We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa Day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Manchester Road, Rochdale OL11 2XZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rochdale
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Spa Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Bought a living social voucher for £12 for 2 spa day here. As we are both teachers we decided to book it for the first day of half term - we were a little worried it was going to be full of others with the same idea but it wasn't at all. The facilities were great - a proper spa with outside hot pool area, a few different heat/cool room, lovely pool area and great spa area for treatments. The building inside does feel a little tired - especially around the spa heat rooms ( a little peeling paint etc) but nothing a little tlc couldn't sort out!!

We both had a thirty minute back treatment which we were charged £35.00 for. The treatment was good and it was a proper 'spa' experience with candles and relaxing music. Because we were there on a living social offer we had 20% off the treatments, making it even better!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_Stewart, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind review. I will pass on your comments to the Spa team.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    200
    103
    59
    28
See reviews for
93
193
28
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I will start off by saying that the hotel was clean and the few staff I encountered were polite. However, the cost of eating at this place was very expensive and the food wasn't good enough to warrant the price. A cup of coffee and a red bull cost me £13! So I decided not to eat at the hotel. So you can imagine my surprise when upon checking out I was handed a bill with an extra £60 food bill! When I queried it with the receptionist she said she couldn't make a change without the manager there. Since I was checking out I was not prepared to wait so I asked her to show me the receipt I would have signed had I actually ordered the food on the night I was out eating with friends by the way! To her credit she soon realised that someone had given my room number for their food and drink tab! She still couldn't remove another bill of £5,50 from my tab charged again on a day I was not at the hotel to eat or drink! I'm not impressed with the fact that this could have happened in this day and age. I paid on the understanding that the 'manager' would call me back to discuss the issue and refund the last few pounds. Needless to say the manager never called nor did he or she return my calls. No one who I've met since hasn't heard about this. Pity. And certainly not the four star rating I saw when originally booking this! Oh, and did I mention the noise from the all-night party/music going on the in hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_Stewart, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you encountered problems with your bill during your stay. I would like to respond to the points you have raised, firstly for a coffee and a red bull the price is £6.50, certainly not the £13 you mentioned it was. Secondly I would have contacted you if I would have known there was a problem, I have questioned my team and they can’t recall such a complaint. Please feel free to contact me at your convenience to discuss this matter further and so I can refund you the £5.50 that had been wrongly charged to your account. Finally I would like to know how you can rate our food from the menu if you did not actually try the food, I know you mentioned that you thought the prices did not match the quality of the food but you actually did not try any of our food.
As mentioned please do feel free to contact me should you wish to discuss any of the above, I do like to sort out any problems before our customers leave the hotel as customer service is top of our priority at the hotel
Sorry for any inconvenience the matters you have raised may have caused.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Pint of beer and small orange juice £7.20. Small glass of wine £4.50, large one £6.50. The buffet of cold pizza and cold fries was awful. Bar staff useless. Avoid like the plague. People who plan their function here should not inflict this place on their guests.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_Stewart, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest.

Our bar prices reflect the hotel industry norm. The food we put out on the buffet is always hot when it goes out; the choice of food is entirely up to the person who books the event.
Call me if you would like to discuss this in more detail.

Regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed at the property for one night for business. An older property, they did have a nice workout facility and a friendly, helpful staff at both the front desk and restaurant. I did have a nice meal at the restaurant and the room was a good size, particularly for the U.K. Though I would not go out of my way to stay here if visiting Manchester, if you have business in the area it is a decent option.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_Stewart, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward in welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our Ruby Wedding Anniversary on Sunday 23 September at the Norton Grange together with 103 family members and were absolutely delighted to have chosen this Hotel.

We had some lovely comments from our family – particularly regarding the buffet - it was wonderful and our sincere thanks go to their Head Chef Phil and his Sous Chef John and their team.

We would also like to thank their Events Co-ordinator Lucy and Ben (their Bar Manager) for their advice and assistance.

At all times, the staff were professional, polite and courteous and we would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel

We had a very memorable day.

Tony & Joan Poscha

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_Stewart, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your fabulous review. I will ensure that the rest of the team are told about your experiences.
It’s always nice to receive such great comments, congratulations on your ruby wedding celebrations.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff,good location(booked as we were at the Man city Arsenal game) and overall enjoyable stay.Breakfast was enjoyable and plentiful, the pool and spa areas were excellant in fact one of the best I have experienced at a hotel complex.We enjoyed a marvellous nights sleep in a very comfortable bed. The only downside was the view from our room or more to the point the non view (looking out onto a 10 ft brick wall), although being an optimist it provided privacy and the fire alarm going off at 7.15 am and again at 8.05 am.Overall if back down that way again I would have no hesitation in staying again especially if I could pay £59 b+b pn again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_Stewart, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your great review, I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us especially the staff, our great breakfast and fantastic Spa. I will pass on your comments to all concerned and hope to see you on your next return to the football.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa

Address: Manchester Road, Rochdale OL11 2XZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rochdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in it's own beautiful grounds, the Mercure Norton Grange Hotel and Spa caters for the needs of each individual. Leisure facilities and car parking are complimentary to all of our guests. Please check with the hotel for dining availability as our restaurant can be closed at weekends for private functions. Please also note that child pool times apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Norton Grange Hotel Rochdale
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel And Spa Rochdale, Greater Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.