We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great asian food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pavilion 2 Bangladeshi Restaurant & Take Away

The Pavilion 2 Bangladeshi Restaurant & Take Away
231 Spotland Road, Rochdale OL12 7AG, England
01706526666
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 227 Restaurants in Rochdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $23
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great asian food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Four of us went for a midweek meal to the Pavilion. We had the midweek special and were given the choice of quite a few curries with rice chips or nan bread. We also had poppadums with chutneys and bhajee and samosa starters. This all came at under a tenner each. It was fairly busy for midweek and my only concern was that it was quite noisy with young children and babies. The food was delicious and served promptly and efficiently by the two young men who seemed to be running round to keep people well stocked with food and drink. I enjoyed my visit and will be going again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    51
    19
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very average restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Saturday evening with friends around 6pm
The pavilion 2 is not a hidden gem as some 'rave' reviews would have you believe.
The service is patchy, The food is plain average & the open plan seating area is quite noisy.
I had the special biriyani with keema nan & was quite underwhelmed by the lack of all round flavour.
This chefs version of keema nan involves, Stuffing sliced kebab meat (really !) into a tasteless bread (Do avoid this at all costs).
I would go again if invited by someone else (just to be polite) But certainly Not through choice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding service, fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The pavilion is a real hidden gem, we will most definitely be paying this restaurant a repeat visit. The food is simply wonderful and the dishes we had (inc.the Indian summer curry) certainly delivered on taste. The staff here are so very helpful and you are made to feel really looked after in here. Go to the Pavilion, you won't be disappointed :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“top meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Went for a meal with the children, the service and food were excellant!! The childrens meals were really well presented and they cleared there plates!! Well worth a visit.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No. 1 Indian Restaurant in Rochdale by far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Went on a Wednesday and had their midweek offer of £9.95 per person. Poppadums and chutney to start and mix starter was a decent size and not over filling. Choice of main, paid a little extra for speciality dish and licked my plate clean. Food is excellent, service impeccable and very good price for what we got. My regular place from now on definitely. Highly recommend this place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pavilion 2 Bangladeshi Restaurant & Take Away also viewed

Rochdale, Greater Manchester
 
Rochdale, Greater Manchester
Rochdale, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Pavilion 2 Bangladeshi Restaurant & Take Away? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pavilion 2 Bangladeshi Restaurant & Take Away, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.