We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome accommodation in Rochdale” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moss Lodge

Moss Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Moss Lodge to your Saves list
Moss Lodge
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Kings Road, Rochdale OL16 5HW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Rochdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rochdale
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome accommodation in Rochdale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at Moss Lodge on our honeymoon in December 2012 and it proved to be the icing on the cake after a fantastic wedding and reception held there. We were treated like royalty and our guests have since remarked they have not experienced a better meal at a wedding reception.
Our wedding planner Pauline was with us every step of the way, making sure our day ran smoothly and was the memorable day we wanted and more. We were treated to breakfast in bed the following morning and the venue decorated ready for Christmas made our wedding pictures all the more amazing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
40
14
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I booked a one night stay here to meet with a colleague. From the moment I walked in I could tell that it was going to be a pleasant stay. Drinks were served to my colleague and I in the lounge before dinner and we were given time and privacy to have an uninterrupted meeting. An excellent dinner followed by a nice large pot of coffee rounded off the evening nicely and a good night's sleep followed in the comfortable and well proportioned bedroom. Breakfast was also very good and, for a small hotel, the check out procedure was surprisingly efficient. Apparently there is also a cat living at this hotel but I didn't come across it! Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Whilst not situated in the nicest or most inviting area this hotel is a very pleasant place to stay!

I was on business but would like to stay there when not so busy to get the best out of it. It is a former mill owner's home and is nicely shielded by trees but you can still pick up some of the Victorian grandeur of the place from the outside.

The inside is in keeping with the period feel with small sitting rooms with comfortable couches by the entrance - an ideal spot to enjoy a beer (bottled - no draught) whilst waiting for your dinner.

The bedroom was also in keeping with the period with many drapes, tassels and cushions in evidence. All mod cons available though including a DVD palyer and a filter machine rather than a kettle.

All in all well worth the visit and the prices more than reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Not much you need to say about this hotel that can't be described in two words.

Absolutely superb.......

The food is wonderful, the rooms are excellent and the staff are warm and friendly and all at very affordable prices.........

Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I would personally like to say a huge thank you to Pauline who did an amazing job making our stay at the moss lodge for our friends wedding an amazing day, she worked effortlessly to make sure the day flowed without any hitches and always with a smile on her face, Moss lodge itself is a great wedding venue but even if you we're to stay there as a hotel experience alone, you will get great service. The rooms are spotless, we stayed in room 14 which has a jacuzzi bath and the most comfortable bed I have slept in for ages, the only very slight hitch was that the wifi signal in that room kept dropping out but please don't let that be a problem, wifi everywhere else in the hotel was excellent. The food was really great, and they had a large selection of wines and spirits at the bar. Thank you .......

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford west yorks England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Why stay at a premier Inn when you have a place like this for the same price. Gorgeous house set amongst a residential area close to town - easy to get to. Warm and homely, the staff are attentive and friendly and the food in the restaurant was to die for. Sticky toffee pudding was THE best I've ever tasted!

I didn't stay here but was visiting a friend who was and she had been staying here for a while and said that the staff made her feel like she was family - you don't get that at those chain hotels do you!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My stay at this lovely hotel was a real pleasure. I booked it online the very last minute, which was very easy and accurate.
The staff was extremely kind and helpful, food was very nice, the room was nice and spacious, very clean and nicely done - lovely interior. There are many facilities and all of that for a great value.
I stayed in some other hotels in Rochdale before and I would not go anywhere else now.
I can not find absolutely any negative points about Moss Lodge and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moss Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moss Lodge

Address: Kings Road, Rochdale OL16 5HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Rochdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Moss Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Moss Lodge Hotel. Preferred by both business executives & leisure guests and only minutes from the M60 & M62 motorways and the centre of Rochdale. Built in 1841, this former mill owner’s residence stands majestically in its own landscaped grounds, providing an intimate country house atmosphere that is relaxed yet sophisticated; offering our overnight, conference and wedding guests, quiet luxury and individuality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Moss Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moss Hotel Rochdale
Moss Lodge Rochdale, Greater Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moss Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.