We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous house and a super owner.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Villas Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Villas Residence to your Saves list
The Villas Residence
2 Oakenrod Villas | Bury Road, Rochdale OL11 4EE, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Prices from £69
Ranked #1 of 14 Rochdale B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A fabulous house and a super owner.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

I stayed in the Villas residence last year and I was so impressed by the decor and the hospitality Paul provided. Paul gave me the grand tour of the impressive house upon arrival. I went out for dinner that night, as dinner isn't usually served in the house (except when Paul decides to share his great cooking!) I sat with Paul and another guest over a glass of wine in the garden that evening listening to Paul's taste in music which is quite good!! A house I could not fault.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    13
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
128
37
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol,UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I and a colleague had to stay in Rochdale on a business trip. I was not keen to stay at some anonymous "Inn" and found "The Villas Residence" highly recommended on Tripadvisor. I rang and the owner replied, saying that he did not have a pair of single rooms but would we mind 2 double rooms at single prices. Either would have been marvellous value. The welcome was wonderful and The Villas, a victorian mill owners residence originally, is wonderful also. It is warm, we toasted our feet by the open fire as our splendid host treated us to a couple of glasses of very nice red wine. The beds were sumptuous, soft and with so many downy pillows that you could get lost in them. The rooms were spotless. The funishings and pictures are a vibrant collection of victoriana, specially selected over years by our lovely host. The breakfast was beautifully cooked and very generous.
If you must stay in this area, you will not do better, however much you pay, than this excellent small hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

I stayed only one night with my girlfriend and it was a fabulous experience. Even though the hotel has only 6 rooms, the service and quality are more than 5 star. We were welcomed with complimentary wines and a warm chat by Anita and Paul the man! After seeing 2 rooms, we decided to stay on the top floor because of its massive bathroom and spacious bed. The room and bathroom were very clean and every single detail was considered.
I also recommend the Nutters restaurant which is a 5 mins taxi drive from the hotel.
Thanks again to Anita and Paul and we ll definitely come back soon !

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

We spent last Friday (11/11/11) at the villas for our wedding anniversay. We had booked a meal at Nutters ans came accross this hotel on the internet. What a beautiful place so close to home. We were made to feel very welcome and had a lovely chat over a glass of wine with Paul the owner. The room and bathroom was beautiful and spotlessley clean.
We had a lovely breakfast on Saturday morning and had another wander round the lovely rooms packed with antiques.
Would recommend to anyone. Its great value for money for a 5 star stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011 via mobile

We stay here for one night as having dinner at nearby 'Nutters' restaurant.... This is one off accommodation .... We were greeted by Anita who was very friendly. The room was full of interesting antiques and created a wonderfully relaxing atmosphere. We shared a glass of wine with Anita, other guests and the lady from next door.... We felt very much at home..... The owner Paul was very friendly and his breakfast was first class.....

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying once again at this wonderful Hotel during our visit from Canada.
We arrived on October the 16th. and spend two very cozy nights on the top floor.
Breakfast was excellent.
Paul and Anita were great to visit with again.
I look forward to next years visit already.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We spent one night here and thought it so welcoming and professional. A glass of wine and a chat with the owner relaxing in the lounge was just the chilled out evening we were looking for. Just a pity the room tray didn't include fresh milk, although Paul would, no doubt, have provided some if we had asked, and some of the biscuits were past their sell-by. But definitely a place that is different and well worth re-visiting

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Villas Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas Residence

Address: 2 Oakenrod Villas | Bury Road, Rochdale OL11 4EE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Rochdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas Residence is a small 19th century Georgian style Boutique Hotel in Rochdale, Lancashire. It is the essence of a welcoming private residence.The Villas offers accommodation set in an atmosphere of a bygone era. Antique furnishings and exquisite decoration make each room a romantic home from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Villas Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villas Residence Rochdale, Greater Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Villas Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.