We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bed for the night !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Moorcock Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Moorcock Inn
Halifax Road | Littleborough, Rochdale OL15 0LD, England
01706 378156
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #145 of 223 Restaurants in Rochdale
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Littleborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“bed for the night !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

location and premises superb, the staff are warm and friendly and they have a good selection of beers, wines and spirits, wouldnt recommend the food as its overpriced and bland - try the Whitehouse which is just up the road. would of liked to have stayed the night but they were fully booked up. we were told the rooms are equally as nice.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    11
    3
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“reheated dinners”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

well what a disappointment. took MY WIFE SON AND DAUGHTER AND THERE SPOUSES for Sunday lunch roast turkey asked waitress under no circumstances that i didn't want any cabbage on or near my plate low behold i found a couple of pieces under my turkey. The turkey reformed warmed up not carved. the type you get in slices wrapped in plastic from a supermarket could somebody tell the chef you can not warm up cold meat it tastes disgusting and then try and disguise it with warm gravy and not much of it it came with a couple of warm roast potatoes a couple of warm new potatoes some really hard bendy carrots [al dente you are joking] and frozen peas. i don't believe a trained chef would serve this garbage. my wife had the rib of beef what a joke the same sliced up rubbish you find in slices in a supermarket could have been any thing. but looked like beef tough and very fatty again this had been warmed up it has that distinct taste of reheating you would be better of serving it cold and putting hot gravy on it and i mean hot not the warmed up stuff they gave us. my children [both adults ] had the slow roast lamb shank arrived within 10 minutes of ordering is that slow or is that fast both said it was very fatty i left it at that did not want to spoil my wife's birthday so did not complain to the management. sweets as nobody was full 4 sweets where ordered. went to pay the bill asked how much it was paid and no receipt was offered so couldn't check my bill when i asked for one she said Oh i can write you one out if you can wait. will not return this is a fair review and i hope the management take note and maybe try out the stuff they serve its just good food ruined

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
1 review
“Evening meal with jaci & abbie”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Went to Moorcock for midweek evening meal-
Pleasant surroundings .
Keeping labour costs low-restaurant & bar sevice slow,
Steak had to be sent back -ordered well done-arrived welldone on outside - rare inside.
Quite suprised how this basic error happened when restaraunt only 15% occupied- attention to detail in kitchen lacking ?
However when approached steak was recooked to satisfaction- however dont like hassle of complaining
Would go back however for drink

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Dissappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Food terrible. total disappointment, having visited many times over years
and received super ratings previously , I can nolonger recommend.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Worth a call when out this way.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Called in just off spec, really great food at good prices, cosy warm atmoshere and great staff

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Moorcock Inn also viewed

Littleborough, Rochdale
Littleborough, Rochdale
 

Been to The Moorcock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Moorcock Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.