We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Toby Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Toby Hotel to your Saves list
The Royal Toby Hotel
Manchester Road | Castleton, Rochdale OL11 3HF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rochdale
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here between Xmas and new year. Room was lovely and spacious but still felt cosy, which was good. Bed was super comfy. Bar area is lovely and welcoming and both fires were roaring. Dinner was good and we had the set menu which had enough options on it. Breakfast was very good and tasty. All in all a very good night's break and relax and very reasonable price. Will be staying again soon. Only think that we would have liked was a mini bar. Look forward to our next visit.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Tinkolidoof

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay between Christmas and New Year. All feedback is welcomed. We have passed your feedback onto the whole team; positive feedback is a great boost to staff morale and the team are delighted you had such a good stay.

We look forward to receiving you again at the Royal Toby in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    59
    24
    6
    3
See reviews for
42
70
7
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Littleborough
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We eat there regularly and the food, beer and service is excellent.
Our wedding car business has shared many years supporting wedding fayres and weddings at the Royal Toby.

Lee and Andrea Ashworth
Hire Society Wedding Cars, Littleborough

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Lee A
We are delighted that you enjoy your experiences when you dine with us and value our relationship in providing guests with high quality weddings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We have stayed here quite regularly over the years and we feel we get good value and a good nights sleep when we do stay.

The suites are nice as are the executive rooms, although they only have Velux windows so no view.

The other rooms are a little dated and need improving a little.

The breakfast used to be really good but now a buffet for hot food not cooked to order, and tea with water form a flask, so ask for a pot from the kitchen otherwise it is not too good

Staff are always helpful and friendly and we will stay again.

Room Tip: Best rooms are the executive ones on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Badger1953

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience and we are delighted you always get a good night’s sleep. With regard to the breakfast, we offer table service during the week and a buffet service at the weekend, this is due to the hotel being occupied by leisure guests, quite rightly they want a leisurely experience so they do tend to all come down to breakfast 5/10 minutes before breakfast closes, this would make cooking to order impossible, however, we still expect our breakfast to be of a high quality, and if you receive any product that you are not happy with we will be more than happy to change it for you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night on the 28th December 2013, as both my partner and I were going a family party nearby. This was very much a spur of the moment decision as the cost of one night’s stay (including breakfast for two) was very reasonable.

We had a had meals at the ‘Toby’ restaurant, including the ‘Fallen Angel’ Italian restaurant many times, although we have found the food/service at both these restaurants to be good, in the recent past the standard of service and the quality of the food in ‘Toby’ restaurant has declined,(see comment from Traveler208_10) so we both wondered what the hotel would be like (neither of us had stayed before)

We arrived at the hotel at approx 17.30 and first impressions were very good, we were met at the hotel reception by a lady who was helpful and efficient, and we were checked in no time.

When we got to our room, the room was bigger than expected with a double bed, and a single bed. The room was clean with lots white fluffy towels - excellent start!!!!!! (The only negative point was the view from the window, - nice view of the wheelie bins at the back of the hotel, quickly rectified by closing the curtains)

After we returned that night (early hours of the morning) we were met by a security guard who let us in with no problems (didn’t even ask who we were or proof we were stating at the hotel!) and then we went to bed.

The bed was very comfortable; in fact I’d go as far as to say it was probably one of the best hotel beds I’ve ever slept in, needless to say we had a good night’s sleep. In the morning went down for breakfast at approx 09.00 (breakfast during the festive period is between 08.00 -10.00), had no problem finding a table, was able to help ourselves to tea/coffee/fruit juice (as much as you want) and also cereals (there was also a choice of fresh fruit, yogurts etc) sat down at the table and the waitress was very quick to come to our table and take our order (good choice of cooked breakfast also toast)

I would described the breakfast itself as OK (I’ve had better and I’ve had worse) my partners beans were cold, and the bacon was a bit fatty to say the least, but there was nothing wrong with the service.

Left the hotel at approx 10.30 with the minimum of fuss.

Overall a very good experience and we would defiantly stay again, overall service was good, standard of the room was good, a few minor points with breakfast (as previously stated), the edge of the bath could have done with resealing as it was a bit mouldy with mildew, the curtain rail was rusting, and the view from the window wasn’t good, but as I said these were minor points.
For the price paid excellent value I think!

One last point, for some strange reason the numbering of the rooms does not corresponded with the floor level, so for example if your room number starts with a 3 (310 for example) you would expect this to be the third floor, conversely room 210 on the second, no it’s not, 310 is on the second floor and 210 is on the first floor – confusing!!!!!!!!!! (There is a sign in the left explaining this, and the lady on the desk may have also done so, if she did and just wasn’t taking any notices, sorry!!!) But why not just change the numbers on the rooms?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear ManchesterUKAndy

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will be returning. Your comments regarding the room have been passed to our maintenance team.

Regarding the restaurant, it is very disappointing to read, but I have passed your comments to the Manager who will discuss with his team as we take our standards of guest service very seriously
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Having dined here for many years it is disappointing to report that over the last 3 months the service and quality of the food is not of the standard we have expeienced from the Royal Toby.
Today for example we had to wait 20 mins whilst seated at the table to be served. Our drinks did not arrive within this time and when we asked where they were we were told they had lost the order.
When the starters arrived there was more lettuce than prawns. The steaks were either tough or had more fat than meat. The vegetables were beyond description, under cooked and poor selection.
The restaurant was obviously under staffed, and the girls need training on how to serve a table, ie: Ladies first.
There never used to be any doubt about the service and food at the Royal Toby, but something has obviously changed.
If any of the Deckers management team are reading this review I would suggest they visit the hotel as soon as possible before other regulars choose an alternative venue to dine.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Traveler208_10

Thank you for your feedback, we do appreciate all feedback as it helps us improve what we do. Having investigated your concerns I have to say that we did make some errors on the day for which we are deeply apologetic, however, having spoken to the team and to yourselves the team did everything they could to put things right. As you can see from many of our other reviews, this is a very rare occurrence and we will work hard to ensure it is not repeated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on fri 13th after dining at the Crimble. The room we had was in the lodge,it was a lovely room nicely decorated. Tea, coffee etc plus good sized tv, also hairdryer and trouser press. It was a very quite room which was fab. Breakfast was plentiful self service, staff were very pleasant.We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear LancashireJas,

Thank you for your kind words. I'm really delighted to hear that your stay at The Royal Toby Hotel was most enjoyable and that our team looked after you so well. It's great to hear that you'll definitely stay with us again and I look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancs
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Enjoyed our stay here yesterday 08/12/2013. Staff fabulous in dining room Rhydings. Reception and bar staff very helpful and cheerful. Breakfast very good and a good choice of items. Only tidgy criticism was the level of lighting in the bedroom, a tad dim.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear cadace1

Thank you for your kind review and I'm really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff were fabulous. I have passed on your lovely review to the team and hope that we can welcome you to The Royal Toby Hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Toby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Toby Hotel

Address: Manchester Road | Castleton, Rochdale OL11 3HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rochdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Success of the Royal Toby is in our commitment to consistency and high standards. Our spacious en-suite bedrooms are designed with flair, style and luxury. For that ultimate indulgence choose from a range of Superior rooms, some feature four poster beds and in others marble bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Royal Toby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Toby Hotel
The Royal Toby Hotel Rochdale, Greater Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Toby Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.