We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was tremendous!!!!!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruan Kum Rai Thai

Ruan Kum Rai Thai
27 Ropergate, Pontefract WF8 1LG, England
01977 600659
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 73 Restaurants in Pontefract
Price range: $12 - $31
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We pride ourselves in serving fresh, flavoursome, authentic Thai dishes with only the best ingredients sourced from around the world. Inspired by the delicious tastes of Thailand, we make everything by hand, from our mouth-watering soups and sauces to our appetising salads and desserts.Our friendly staff are ready to cater for your every need, proud of the time and effort that goes into preparing each of our dishes. Enjoy luxurious Thai delicacies amongst a fine selection of quality wines served by the glass or bottle. Whether you're with the family, friends or as a couple, we are there for every occasion including our convenient takeaway service. With a relaxed atmosphere and authentic Thai interior, Ruan Kum Rai is everything a Thai restaurant should be. We look forward to serving you soon.
Normanton, West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Food was tremendous!!!!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Fantastic Thai authentic restaurant!!! Friendly staff...Reasonable price & Fantastic food...We definitely go back again ^___^

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    18
    4
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“My favourite restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

I've been going to this restaurant for several years and it seems to be getting better and better. I especially like the Early Bird Menu - 3 courses for under £10. We always get a warm welcome from the owners and the chef. I love how Thai food tastes so fresh and full of flavour. It beats a Chinese or Indian anyday!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

The food is excellent and very tasty, the service is also excellent. Whould highly recommend it.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Change of Name - No change in Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

We had eaten here before and were keen to go back - and we weren't disappointed. Mixed starters - always a hit - a fabulous way of trying lots of dfferent things!

For our main courses we had chicken green curry (a staple but excellent never the less!) and duck with tamarind sauce - which was to die for!! The prawn noodles to accompany were lovely enough just to have on their own.

Overall 10 out of 10 and would recommend to anyone, anytime. Knocked a point off for atmosphere as it was a Tuesday and very quiet - but by the end of the evening I was singing along to the Thai music playing in the background so it must have been OK!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“nice gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

This little gem is a real treat the food is always fresh and tasty,service is with a smile and efficient.They even do a take away service too.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruan Kum Rai Thai also viewed

Pontefract, West Yorkshire
Pontefract, West Yorkshire
 
Pontefract, West Yorkshire
Pontefract, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Ruan Kum Rai Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruan Kum Rai Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.