We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet again, superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avon View

Avon View
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portishead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avon View
Save
You added Avon View to your Saves list
9 West Hill, Portishead BS20 6LG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Portishead B&B and Inns
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Yet again, superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

I have been to this B&B previously and frankly it just gets better...!!!
(even though it was superb in the first place...!)
I have stayed at many so called hotels in my time that fall well short of this place to stays standards and GREAT VALUE for money...

I cannot fault anything whatsoever, whether its Kates warm & welcoming hospitality, her cleaning or her cooking...!

MY only criticism is that its usually booked up whenever I plan to visit, but I am VERY happy to arrange MY visit & schedule around Kates & 'Avon View' availability...

Having found this wonderful B&B I would NOT dream of going elsewhere now...!

Room Tip: Having used two separate rooms ( twin-énsuite) & at separate times previously, I find the VFM an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
10
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

We enjoyed our long stay here so much and now look on the proprietor as a friend. We would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in the Portishead area. We would be very sorry if we couldn't stay there on our next visit. Thankyou Kate and Sylvia

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

My visit was not for business or leisure. With a friend, I came to Portishead to attend the funeral of another friend's mother [a grand woman, God bless her - long time Portishead resident] and needed somewhere to stay. The welcome & comfort of Kate's wonderful B&B made the visit a pleasure. I can only find positives about my stay and when/if I ever journey to this part of the world again, I will want to stay here. A difficult time made easier. What more can one say? Simply the best B&B one could hope for. Thank you Kate.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

A colleague and I stayed at Avon View for one night. Both rooms were very well equipped and comfortable. We were warmly welcomed and made to feel at home. There was an excellent choice at breakfast, served in a style that would but some more expensive hotels to shame

We would both recommend the Avon View.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

We have been to Avon View for more then 6 times now. And the owner; Kate gives us a warm welcome every time we're there. You get the key from the door outsiddoore, so you come in and out whenever you want. The breakfast is perfect, cause she makes everything you want her to. I would recomend the place to everybody!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

A fantastic stay in lovely surroundings, and a homely feel. Would thouroughly recommend staying here and the breakfasts are excellent.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkinge
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

You can always be assured of top quality service and a welcome from Kate. The rooms are immaculately clean, the sheets are luxurious 100% cotton and the breakfast is local and delicious. Never intrusive, always attentive, the service is better than at top class hotels.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avon View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon View

Address: 9 West Hill, Portishead BS20 6LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Portishead
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Portishead
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Avon View Hotel Portishead
Avon View Portishead, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avon View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.