We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor food and service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Sir Winston Churchill Harvester

The Sir Winston Churchill Harvester
710 Bury Road | OL11 5HW, Rochdale, England
0170 636 0530
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #126 of 227 Restaurants in Rochdale
Price range: $4 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: At The Sir Winston Churchill Harvester in Rochdale food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Rochdale, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Heywood, Ashworth and Healey, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Littleborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Poor food and service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

we used to visit this Harvester at least once or twice a month, but unfortunately the last couple of visits have been terrible. Poor service just to get drinks order; the last time we visted they took our drinks order 4 refillable cokes, after waiting 15 minutes i collected the drinks myself form the bar. When our waitor returned to take the order 20 minutes later they didn't even realise nor acknowledge we had had to go for our own drinks. It would be easier to purchase drinks on entry and add to our bill, the food on arrival was very poor. More staff required I would think.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Sir Winston Churchill Harvester, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We are very sorry to hear that the meal you had at The Sir Winston Churchill Harvester was not as perfect as you would have liked. We want all our guests to be satisfied so we always welcome your feedback and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    30
    25
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not what it was! Bring Old Harvester back!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My partner and I used to eat here regularly over the years, birthday teas, the lot. Loved the low prices and guaranteed good quality food. Over the years we have seen the prices steadily increase, and until recently so has the standard of food. We used to have huge portions of lemon peri peri chicken and boneless ribs - bar far one of the best meals ever eaten in a restaurant, which would have us driving ten miles to satisfy a craving on a whim. My boyfriend loved the burgers with the spicy relish (one of his favourites and he is a burger obsessive). Recently the prices have crept up whilst the standard and portion sizes have gone down. All the sauces have gone and been replaced with new ones - the change is not good. Lemon peri peri is a distant dream (sob) and I was horrified to find at weekend the old peri peri is now also new - and not in a good way. Please bring back the old sauces !!!!! The excellent boneless ribs are no more and in their place are two dandelion and burdock (no I'm not kidding) flavoured bones which made me want to cry! The main reason people come back to restaurants like Harvester; its our favourite cheapish treat meal. We know what we're getting; good, honest food, not a fancy-aiming ever-changing menu. Stop twiddling the menu, it was awesome a year ago but now every time you come for a meal the price has gone up by a pound or two and your favourite dish is no more. I can't even believe I'm having to give you two stars, I think I gave you five in the past! This is my only hope you will listen to me and sort out these issues!! Please let me know when these problems have been rectified so we can return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Sir Winston Churchill Harvester, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your visit to The Sir Winston Churchill. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible, and your feedback will help us achieve this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Don't bother, the staff don't”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Went on a 21.09.13 a Sunday afternoon at about half 2 to 3pm. We was told there was a 15min wait so we waited in the bar area and got/paid for our drinks. After 15min we were seated by the man at the bar area and given our menus, we waited a further 20mins and not one person saw to us. The staff around us cleaned the empty tables and finished serving others, it was like no one had been assigned our table. Not one person took the initiative to come and see to us, very poor customer service. We finished our drinks and walked out giving our menus back to the person who seated us and told him why we was leaving with just a response of 'sorry'. We waisted our time and money. I don't recommend going, I've never had an experience like this.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Sir Winston Churchill Harvester, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your meal with us on our Trip Advisor page. We were disappointed to read that you were not satisfied in your visit to the Sir Winston Churchill, and we have replied to you personally about this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good job the salad was unlimited”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Nice decor, not quite up to the mark service and the meal was nothing special

A shame really because we have had good meals before

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Sir Winston Churchill Harvester, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to The Winston Churchill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Nice Steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We went with family to this Harvester and all thoroughly enjoyed our meals, The tables were nicely spread out and my steak was well-cooked. Being a Harvester you are not going to get gastro-style food but it was tasty all the same. We would come again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Sir Winston Churchill Harvester, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at The Winston Churchill. Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sir Winston Churchill Harvester also viewed

Rochdale, Greater Manchester
Rochdale, Greater Manchester
 
Oldham, Greater Manchester
Rochdale, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Sir Winston Churchill Harvester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sir Winston Churchill Harvester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.