We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food & Friendly Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moby Dick

Moby Dick
Whalebone Lane North | Chadwell Heath, Romford RM6 6QU, England
08442435385
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 154 Restaurants in Romford
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great Food & Friendly Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Very good food and excellent value for money in this Carvery pub.

This is a Carvery but has other dishes on the menu too. The Wexford steak is particularly good.

Friendly service and very nice surroundings here with a Premier Inn next door (which has just been refurbished).

Toilets clean, car park clean, pub nicely presented. Free WiFi here too, unlike in the hotel next door.

Summary: Good food, good value, friendly service.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    21
    17
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No variety, microwaved food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Went to the carvery with my family, never been before but knew it was a roast dinner so didn't expect much, I'm vegan/vegetarian so it's always difficult eating out.

There was nothing. Literally nothing, I ended up having to order the vegetarian lasagne.

Came out burnt from the microwave covered in hard cheese and after I'd taken the top layer off I was left with burnt cardboard vegetables!

I would have thought there would be more options for people that don't eat meat!
Even my family who had the carvery said that the meat wasn't all that either!

Very unhappy and hungry!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Carvery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Food really lovely and reasonably priced. Staff are very friendly. The chef was also really lovely. I have been here any times. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely food, shame about the service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Went for my mums birthday, had the carvery on Sunday.
Food was good, worth the long wait and queue.
Shame about the service really. Staff seemed over worked and under staffed. Glasses and plated were not cleared despite clearly being finished with.
Toilets were grim! No chains working, toilet roll everywhere.

It's definitely worth having a family friendly area too, all I could hear was kids screaming and running around, maybe be a good idea to separate families with kids!

Probably won't go again, shame really - it's slowly going downhill.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagenham united kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Moby dick whalebone lane”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We went to the moby on the 3rd February 2014. We had the car very, it was not very appetizing, the veg was very dried up, and the food was Luke warm and to be honest very tasteless, in all very disappointing, it's been Luke warm a few times now, so will not be going back to soon, staff very friendly and helpful. Food left unattended too long.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moby Dick also viewed

 
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to Moby Dick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moby Dick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.