The pub did seem v.busy and we over heard them turning people away after we arrived so I wonder if they were running low on certain food!
Such a shame as I would go back for a drink but not to eat.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    24
    13
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Has to be the best pub in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I have been visiting the Fox and Hounds for over 10 years very regularly. I always have an excellent time, enjoying great food, atmosphere and service. The same is said of my guests I invite, a recent example being my 30th Birthday for which a lovely buffet was organised in the bar area. We travel a good 30 mins to the pub from Bromley, simply because there is nothing better in the area.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Overpriced for what it is.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Personally I like the Fox & Hounds, but not having deep pockets unlike most of the locals I only go here occansionally.

One thing I will say in it's favour is that it is the most dog friendly place I have ever been and my little dog gets treated like royalty by Tony and his staff each time we visit.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly, relaxed. Perfect all round.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I visit regularly and have never had a bad experience. After reading some of the reviews, I'm not sure they have been to the same place!

With reference to the post re: dogs in food areas, they don't allow dogs in the restaurant so I suggest you specify where you want to eat, my dog is always with us and is always very well behaved, unlike most children!!! And he doesn't put his feet on the furniture, most kids do!!!!

I think you should ignore the negative comments and visit, you'll have a warm welcome.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey UK
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Prices gone up and now Dogs allowed in areas serving food!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

Eight for Sunday lunch, booked in so no surprise yet there were! We we put on a table in bar with a dog water bowl under the table!Ugh! We all wondered what was to come?

The food was quite ok. We had a selection from the menu and some the Sunday roast. The beef was rather thick slices but our plates were cleared, we were hungry. A round of drinks for all and then a second round for the non-drivers plus a pud and we were £50 a couple. That was just too much for a pub lunch and we will not return for food again.

The landlord gives us the impression we are doing him a favour turning up. We really did not feel warmly welcomed but there you are.

We hate dogs in food areas, when will dog owners understand that? Probably never.

As locals we remember this old pub with much fondness, driving up prices is a business strategy that anyone has the option for his business but in the long term you lose local trade.

This pub is in a delightful location and attracts folk in good weather for the garden. Enjoy your visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox & Hounds also viewed

Hever, Sevenoaks District
Westerham, Sevenoaks District
 
Westerham, Sevenoaks District
Westerham, Sevenoaks District
 

Been to Fox & Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox & Hounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.