We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parking nightmare” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Romford Dog Stadium

Romford Dog Stadium
London Road | Town Centre, Romford RM7 9DU, England
01708 762345
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Romford
Type: Arenas/ Stadiums/ Fields, Theaters & Stadiums
Attraction details
Harlow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Parking nightmare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We arrived 20 mins before the first race, only to find both car parks full and it took 25 mins to find a space over 0.5 miles away!!! We missed the first race :( we had a ticket for entry, first drink and either a hotdog or burger meal! Good value and the food wasn't bad however we had to queue for drinks and food. The food queue took over half an hour!! The dog racing is fun and it's nice being outside as they run passed! Overall not a bad nite out if u don't mind queuing !!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    53
    15
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Had a great time.... but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We visited as a staff party at the Pavillion and had a fab time, the food was plentiful & tasty, and was well worth the £25 p/p fee. The service was quick and responsive.
The only criticism I would have is they were quick to kick us out once we had paid the bill, the lights went out and we were sent packing pre 10.30 pm.
Other than that we had a great time!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“fun with good carvery, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Went with a party of 30 with Waitrose, cost of entry and (3 course)meal £25 at the Pavilion Restaurant.
Starters: a pick your own choice of prawns, pate, mackarel, salad, pasta 7/10
Main: choice of Beef, Chicken or Pork (1 or all) with roast pots/boiled pots/vegatables, stuffing, yorkshire pudding, Good value 8.5/10
Desert: mix of Chocolate Gateau/raspberry tart/ apple type tart/ with cream, cheese n biscuits n grapes n celery, 7/10. tea and coffee.
drinks were average price(5 beers & bottle rose £35)
had a good night out and will probably do it again, but.. watch the cost all round as you could easily spend more than you want to.

table service to put bets on.

it helps when you win! not so helpful when the wife loses

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A fun family afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

A rainy afternoon in the Easter holidays and 2 kids to entertain. A stroke of luck that it was a Thursday with afternoon races and free entry (free car park too!). A fun afternoon for the price of a few bets (we won a few, lost a few more), some bags of crisps and a couple of rounds of drinks. I can't comment on the food as we didn't eat there. Surroundings were clean (as were the toilets), staff were very friendly and helpful and a programme is provided with all the information you could need on every dog, race times and much more. All in all, a fun trip out and something a little different.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“"Gone to the Dogs"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We thought a night out at the dogs would be not too expensive how wrong we were!
We booked a table in the Pavillion restaurant.
The food was not that good to be honest especially for the price!
By the time we added in a bottle of wine etc we'd spent well over a £100! not a cheap night out by any means.
If the food was worth the cost it wouldn't have been too bad but to be honest we've had a lot better food for a lot less.
We would have been better off staying in the grandstand and having a basket meal instead.
Needless to say, we won't be eating in the restaurant again.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romford Dog Stadium also viewed

 

Been to Romford Dog Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romford Dog Stadium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.