We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moss Lodge

Moss Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Moss Lodge to your Saves list
Moss Lodge
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Kings Road, Rochdale OL16 5HW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Rochdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Perfect Honeymoon stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The room was really romantic and the staff made us feel really welcome. We had a few rooms booked out and they let us stay up really late drinking at the bar with no complaints. The breakfast was great in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
40
14
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My girlfriend and I had an amazing night here on September 14 as part of a group of friends celebrating my girlfriend's birthday. We needed somewhere fairly central as the rest of the group were travelling from various directions and Moss Lodge was perfectly located. Although Rochdale may seem an unlikely destination choice at first glance, the reviews for Moss Lodge made it an easy decision and, as the hotel is set in it's own private grounds, you almost feel like you could be in the middle of the countryside! It's actually located on the edge of Rochdale with easy access from J21 of the M62 less than 5 mins away. There was a wedding ceremony taking place at the hotel on the afternoon of our visit but the reception was at another venue and our group were never made to feel second best in the slightest. We opted for the deluxe rooms which were warm, comfortable, well appointed, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. In the evening we enjoyed the 3 course set menu (superb value at £30) - a good selection of dishes along with a few specials and, as other reviews have mentioned, the chef came out to discuss the menu and ask for any particular requests - a lovely touch. Essentially, you could pretty much have whatever you wanted, cooked however you wanted it cooking! The whole meal, for 8 people, was, outstanding - beautifully cooked, good portion sizes, and served in the lovely dining room. A birthday cake, which I'd dropped off earlier in the day was brought out by the staff after the meal, complete with candles and a rendition of 'Happy Birthday'! After dinner drinks in one of the gorgeous lounge areas rounded off a perfect evening. After a good night's sleep we were served a delicious breakfast cooked to perfection. My only slight criticism, for a hotel of this calibre, is that it would have been nice to have had the option of a fresh fruit selection. To sum up then - this is a wonderful hotel serving top quality food. What really made the difference though was the outstanding level of service we received from start to finish - attentive, professional but not excessively formal which can be the case at some higher end hotels. Moss Lodge have definitely got the balance just right. Many thanks to Pauline and her team for a memorable stay and we definitely hope to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The staff were genuinely interested in both customers and the place they work at. Made it a pleasure to stay. The food was excellent and above average for this type of establishment. The service and style of moss lodge made my stop over both pleasurable and comfortable.

Moss lodge staff appear to care about their working environment which makes the hotel welcoming as well as well kept - which is important.

overall I will return if ever in this part of the world.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Lovely room, warm welcome. Felt secure, as a lone female traveller it is important, access points are secured after a certain hour, you need your room key to even access the car park. Nice little touches like fresh milk in the room rather than the usual UHT pod things. Didn't have dinner here but breakfast was great, I don't have a big appetite in the morning but felt tempted to go further than the usual bowl of cereal. Would stay again without a doubt.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed at Moss lodge again for one night and had the same wonderful experience I had previously in July. The staff were really welcoming and the dinner I had in the restaurant was lovely. The room was clean and the bed and bedding beautiful I would highly recommend this hotel and it's lovely staff.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed at Moss Lodge last week and as usual the staff are great and very welcoming, I had dinner and the food as normal was excellent. Breakfast again was very good and the poached eggs were to die for. I would highly recommend trying this hotel if you get the chance to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickham Bishops
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

A lovely oasis of style and courtesy in Rochdale. Outstanding staff and a very relaxed style that (strangely perhaps) reminded me of the attentive employees of Le Manoire.
Imaginative and enjoyable dinner plus a first rate breakfast.
Very pleasant room that suffered a bit from road noise but this place would be my hotel of choice in the region.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moss Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moss Lodge

Address: Kings Road, Rochdale OL16 5HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Rochdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Moss Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Moss Lodge Hotel. Preferred by both business executives & leisure guests and only minutes from the M60 & M62 motorways and the centre of Rochdale. Built in 1841, this former mill owner’s residence stands majestically in its own landscaped grounds, providing an intimate country house atmosphere that is relaxed yet sophisticated; offering our overnight, conference and wedding guests, quiet luxury and individuality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Moss Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moss Hotel Rochdale
Moss Lodge Rochdale, Greater Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moss Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.