We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot on” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Harrows

The Harrows
159 Bolton Road, Rochdale OL11 3LW, England
+44 1706 561573
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 222 Restaurants in Rochdale
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We are a family run public house. Our opening hours are as follows: Sunday-Friday 12am - 12pm Saturday 12am-1am. We host pool & darts nights and over the weekend have live entertainment and karaoke.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Spot on”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife and l have just had our Sunday dinner there and we really could not fault any part of it.

It was clean, the food was cooked perfectly and the staff and service polite and impressive.

Really cannot find a negative and the VFM is incdredible for the carvery.

We will DEFINATLY be going more often....

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    11
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mangalore
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nice Carvery meal and a great pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I always wanted to enjoy a carvery meal at a pub and a chance trip to this place with my family and a collegue fulfilled that dream. Great food and fresh too. Three meat carvery from 1200 non to 2000 hrs. Yorkshire puddings plus excellent gravy. Good selection beer and other drinks. Staff are warm and helpful. Parking is convenient and plenty.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great carvery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I have been many times to this pubs for a carvery the food is always fantastic and the chief's are friendly and always smiling there is a choice of meats and veg is always hot and very tasty it is all fresh and the yorkshire puds are an added bonus, the bar staff are great and the place is clean the only down side for us was the land lady she always made us feel unwelcome when we took our children(that are very well behaved) and banished us to the conservatory that was sometimes cold, and she never smiled just made us feel uncomfortable and seemed to bark at us rather than talk she was like it every visit this is such a shame as all the other staff are so nice and helpful, we got the feeling that she would perfur older people or couples and not really familys!! we will not go again not due to the food just due to this

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Beats most of Rochdales eateries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Have visited this pub twice in past 10days to eat in their carvery. Open 12 Noon to 8pm this establishment boasts a three meat carvery accompanied by fresh, yes fresh vegetables, Yorkshire puddings, real home roasted potatoes and excellent gravy.
The quality of the food is far superior to other carveries and so called Sundy lunches offered by competitive restaurants/hotels
in the Rochdale area. This has to be the best value around. The management and staff should be justifiably proud of
their presentation and exceptional quality.
If you havn't visited this little gem you don't know what you are missing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great carvery value for money FRESH!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Just nipped in for a carvery and it was lovely and fresh. The chef came out and said sit down while i bring out fresh vegetables. I live a 5 minute walk from The Sandbrook carvery and i would rather jump in the car and go to the Harrows. I wish we lived nearer as this would definitely be our local. The sandbrook is frozen veg and over grilled food. The harrows all the vegetables, yorkshire puddings and fantastic roast potatoes are fresh and not from the freezer The cauliflower cheese is very nice. Would recommend to anyone to go. Even do small doggie bags of meat for the doggies £1.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Harrows also viewed

Rochdale, Greater Manchester
Rochdale, Greater Manchester
 
Rochdale, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Harrows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Harrows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.