We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox & Hounds

Fox & Hounds
Toys Hill Road | Toys Hill, Westerham TN16 1QG, England
01732 750328
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 31 Restaurants in Westerham
Cuisines: Gastropub
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Me and my partner visited this restaurant a couple of weeks ago, i had the slow cooked pork belly which was divine and he had the seafood brochette which was better than mine!. upon arrival we were greeted by a nice well dressed gentleman who was very polite and seated at our table who then proceeded to take our drinks order. a couple of minutes later he returned to take our food order all done so in a proffesional manner. as i say the food was delicious i almost licked my plate clean the only downside was that i wish i had ordered what my partner had instead!. I am extremeley confused by what other people have reviewed about this pub i dont know if they have a new chef or have changed the way they do things but i would encourage them to give it a second chance as our experience was second to none.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    24
    13
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Battle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Welcoming hosts and beautiful countryside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Myself, husband and two friends met for Sunday lunch at this delightful pub/restaurant.
We travelled from Hastings and our friends from Essex a good forty miles drive but it was well worth the effort. The food was delicious the hosts and staff welcoming and the setting glorious. Have to add the home made sticky toffee sauce was to die for. Looking forward to our next meet at this lovely restaurant.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
1 review
“Don't listen to the reviews, try it for yourself.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Having read some of the reviews we thought we should try it out for ourselves. We are glad we did.
The service was good and friendly. The beer excellent. We had a three course meal and thoroughly enjoyed all of it. It was a very fair price for the quality of food we received. Will definitely go there again.
Try it out!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Very disappointing. Service was quick but I wish they had taken more time and delivered food to a decent standard. Our mains were £15 each, but arrived lukewarm, overcooked and they weren't particularly generous portions either. The sticky toffee pudding (at £5.50) was fairly small, dry and slightly burnt on top. At least the beer was OK. Considering you can get a 2 course set lunch at a local Michelin starred restaurant for around £25 I think this place needs to review its pricing policy given the standards of both cooking and delivery. Unfortunate given its in a pleasant area and an ideal stop-off after a local walk.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Absolutely awful, don't go there”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We went to this newly re furbished pub after seeing an offer in the local paper of buy one meal get one free. Nope, only buy one of their main courses and get another main course free. I paid extra for a steak which was tough, grissly and small, we were charged £5.50 for a dessert fit for a midget with no palate and the service was one step short of rude. I complained and got just further rudeness and attitude. DON'T GO THERE!

  • Visited December 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox & Hounds also viewed

Hever, Sevenoaks District
Westerham, Sevenoaks District
 
Westerham, Sevenoaks District
Westerham, Sevenoaks District
 

Been to Fox & Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox & Hounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.