We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overnight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grasshopper Inn

Grasshopper Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grasshopper Inn to your Saves list
Grasshopper Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   moorhouse, Westerham TN16 2EU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Westerham B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“overnight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My room very tasteful and fitted out well, however views of a tiled roof from all windows pretty aweful. Make sure you get a room in the main hotel, guest in the annex complained about noise and darkness. Food was very nice but the evening dining position was grim. They have a great room for lunch, but dinner must be served in a dark and quite unattractive area. Breakfast in the same area, but was acceptable and served by a bubbly member of staff.

I will stay again but probably eat out, even if that requires a drive into Westerham!

Room Tip: Stay in the hotel, not the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    19
    11
    12
    11
See reviews for
20
32
Solo
0
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed at the grasshopper last week,the rooms are very nice.The food is ok but way over priced.The let down is the crap service,forgetfull waitress,took my order and only came back with it 45 minutes later.And the old guy behind the bar was quite rude,very grumpy.All in all I wont be returing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is a fantastic historic building, which has been tastefully updated to modern standards. The hotel room was lovely with all specifications to a high standard especially in the bathroom. Because of the age of the building, it offered no views of the beautiful surroundings, just the roof! A good excuse to use the terrace area perhaps? The rooms could do with a bit more soundproofing, especially if spending the night on a 'romantic' weekend. The emergency light in the room has the brightest green LED known to man, so pack a bit of bodge tape if you are sensitive to light when sleeping!

The bar has a great selection of beers including Krusovice. The service was friendly, although staff did seem to do every role, which meant a lack of co-ordination and resulting delays. The lady that checked us in also served us drinks, our lunch, waitressed at the wedding reception, served us breakfast before checking us out! The food did take quite a while but was made with good quality, fresh ingredients and cooked to order, so worth waiting for.

Loads of free parking and a great location for visiting nearby attractions such as Chartwell.

Room Tip: Only a handful of rooms but very good quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hempstead, kent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My husband and I were thinking of staying here for a weekend break without the children and decided to go along this weekend for lunch with the family to see what it was like as it was Father's Day and also my husbands birthday.
Got off to a bad start after booking a table the day before then phoned on the day to see if we could change the booking to accommodate an additional guest. There was no record of my booking and rather than an apology I was basically accused of lying that I had already booked. Anyway they confirmed they could fit us in so along we went.
First impression, what a beautiful place but from the moment we walked through the door we noticed no friendly welcome or happy staff. The place was busy but maybe due to Father's Day.
Were seated quickly in the carvery room, it was a little cramped but more so when the table next to us were seated. My husband could not get out of his chair to go to the carvery! Mentioned it to a staff member who moved the other family just as they had all sat down. On the plus side we had no problem with the food itself. Plenty of choice and delicious. Staff were few and far between. Had to request dessert and ask for the table to be cleared. Ordered two desserts which took almost 45 min to arrive after two reminders. No apology. In conclusion we feel this place needs a really big lesson in customer service and we will definitely not be booking our weekend away here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Welcoming, friendly staff. The historic building is atmospheric, especially for those intending to visit Hever Castle. Breakfast was super - with choices like kippers on the menu. We would stay there again.


  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We hired two double rooms in May 2013 for 150per room per night, using booking.com.

We noticed that although the Grasshopper has many helpful and friendly members of staff, their roles seem to be indeterminate. At times they seemed to be tripping over each other to complete a task, while other tasks were left incomplete. The staff are mainly focused on the pub and restaurant business and the hotel felt secondary.

However, once our booking had been located in their records we were pleasantly surprised by our rooms. We stayed in a detached building located in the car park. It appeared new-built and contained two separate en-suite rooms. Both rooms were very modern and clean although the space is a little tight for two adults and suitcases. The main building has free wi-fi, but the detached cottage rooms do not.

The breakfast included in our room rate was very generous. We were invited to sit in the restaurant and choose any food of our liking from the breakfast menu. It was very tasty!
We also ate dinner one evening in the Grasshopper restaurant. It was delicious and convenient to our rooms, but a little pricey for our budget.

I would recommend this hotel for tourists visiting nearby Hever Castle and Chartwell House. Both sites are within easy driving distance of the Grasshopper.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had our wedding at the Grasshopper Inn in March this year and we the most fabulous time! Obviously it is a complicated thing to pull together and all I can say is that it ran like clockwork. The attention to detail was just so good - the flowers were amazing and the food was done beautifully. What got me the most was the care to all our needs in the lead up to the event. We felt really understood and listened to so we got exactly what we wanted. The venue oozes historic charm which is why we chose it and given it was all done so beautifully we can safely say that we have the MOST amazing memories - thank you the Grasshopper! From Mr and Mrs Green!

Room Tip: The honey moon suite is AMAZING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grasshopper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasshopper Inn

Address: moorhouse, Westerham TN16 2EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sevenoaks District > Westerham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Westerham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grasshopper Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grasshopper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grasshopper Hotel Westerham
Grasshopper Inn Westerham, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grasshopper Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.