We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mancha

La Mancha
5 The Butts, Rochdale OL16 1ES, England
01706713400
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 227 Restaurants in Rochdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Lovely food, been a few times and its always been really nice! Really good service and puddings too! :-)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    32
    10
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
fife
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Loved le mancha”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We went here on the recommendation of my niece who had been a good few times already. We were very impressed. Food was excellent, great service, lovely authentic decor and food was reasonably priced. Thouroughly enjoyed our visit

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Two of us went there after work at 6pm. Staff really friendly and service good. Nice setting and good atmosphere. A good of choice with food and drinks. Prices reasonable. Portions initially look small but they are very filling and we couldn't eat it all. Desserts look nice but we didn't try any. No complaints at all. I will definitely go back with a crowd next time as I think it would be a lovely evening out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Have been wanting to go here for ages and have always heard good reports, however disappointed doesnt cover it, firstly although we had booked 6 weeks before and when we arrived they didnt have our booking, but hey they fitted us in anyway (4 of us).

Then i ordered the sangria, i have drank sangria all my life and was very very disappointed and wish i hadnt bothered as it was very very weak.

The food arrived and although the others in the party enjoyed it i must say again i was disappointed. I agree with funky2460 the food didnt taste fresh, the garlic mushrooms tasted of old fat and not nice.

Would i go back, hand on heart no, would my friends go back? yes they all enjoyed it. I would suggest you try it and decided for yourselves and as i said previously i have always heard good reports.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, terrible food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

1st time at La Mancha, ordered bread and Ali oli, but they only have garlic mayo which comes with a soft roll.
Ordered food which all comes out together at once.
All I can say is nothing has been freshly prepared it either comes out of a budget catering tin or packet.
Meatballs cheap processed out of a tin.
Chorizo slices out of a packet.
Mussels in white wine? A big bowl of steaming mussels in their shells? No a dish of of rubbery mussels out of a packet.
Stuffed jalepinoes from a frozen catering pack and thrown in the deep fat fryer.
If more time was spent preparing fresh food as it is spent on how to produce food as cheap as possible then I may go back.
As it is you'll get more authentic Spanish food at McDonald's and it will taste better too.
Don't bother

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mancha also viewed

Rochdale, Greater Manchester
 
Rochdale, Greater Manchester
Rochdale, Greater Manchester
 

Been to La Mancha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mancha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.